Skip to content

An eruption of sweetness

November 6, 2006

A very sweet weekend indeed.

For those that happened to not be present at Law-ruh’s pad this Friday night, you should be acutely aware that the horror and all-around scary movies of your childhood are no longer scary. It’s a fact. I’ve tried many times now to scare the beejesus out of myself by viewing some classic scary movies to no avail (most recently Halloween and Children of the Corn). But if you get the chance to eat Law-ruh’s homemade ice cream while watching Isaac come back from the dead to bring Malachai with him…do it.

In unrelated news, in case you ever wondered, melted frosting oozes just like lava. I don’t know why you would wonder about this, but you might. Perhaps if you knew of a 12-year old’s luau-themed birthday party in which you were slated to make the official birthday cakes…then perhaps you would put thought into this kind of thing. I know I never pondered a situation such as this before this weekend. But alas, melted frosting (slightly cooled) will ooze just like molten lava when poured over a towering mountain (aka volcano) of chocolate cake.

I just feel bad for Tyra (Tricia’s twin sister) who opted for the non-surprise luau cake and requested that her giant chocolate chip cookie “cake” be embellished with a toucan…which you might be able to make out in the background here. It was not nearly as festive and “ooooh…ahhhh” inspiring as the volcano cake and for this I am sorry. But Tricia picked the surprise cake behind door number 2 and made out with this lovely specimen (if I do say so myself). I think this was the most fun I ever had making a cake. So if anyone out there ever has a hankering for an eruption of frosting, let me know because I will be more than willing to put an edible volcano together for you.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2006 7:07 pm

    [raising my hand]

    Will trade for Season 1 of Entourage.

  2. November 6, 2006 8:00 pm

    That cake is amazing! You are so talented!!!

  3. November 6, 2006 8:15 pm

    Nice work lady. The eruptions of sweetness are the best.

  4. November 6, 2006 10:36 pm

    I am not the only one who is thinking it’d be a no brainer to have a side project of making your unique cakes as and extra source of income. Do I sound like one of those unsolicited commenters? “If you want to find out how, Click here.

    I know you do it for the fun of it and put love into your cakes for those who are near and dear to you but you’re good at it and could benefit in more ways than just the gratification you get from it now.

    I had both cakes and enjoyed both tremendously. I’ll holler at you in 7 months or just lie about my b’day and hope you don’t think hard on it and holler at you in a couple weeks. Either way.

  5. November 6, 2006 10:57 pm

    I will take this opportunity to say that my birthday is on the 23rd this month. Thank you that is all.

  6. November 7, 2006 8:10 am

    Mishie – Thank you so much for making my babies such amazing cakes, AGAIN, for almost the 12th year in a for!!! They truly look forward to your cakes and the time and effort you put in to them. And though Ty may have initially been disappointed, after she tasted her cookie cake she was VERY satisfied. I think next year she will take door #2 and be surprised though 😉 I truly appreciate the love in those cakes and the TASTE of them YUMMMMMMMMMY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I mean really YUMMMMMMMMMMMYYYYYY!!!!

    As for what Clussy was saying, I agree, you could make some serious money, and I would be happy to supply pics of all the cakse you have made for the girls. Did you make the ones for their first bday, I haven’t seen those pics in a long time??? But I know I have Barney and Babybop, Pooh and Tigger, and others. Also you have sooooooo out done yourself as they have gotten older!!!

    CHEERS to you and you talent!!

  7. November 7, 2006 8:11 am

    Do you have more pics, please send to me??

  8. November 7, 2006 8:34 am

    WOW! How much fun would it be to be a young’in in your life? Your kids are going to have the best birthday parties ever.

    He wants you too Malachai…

  9. Anonymous permalink
    November 7, 2006 10:37 am

    I wish I was married to you. I would be so happy and fat:)

  10. November 7, 2006 12:57 pm

    i-66 – A volcano, really? You want a volcano cake? Or do you want just any baked good?

    Mapster – Thanks!

    Wharman – Yeah, now I am thinking it could have erupted snickers bars or something as well.

    Claudette – I can Make Money Now? How? But you know I will bake for you any time. I need to perfect that lemon frosting…and also learn how to not make a vat at a time.

    i-66 – Again, a volcano?

    Harms – Ty kept telling me how much better this cookie was than last year’s … I mean over and over again. It made me start to think that last year’s cookie was pretty bad. I did find a better receipe this year. One that actually fit the pan I had. And yes, I will make their cakes when they are 16 – if that is not too lame. They are so grown up and sdorable.

    Oh and I only took a couple pics of the cake before I left for your house…so no. It’s Bug who has photos.

    Law-ruh – This was the first time I didn’t get stressed out over it. I can’t imagine what I would do if I was doing this for my own kids (which by the way will never happen considering my age and unmarriedness and general non clock-ticking)

    Anon – I bake to please…

  11. Anonymous permalink
    November 7, 2006 1:00 pm

    The way to a man’s heart is through his stomach!

  12. November 7, 2006 2:45 pm

    I am generally not one to look a gift horse in the mouth, but a volcano would be freaking awesome.

  13. November 7, 2006 4:34 pm

    If you were to marry anonymous…what would your last name be?

  14. November 7, 2006 5:20 pm

    Law-rah, her last name would be “said…”

  15. November 7, 2006 7:15 pm

    Law-Rah gets major points for the Children of the Corn reference. There is nothing like awful horror films, nothing.

    …”He was dead when he walked out in the middle of the road.”

    Same movie. Only a truly awful horror film would have a line like that.

  16. November 7, 2006 7:52 pm

    I don’t think your cakes will ever be lame to them, at any age!!! I think you should bake a volcano cake for I-66!!!

  17. November 7, 2006 7:52 pm

    I don’t think your cakes will ever be lame to them, at any age!!! I think you should bake a volcano cake for I-66!!!

  18. Anonymous permalink
    November 8, 2006 9:12 am

    Her last name would be Darcy. Just kidding. But I do get hungry everytime I see that cake…

  19. November 8, 2006 12:05 pm

    Can you not do one post without some obscene reference or picture included?

  20. November 8, 2006 12:51 pm

    My name is I-66, and I endorse Harmony’s message.

  21. November 15, 2006 6:12 pm

    A little late to the CotC party (hey, I was out of town)…as you know, I never saw the movie until now. It was great. Loved Linda Hamilton’s “Terri Irwin” look.

  22. Cedaisha Dungy permalink
    March 9, 2007 11:05 am

    How did you make it erupt

Leave a Reply

