Skip to content

Note to Self: You Are No Longer a Hoover Vacuum

November 1, 2006

Marathon training sure had it’s benefits.

While I sit here (quite literally as I am a good two days removed from any physical activity whatsoever) recovering from the longest distance of my life, I have to keep telling myself that I am no longer training for a marathon. Because if I don’t, I will find myself at the various candy jars stashed around the office mindlessly, gleefully, needingly stuffing assorted confections into my mouth. Yet, I no longer have the caloric burn that goes along with running 40 miles per week to offset such a sweet and gooey intake. What a bad time of year to slow your metabolic roll! With Halloween over, all the parents have inevitably brought in all the candy they don’t wish their children to eat–so the usual one office candy jar has multiplied into eight. Eight jars filled with all the candy you would have died for in a post-Halloween candy swap as a child, just sitting there for the taking.

You are no longer a Hoover vacuum. Enormous amounts of food calories, sweets, carbs and fat will not miraculously melt away into thin air. You must regain control and return to normal feeding habits. Remember you love spinach. You love carrots. You are able to control your sweet tooth. You like being a size six. You are no longer a Hooover vacuum…

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2006 6:40 pm

    You should hire me to walk around with you and eat all the things you shouldn’t.

    Do it. Can’t lose.

  2. November 2, 2006 10:04 am

    That must be hard, never thought about that part of it. Be strong and your note to self is a good one cause you do love all those things. 🙂

  3. November 2, 2006 12:35 pm

    This post title sounds dirty, you should change it to something more family friendly.

  4. November 2, 2006 5:28 pm

    Highway man – SO I lose money on the deal and I get no caramel/chocolate goodness? Hmm…

    Harms – Yeah you are right. It’s just a matter of being conscious of the fact that I am not burning calories like I was. I feel like I feel the pudge already!

    Luckster – That is because YOU have a dirty little mind. Also, I never claimed to be family-friendly. So there.

  5. November 3, 2006 8:38 am

    mmm candy!

  6. November 3, 2006 1:42 pm

    Evil irony of the race being right before Halloween. That sucks.

    Are you taking the week or two break, then getting back to running again?

  7. November 3, 2006 1:44 pm

    Yes, Banana, but you get to have me around, so the pros really outweigh the cons I think.–>

Leave a Reply

