Skip to content

My MCM 2006

October 30, 2006

Or better titled, How to Severely Fuck Up Your Calf and Hip.

I finished.

But with a gimpy shuffle step that was nearly (if not more than) 2 minutes per mile slower than my goal pace. Owie.

Everything was going along great. The first two miles were pretty slow going, but I had accounted for that knowing that it would be hard to get into a real pace with that many people. Once it thinned out a bit we started hitting our pace at just over 10 minute miles. My calf (which started giving me very minor problems a few days earlier) was feeling tight, but not at all painful which I took as a good sign.

[Cut to Mile 12.5…somewhere near the Smithsonian castle]

Snappity snap! Snap!

Searing pain.

At this point I can barely put weight on my right leg. I sent my running partner on without me (she finished in 4 hours 36 minutes) and stopped to stretch. Stretching did not feel good. I tried all sorts of positions. No real luck. Someone I had been training with passed me by and mentioned something about “maybe next time”. What? I am not bagging this freaking race! Not finishing didn’t even cross my mind. I limped back to the race path. By shuffling along and not coming off my toe I was able to keep the pain in my calf to a minimum. It meant I looked like Quasimoto when I ran, but I could run (if you can call it that). So began my shuffling limp of a run for the next 13+ miles.

Shortly after the injury I found two very friendly faces in the crowd, the lovely Jennifer and my friend D-Mac. I was thankful for the stoppage of play and the opportunity to complain about my injury. I reiterated (out loud this time) my desire to finish. They cheered me on and I limped off.

As I checked off another mile off the list of 26.2, I thought I heard my name…but not my name as it was taped to my chest…but rather my nickname of “Marci”. A name I had yet to hear that entire day. It was faint and I half-heartedly looked around. I-66, I still don’t know how I spotted you but I am glad I did. Figuring my time was blown anyway, I turned around to have a quick chat. This is when I realized Velvet in Dupont was there as well. Yay! I took the opportunity to complain some more. I am sure I was a joy at this point. Many thanks for listening to me guys, I am sorry! Also…was the tall dude The Captain? If so, I am sorry I didn’t hug you. We’ve played Fantasy Blogball together for two seasons now and we still have not met. I think it was you I heard yelling my name both times I spotted you guys in the crowd. So thanks! Really. It meant a lot. All of you.

I got into a sort of limpy groove and was able to keep my spirits up despite having to stop every mile and half to stretch out the stiffness and pain. [Side note: To the Tylenol 8-Hour sponsor folks. Do not put your signs up all over the fucking race course and not have your pain killing medication readily available. I looked for your little red pills at every med tent and every water stop from Mile 15 on. You suck and I hate you.] I think it was Mile 18 when the limping took it’s toll on my hip because my gait got pretty ugly after that. Adrenaline took over around Mile 22 and I was able to run it in without stopping (except for water) and without searing pain. It felt like my leg kind of shut down.

I was prepared for the finish, as many of my training runs followed the same route. I knew the little hill was coming right at the 26 mile mark and didn’t have issue with it. Stopping was the problem. Because once I stopped, it meant I had to move again and that was (and is) the hardest thing I had to deal with—transitioning from sitting to standing/from standing to walking. Not fun.

Also not fun? Mentally feeling as if I did not run a marathon. I am on the fence as to whether or not I am happy I finished or if I should have gone for the DNF*. My quads feel like they ran a marathon. My hip and my calf are just all sorts of unhappy. My brain, meh. I dunno.

But I thank all of you for your wishes of support going in and wishes of congratulations coming out of this thing. I will run another one. That is the worst thing right now. Outside of the injuries, I feel great. I just know I could have had a great race. So I’ve got to do another one to see how it was really supposed to go.

It won’t be Marine Corps though…augh…what a mess. Maybe the Chicago marathon next fall? It is my favorite city!

Next up? Gar-Williams half-marathon in December. Let’s see if I can get healthy for that.

*But I did pass the running banana I saw at Mile 16. Thank God for that! How embarrassing would it have to been to lose to a banana!

Also, Jen, cold french toast is mighty fucking good at 2:30 in the morning. Which is when I finally had the stomach to eat my brunch! Thank you!

22 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2006 2:39 pm

    I told you, in honor of you yesterday, I stepped it up another mile (3.2 instead of 2.2) and how do you do it? I got off the treadmill thinking I would have to do that another EIGHT + times to do what you did yesterday morning.

    I would have spit in the face of the person who said “Maybe next time.”

  2. October 30, 2006 2:48 pm

    Yes, that was me with the usual suspects. And probably my voice, I can be loud enough when the situation requires it.

    Anyway, good job on your achievement, you still finished the whole course when others would have quit. Sorry we couldn’t make it to the finish line.

  3. October 30, 2006 3:01 pm

    Yeah, in the moment I neglected the introductions – then again, I didn’t figure you’d be stopping either and was a little surprised when told you were coming back.

    I may’ve been out of it early in the morning (thank you, Starbucks), but I’m glad I came out. Congratulations. I won’t hear any of your accomplishment nay-saying.

  4. October 30, 2006 3:02 pm

    Mucho respecto, Senorita Banana. Don’t know how you do it.

    A long night on the couch watching the Vikings is what you need, and fortunately, that’s what we got tonight.

    Incidentally, one of y’all should give a Fantasy Blogball update at some point. The public is curious.

  5. Anonymous permalink
    October 30, 2006 3:19 pm

    Marci, you did awesome. I’m glad you got to eat your leftover brunch. I’m glad I got to drink your leftover milkshake. Jen

  6. October 30, 2006 3:26 pm

    There is no room for doubt at all: you ran a marathon. End of story. And I’m with Velvet: the idiot who said “Maybe next time,” sucks tailpipe. Congrats!

  7. October 30, 2006 3:43 pm

    Bananas don’t have cable.

    Gotta figure out a way to pipe cable into banana’s home.

  8. October 30, 2006 3:49 pm

    Oof, half marathon in December? Brrr… I was looking at the one in March . Like I said earlier though, you got me all sorts of motivated so I’m even considering the full marathon in March. Though I could very well be back at saying “Damn, better you than me. I ain’t even trying to go that far” in another few weeks if motivation slips away from me. Throw some insults at me if I do?

    You’re strong as death, Sista. Again, I compliment your determination in sticking with it. I have this image of you [in slow motion, mind you] limping through the finish line w/tears slowly streaming down your cheeks and the chariots of fire theme song booming in the background as the crowd gives you the slow clap. Don’t ruin my visual and say it didn’t happen that way, k?

  9. Anonymous permalink
    October 30, 2006 4:14 pm

    good job finishing. my ass would have gone home crying.

    Use RICE for you leg. It works. Look it up if you don’t know what it is.

  10. October 30, 2006 4:15 pm

    I’m pretty on the fence as to whether or not another marathon is in my future. Like you, I struggled throughout the race but wasn’t the sight of all those marines at the end handing out medals (almost) worth it?

  11. October 30, 2006 4:29 pm

    No cable at the Banana Cabana?! No Monday Night Vikings?!

    For shame.

    Well, she’ll miss the game, but at least she won’t have to listen to Michael Irvin shout something inane which is, like, every time he opens his mouth.

    Total idiot. Tiki was right about him.

  12. October 30, 2006 5:04 pm

    I hear cold beer is good for the calf as well. Yours is on me tonight:-) Although you know that is easy for me to say since you don’t drink beer.

  13. October 30, 2006 6:12 pm

    Velvet – that is awesome though! I think in my non-fed, exhausted status I may have come out with an expletive when you told me…it was all in love baby 🙂 3 miles is how I got started on this thing. A 5K and a little friendly competition with my girl Claudette way back in the day.

    El Capitan – Didn’t occur to me until much, much later that it was probably you. But I assume I am forgiven?

    Highway man – Meh, my time was blown (along with my calf) why not have a little hug and chat with friends? Thanks!

    Hammer – Muchas gracias senor Pirato. Whitlows is calling my name tonight. Ladies. Beer. and Burgers. It will dull the pain. Hoping though the Vikes are on TV! We need to do a bar outing again, you game?

    Jen – Thanks babe. You rock so hard. I am so glad you were there for me…I almost lost it there with you on the phone after the finish.

    Brunch – Thanks. Really. I think I am coming ’round to the idea. A little bit.

    i-66/Hammer – I usually head to the gym for a extra long workout session when the Vikes are on MNF since there is cable and I can get control of the remote. Um, not today.

    Claudette – It’s all your fault. You did this to me. It’s only fitting that I do this to you. Let’s plan for a half marathon. You can do it in the winter, promise.

    Law chick – First of all I don’t think my stomach can handle the vodka just yet. Shit I could barely handle french toast yesterday. Beer it will be tonight, so don’t think your getting out of your offer.

    Thanks again everyone, really it means so much to hear such nice and supportive things. I don’t think I can say that enough.

  14. October 30, 2006 7:04 pm

    Dude, what Velvet said. I totally would have spit in that person’s face, or worse. “Maybe next time?” What the hell is that?

    Been waiting for this recap all day! So sorry about the calf- but glad you finished!!!

  15. October 30, 2006 8:50 pm

    Congratulations! You’re amazing.

  16. October 30, 2006 10:56 pm

    You are totally hardcore. I hate running down hill. Hope you are feeling better soon. Sorry I couldn’t cheer you on

  17. October 31, 2006 10:28 am

    I’m still stunned at the whole 26.2 miles. Last night I was at the gym with my gay friend, and he said that there was a guy he heard of who was running the 26.2 EVERY DAY for 50 days. Does anyone realize if you did that, you could be in St. Louis by the time you were done? Shit, maybe further.

    Back to my 3.2 on the treadmill!

  18. October 31, 2006 10:45 am

    Count me in. If you say I can do it in the winter [inappropriate giggle], I’m left w/no choice but to believe you.

  19. October 31, 2006 12:21 pm

    You did it! You = rock star.

    I’m pretty sure I ate my weight in peanuts that day, so you are clearly ahead. 😉

  20. October 31, 2006 4:06 pm

    Congratulations. I’m still dreaming of the day I can log more than 3 miles.

  21. October 31, 2006 5:38 pm

    DCSC – Thanks honey pie, I think I am getting warmed up tot he idea that I am glad I finished as well.

    Wharman – Amazing? Meh. Crazy? For sure! But thank you!

    Chanuck – No worries tall man! Thanks for thinking of me 🙂

    See Velvet, you are moving up! Next week you’ll be at 4.2!

    Claudette – I have faith that you can do it anytime, any where in any season 😉

    Kris – I wonder how many peanuts that is exactly. Were they shelled or non-shelled?

    Hey Pretty – Practice. Seriously. That’s all it takes. Either that or a competitive friend who can out run you.

  22. Anonymous permalink
    October 31, 2006 8:03 pm

    Congrats, ML. Quiting is for suckas.

Leave a Reply

