Skip to content

Gentelmen, start your engines!

October 27, 2006

Or…er…

People, start quickly placing one foot in front of the other!

Harupmh. It doesn’t quite have the same ring to it. Nevertheless, the 31st Marine Corps Marathon is upon us. Or me. And 30,000 other runners.

Gah!

Can you say nervous? I’ve already had the dream where I can’t run any faster than a snail’s pace no matter how hard I try to speed things up.

Some of you have expressed mild interest in cheering people on this Sunday (me, bananas in general, other friends, etc). This is a great service you can provide and I encourage it wholeheartedly. So much so that baked goods may be made in exchange for cheering services rendered.

Yes I am bribing people to come cheer, shut it!

For those that are planning on being there (for whatever reason) I thought I would provide some useful info.

First of all. I will have my name emblazoned across my chest and back to take full advantage of freebie cheering from strangers who get off yelling “Go Banana!” or “Run, Marci, run!” So look for that. Is that dorky? I don’t mind being a dork, so better question…is that pathetic?

Second of all, the race offers a coolio tracker that will allow you to estimate a runner’s position from your computer (or crackberry) by signing up here: Remote Runner Tracking. You just need a bib number. Mine is # 32946

Thirdly, the Marine Corps people have put together a handy guide for spectators. It can be found here: Spectator Info.

~Hopefully Helpful Hints for spotting this banana in the crowd~

*If I know you are coming out, I’ll send ya a text letting you know what my running attire for the race is…since I really have no idea what I’ll be wearing at this point.

*My goal is to hit 10 minute miles for the first 15 and then hopefully speed things up a tiny bit after that.

*I am in the 8:40 am start group. But it could take 15-30 minutes for me to even cross the start line (pushing me back to 9am or later!).

*I’ve (obviously) never done this before so I am not sure how to organize a good spectator effort but I would imagine that spectating with friends is better than doing it alone. So hook up with the other non-hungover people and get out there and cheer. Also, if you’ve done it before…please please please give me advice!

Wish me luck!

In other news…who knew all it would take is a little rain postponement to get this Series pumped up to exciteable levels? Game 4 rocked. But I want it to go to seven…so, go Tigers!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2006 1:33 pm

    I vote for “Ladies and gentlemen, commence ass hauling”

  2. October 27, 2006 1:51 pm

    Good luck. Will be watching online =)

  3. October 27, 2006 3:33 pm

    Whoops, I guess Remote Runner tracking needs a last name…not a bib number

    Email me or text me if you don’t know it and really want it 🙂

    Needtsza – I think my full name is on the owners list for Fantasy Blogball if you are really going to look at my slow progress online

  4. Anonymous permalink
    October 27, 2006 3:39 pm

    Girl, I will be there and will be LOUD. You’re going to do great. Know why? Because you’re a stripper. J

  5. Keyser & Titan permalink
    October 27, 2006 7:26 pm

    Some advice I can give from last year when I was cheering for a former neighbor is to take the metro into DC, then go to places where the route is nearby and cheer for the Banana. I know last year the route ran by on one side of a bridge, and then back on the other side of the bridge, so you got to cheer twice from the same spot.

  6. October 28, 2006 9:02 am

    Here’s the best advice I can give, from watching a friend run it last year.

    For people cheering. The best spots are at miles 11-14, on the mall. You can cheer for Marci (or other friends) and then cross the street (dodging between runners is a sport in itself) and cheer again after they come back from around the Capitol.

    From there, go Southwest to the Tidal Basin area, this is where the bridge is that K&T mentioned, you can cheer at mile 15 1-2/ and again just before mile 20, and only have to move about 20 feet. Then haul ass to the finish line. I personally hauled ass to the Metro, took it to Rosslyn, and then walked down to the finish line. Don’t worry about timing, the runners still have six miles to go and are a little worn, so you’ll have an hour or so to get into your final position.

    For Marci, your first ten miles will probably be easy, from pure adrenaline. Miles 10-15 are through the heart of the Mall area, so there will be a ton of people cheering.

    Your biggest test is going to be miles 17-19, when the race winds out around a long golf course, East Potomac. According to my friend last year, there aren’t very many spectators at all, it’s kind of inconveniant to walk out to, so you won’t have any energy to draw from. You’ll have to suck it up big time there.

    Oh…and I think this part is kind of cruel, but the last .2 miles are straight uphill. You’ve gone 26 miles, come around a corner, and you’ve got to start climbing. By that point, I can assume that you won’t let yourself quit after going so far, but be warned so you don’t get down mentally when you see it.

    I’ll be down there, and I’m trying to drag I-66 with me, I don’t know how successful I’ll be. I still have no idea what you look like or what you’ll be wearing, just post it in the Fantasy Football league and I’ll see if I can yell for you.

  7. October 29, 2006 10:55 am

    Good luck today! I’m sure you’ll do smashingly after all your hard work.

  8. October 29, 2006 2:04 pm

    I’m sitting here stunned, having just got home, seeing that you are at the 25.2 mile mark. Um, you have a mile to go, but holy shit.

    Your poor calf.

  9. October 29, 2006 3:57 pm

    I just checked you out online to see that you finished. SO PROUD OF YOU! I wish I could have been there, but am in awe of you nonetheless.

  10. October 30, 2006 9:44 am

    How’d it go? How are you feeling? Is a post coming to summarize?

    So proud of you. Was thinking of you yesterday morning as I nursed my pounding headache which apparently was a parting gift from the open bar at the wedding I went to Sat night…

    You’re my current hero.

  11. October 30, 2006 12:01 pm

    I was hoping for details and pics, are you alive and well, recovering?? CONGRATS!!! So proud of you, what an amazing accomplishment

  12. October 30, 2006 1:51 pm

    You rock!! Great job…I’m soooooo proud! 🙂

Leave a Reply

