Skip to content

Productivity be damned!

October 26, 2006

There is a new installment in my office’s kitchen. We have aromatherapy liquid hand soap. This is actually big news considering that normally we use watered down CVS-brand liquid soap (I am not lying…”it makes it last longer!” our office manager tells us).

So I must say that I was a bit excited to see the pretty, brown, apothecary-styled bottle sitting on the edge of the kitchen sink. I ran right over to wash my hands. It was then I noticed that the specialty of this specific aromatherapy soap is to calm you into sleep. Hmmm. It’s bad enough that half the staff here doesn’t understand that the bright orange coffee urn is for decaf and the plain, black urn is for the good stuff — so us caffeinators often end up with a big ol’ mug of placebo in the mornings. (Let me tell you, now that’s some real fun there!) But now, the powers that be are encouraging sleep along with basic hygiene? How unproductive can we get here? Maybe they are trying to clean house. By trapping us into nodding off at our desk because our hands just smell too calming to stay awake, they can declare us worthless and ineffectual leading to our eventual termination. It’s brilliant really. Too bad I won’t fall for it.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2006 9:39 am

    …so you’re not going to wash your hands?

  2. October 26, 2006 10:01 am

    Aromatherapy? Bah!

    I’ll come over and Feng Shui you…oh wait, that sounds dirty.

  3. October 26, 2006 10:32 am

    Fall asleep by sniffing your hands? I think this girl exercises to much!

  4. October 26, 2006 2:42 pm

    getting….sleepy…must …get….dirt…on my hands….. ZZZzzzzzzz

  5. October 26, 2006 2:59 pm

    Candles and Body Shop oils burning in the bathrooms too? Wine in the water cooler? full body massages at your lunch break? This is where it’s all going, right? c-o-n-s-p-i-r-a-c-y.

    Can you fax me an application please?

    Love,
    The hardest worker… ever.

  6. October 26, 2006 8:01 pm

    highway man – that is an option, yes. 😉

    Tim the Tool Man Ninja – It actually sounds a little painful. But I didn’t say I didn’t like that.

    Sweet – It’s not my fault! The soap says it will help you sleep!!!

    Smooth as ice – Bu then you’d have to wash it off and fall alseep all over again. It’s viscious cycle.

    Gatita – Um, me too! I wanna work there.

Leave a Reply

