Skip to content

I’m back and I’m proud

October 24, 2006

I am back stateside. What an experience. I really feel at a loss for words…it’s so hard to describe what it was like in Mumbai. There is nothing I can say here to convey the trip with any sort of brevity or without some major gesticulating. I am still jetlagged. I want to sleep all the time. I was a crazy trip and poorly timed work-wise (read: I am major stressed), but I am so glad I had the opportunity to go.

I will leave you with a few of my favorite pictures. I took about 100, but these are the ones that really say a lot–to me at least

First, we have to keep it real. Me drinking the local brew, KingFisher. Not bad. Better than our local brew (if you count Bud as such) and also much cheaper. By far, the cheapest spirit in India.

Next we have some workers from the Jain Temple, a very devout and almost OCD sect of the Hindu religion. The temple was gorgeous, handpainting on every facet that wasn’t silver. I have tons of pitures of the inside of the temple, but this one kind of epitomizes the level of faith…these guys sit there all day rolling out a liquid kind of clay all day. I don’t know what it is. I’ve looked it up and cannot find an answer, but I watched them for a good long time.


Here at the Victoria Station you can see the strong British influence. This is only about half of the train station, it stretches around on both sides. Our driver wouldn’t let us go inside and we couldn’t figure out why until later in the week when some Mumbaikers told us that parking there was a nightmare…


The most organized business venture I’ve ever seen has to be the Dhobi Ghat laundry. Middle-class families and local hotels send their laundry here to be washed…literally pounded over stone over and over again. Upon arrival, the laundry is sorted into whites, pants, sheets, saris, etc. and somehow all finds it’s way back to the rightful owners. It’s hugh, probably the size of two football fields, but the loss rate is supposed to be less than that of a laundromat (or even your own dryer!).

Humbling beyond belief, Mani Bhavan, a home that Mahatma Gandhi used quite often in his struggle to free India of the British. Here I’ve taken a photo of a window in the library.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2006 3:15 pm

    Jainism is the precursor to many Eastern religions as opposed to being a sect of Hinduism. It’s incredibly ancient.

  2. October 24, 2006 4:54 pm

    Welcome back! Sounds like you had an unbelievable and memorable trip. Very awesome! 🙂

  3. October 24, 2006 5:08 pm

    Wow, sounds like an amazing trip. Love the photos!

  4. October 25, 2006 7:27 am

    Welcome back! Great pictures looking forward to seeing some more.

  5. October 25, 2006 8:01 am

    Welcome back! Banana fix has been sated.

  6. October 25, 2006 1:06 pm

    Thanks everyone!

    So glad to be home 🙂

  7. October 25, 2006 6:26 pm

    Great pics. I’m jealous. If I’m watching the marathon this weekend, how will I know when you run by?

  8. October 25, 2006 11:37 pm

    Wharman, she will be the only hot chick dressed like a banana.

    Oh, Marci-kins how I have missed you! Best of luck to you this weekend. I am so sorry I will not be there with pom-poms. Looking forward to seeing you on Monday:-)

  9. October 31, 2006 4:08 pm

    what took you to India?

Leave a Reply

