Skip to content

Updates! Get your Updates!

October 9, 2006

A while back I posted about how I’ve been feeling overwhelmed and suffering though my one-track mind lately (ok, five-track if we are counting…I can’t expand my brain to think and obesses about more than 5 things? And I call myself a girl?!?!).

Specifically, this is what I said back on September 15th:

Thing #1: I have a pace-tastic 17 mile run tomorrow. Whereby “pace-tastic” means I get to try out my projected marathon pace on a portion of the run. Preferrably at the end portion of the run, you know…when you are ready to stop. Preferable to whom, I do not know.
UPDATE: I am officially tapering! This means no runs longer than 14 miles in the next three weeks. In fact my weekly average will go down from 40 miles to about 25! The race itself is still looming, but there I will have adrenaline and cheerleaders to get me through.

Thing #2: Hot damn I want to get myself to Chicago. Hotter damn I want to be entertained while I am there.
UPDATE: Why go to Chicago, when Chicago comes to you?

Thing #3: 5 conferences in 10 weeks. Hence, the “overwhelmed” thing.
UPDATE: Three conferences down, two to go.

Thing #4: One.game.back.
UPDATE: AL Central Title baby! Stolen on the last day of play, or Royally handed over. Who cares how we got it? There is also the AL Batting Title. A possible Cy. There is not, however, the ALCS. Sadness.

Thing #5: A make-shift receiving corps could actually prove to be effective if a certain wide out can learn to actually catch a ball.
UPDATE: Why worry about a certain receiver when you can’t even mount any offense at all? Good thing we get to play teams like Detroit and Green Bay for four games a year.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2006 2:33 pm

    Congratulations to Chicago coming to you!

  2. October 9, 2006 6:54 pm

    Maps – Thanks, I mean getting an entire city to come all the way out here is quite a feat. But I did it and have the bruises to show for it. Ok, maybe the bruises are from when I bit it on my run this weekend…but shhh, don’t tell anyone.

  3. October 9, 2006 7:51 pm

    It’s great that tapering means to you, “no runs longer than 14 miles.” If I ever run close to 14 miles there will be a very determined person chasing me. You are an endurance machine.

  4. October 9, 2006 8:15 pm

    Haha – were you out at Haines Point Saturday morning in a yellow jacket? I posted on my blog that I was there and thought I saw you as we were driving out. I am going to try and go there this coming weekend, and lug myself around that 5k loop. 🙂

  5. October 10, 2006 12:32 pm

    Wharman – I’m not a(n) (endurance) player I just eat a lot…

    Maps – It wasn’t me. I was running out to Falls Church on Saturday ANND I have no yellow jacket. Contrary to popular belief I actually look nothing like my avatar 😉

    I need to run that Haines Point loop myself. It’s part of the MCM course and I’ve never run it. I’ve only skated it…which is much faster an endeavor and I am afraid I will be sorely disappointed trying to run around it at such a slow pace. I don’t need any mind kills on race day.

Leave a Reply

