Skip to content

140.7

October 2, 2006

For some reason this number left me rather nonplussed. It’s not that it’s not a lot of miles to run in one month. For surly it is, as evident by it’s measly (in comparison) counterparts; August and July…for fun, check out how many miles I ran in May (eesh)! It was, in fact, the most miles I have ever ran in any 28, 30 or 31 day span ever in my life. But I am not excited about it…maybe it’s because last week I skimped. I took 11 miles off my training last week because of social engagements, snoozing alarm clocks and general lack of “oomphness”. I don’t like skimping. When my training schedule tells me to run 8 miles, I like to run pretty damned close to 8 miles–even better if it’s 8.12 miles. Which is why I should get off my ass now and go out there to get the scheduled 8 miles in. Because if I don’t, I’ll feel omphless which will affect my run for Wednesday, which will adversely affect the run after that, which will then leave me mentally disabled for my last 20 miler before the marathon. Sigh. But in relation to last week’s post (see below), that is nearly 13,000 extra calories I burned in one month. I could feed a small country with that!

Oh and guess what?

The Twins win the pennant! The Twins win the pennant!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2006 5:58 pm

    You’re a much better marathoner than I am!

  2. October 2, 2006 9:18 pm

    140.7 is huge and good. Also good is the word nonplussed. Congratulations and good luck.

  3. October 2, 2006 9:39 pm

    um. I’m speechless. Seriously.

  4. October 3, 2006 8:14 am

    140.7 is a pretty big number, doll, especially relative to those other months.

  5. October 3, 2006 12:24 pm

    e:) – It’s just that I am built like a horse and also a bit of a control freak. That’s all!

    Wharman – INonplussed is so good I had to use it in two posts in a row. Is it odd that this bothers me?

    Velvet – My day is complete.

    Highway man – I know, I know. I just like to finish strong and I sooo didn’t do that last month.

  6. October 3, 2006 2:13 pm

    You are so not built like a horse.

    …unless you’re a shetland pony in a world of Clydesdales 😉

    I know, I know…

  7. October 3, 2006 5:44 pm

    I didn’t mean a horse in terms of it’s largeness, I meant a horse in terms of it’s general level of sturdiness.–>

Leave a Reply

