Skip to content

(Food) Diary of a Mad Marathon Woman*

September 29, 2006

*Well, a mad woman training for a marathon. But “mad” only because it takes a certain level of insanity to actually commit to this much running.

There was a comment, or more appropriately a question, made by the lovely Velvet in Dupont the other day when I yet again went on and on (an on) about my running. She asked what I was eating to keep my energy up for those super long runs I do on Saturday mornings. Well the short answer is…pretty much everything. But I thought the long answer would provide some of you who’ve never carbo-loaded or are generally of the non-hungry sort (uh, that’s you Bug) with an interesting glimpse into some intense eating habits. Any of the gentlemen that read may not find this extreme, but I am sure that most of the ladies will be duly surprised/impressed/mortified/nonplussed? Here goes…

BABY BANANAS MARATHON TRAINING DIET
Breakfast #1 (prior to leaving for work)
~A very large bowl of some sort of carb-tastic, fiber-loaded cereal with skim milk
~A large glass of water
Breakfast #2 (while at work)
~Coffee
~Water
~Nectarine or a couple of plums
~Oatmeal with cinnamon and butter
Lunch
~2 glasses of water
~A large mixed green salad with cucumbers, bell peppers, tomatoes, broccoli, dried cranberries, cheese, walnuts and balsamic vinaigrette
~Protein in the form of tuna, grilled chicken, tilapia or soy protein crumbles (this usually gets mixed in with the salad)
~A large handful of M&Ms
~More water
~Cinnamon graham crackers or tea biscuits
~Sometimes if I am still hungry (this happens more often than I like) I troll around to see if anyone has lunch leftovers. Pathetic, I know.
Snack #1
~Water
~Natural applesauce and cottage cheese
Snack #2
~Green tea
~Brown rice and broccoli with parmesan cheese
~Probably more M&Ms
Snack #3
~Baby carrots
~Apple
Snack #4
~Cheese quesadilla or PB&J
Dinner
~Water
~Grilled tilapia over spinach or squash with 1 very large sweet potato
~usually a second helping of sweet potato or some easy mac-n-cheese
Dessert
~A big glass of skim milk
~Some sort of frozen novelty on a stick, sometimes though I put it in a bowl and eat it with chocolate syrup, whipped cream and walnuts as well. Mmmm.
~Water

Rinse and repeat.

p.s.
Yes, I drink that much water and yes I pee as much as you probably think I do.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2006 9:47 pm

    Good. Lord.

    But thanks for writing it out. I might be referring back to it to remind myself that m&m’s are okay even if South Beach say no.

  2. October 2, 2006 2:48 pm

    So I’m going to be jogging a 5k this weekend. Should I start eating like this now? 🙂

  3. Anonymous permalink
    October 2, 2006 4:04 pm

    skim milk? Bleech!!!!!

  4. October 2, 2006 5:20 pm

    Velvet – M&M’s are always ok! Although I think I need to switch mine out for the dark chocolate version that Mappy told me about.

    Mapster – Totally! Can you imagine what kind of withdrawl I am going to go through once my training is over?

    Anon – Harder to run with clogged arteries. Anyways, skim is yummy!

  5. October 4, 2006 11:02 am

    You are my hero.

Leave a Reply

