Skip to content

The Magic Number is 2

September 25, 2006

2 wins to clinch a play off spot OR 1 win and a loss by the Chicago White Sox OR 2 more wins than the Detroit Tigers to secure the AL Central. The last week of baseball, it’s a bittersweet thing. Actually it’s only sweet if your team gets one of the eight coveted spots. If not, then it just sucks and you can finally turn your attention fully to football.

I am still divided. I went to the Twins game in Baltimore yesterday and missed all the football games (well I did watch the Broncos roll over the Pats with the ugly stick last night). I mean the Vikes were playing at the same time as the Twins! What’s a girl to do? Well, she wears a Vikings tank top underneath her Twins jersey, while jumping up and down and screaming for Torii Hunter’s 30th HR, while getting NFL text updates over the phone, that’s what. (Hunter didn’t get it by the way, close but no cigar). But if your rookie pitcher gets flustered and starts giving up runs, thus pulling the score in to a too-close-for-comfort 4-3, then you remove the Vikings tank top and go with a neutral undershirt sometime around the 6th inning to try and shift the power back to the Twins. I love my Vikings, but I will totally sacrifice a win for them early in the season for a win for the Twins who are pushing to take the pennant. It’s true. I call myself a football fan but it all gets thrown out the window (with a safety ladder) during the MLB playoff race. Call me two-faced, but it’s a precarious line. Oh, and before you ask I did not get any love from Morneau, just some gratuitous warm-up shots. Yum!

Here’s to a Twins/Mets series!

In other news, I hit my peak in marathon training this weekend. 23 miles. Twenty-three mother fucking miles on Saturday morning. 4 hours and 1 minute of continuous running. Ok, I totally walked through the stairs and the intersections on the last mile and plus there were two bathroom-breaks and 1 water stop spread out over the run. All told it was 4 hours and 9 minutes. I wasn’t mentally ready for that run, I was in NY for most of last week and was only able to get one training run in. Not to mention the fact that I came home totally exhausted from my trip. I just could not psych myself up for it and it’s true what they say, it’s all mental…so I was scared and so nervous, even as of 6am Saturday morning. It wasn’t until mile 14 that I felt confident that I could finish the run. It went well for me, I’ve been sore in the days following, but I stayed in it and finished strong and didn’t once question myself as to why I am doing this. So bring it on! I am so ready for Marine Corps. 5 weeks to go…and it’s all downhill from here!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2006 1:16 pm

    Hey. I was going to ask you this tonight, but I’ll ask now since you mention running. What kinds of foods are you eating so that you can make it through such a long run? I am doing South Beach (b/c I’m at an all new fatness) but without my pasta lunch, I struggle to get through just a few miles. But I don’t want to eat carbs until I drop some of this weight. So, that’s my question. What does one Banana eat?

  2. September 25, 2006 2:19 pm

    Congrats girl, what an accomplishment!!!! 🙂

  3. September 26, 2006 1:00 pm

    Congratulations on your run. I find running that amount of miles astounding.

    As a Red Sox fan, I’m admittedly relieved I’ll get to have October to myself, more so because of the Pats “sluggishness.” If the withdrawal shakes kick in, I’ll have to resort to my southern roots and holler for the Braves. Oh wait, they won’t be in the postseason either.

  4. September 26, 2006 4:50 pm

    congrats on running!!! I hate to run, but that’s what ya gotta do, i guess.

    And as a bosox fan as well, =(

    Btw, do you speak with a Minnesota accent too?

  5. September 26, 2006 5:12 pm

    Velvet – I think I am going to have to do a food post, because you people would not beleive the amouth of calories I am shoving in my piehole. Mmmm…pie.

    harms – Thanks sweet pea, now I am nervous about the race b/c I just found out a business trip that will take me out of training for a good week and change in October 😦

    Wharman – I am used to getting to the the postseasons (in football and baseball) and then having nothing come of it…so we’ll see what happens in Oct.

    Needtsza – I love running. Love love love it. I don’t know why, but I do. Alas, my Northern accent has all but left me…it does pop out every once in a while (especially if I am speaking to midwesterners a lot) and I’ll throw a “ya?” at the end of a question here and there but no, the accent is gone.

  6. September 26, 2006 5:16 pm

    When I was in the Army I ran a 10k. Now that I sit on my couch all the time, I could maybe run if the house was on fire…

  7. Anonymous permalink
    September 27, 2006 11:51 pm

    That kicks all kinds of ass. Go hard!

Leave a Reply

