Skip to content

Johnson’s Revenge

September 12, 2006

Skol, Vikings! Let’s win this game.
Skol, Vikings! Honor your name.
Go get that first down, then get a touchdown,
Rock ’em, sock ’em, fight, fight, fight, fight!
Skol , Vikings! Run out the score;
You’ll hear us yell for more.
V-I-K-I-N-G-S!
Skol , Vikings, let’s go!

GAME NOTES
~Best seats I’ve ever had for a football game. I am so spoiled.
~It wasn’t a pretty game on either side. Good thing (for me) ugly still counts.
~Red zone. Was it superior red zone D by the Vikes or completely ineffective offense from the Skins?
~Geezer Bowl. Although older, Johnson looked good and Brunell looked fat–yet was still able to scramble for a couple of first downs. The blubber probably protected him when he decided to take a dive rather than a slide in the 1st quarter.


~How many balls did Williamson drop exactly? My god.
~Ya think MIN will learn to stop running the damn ball up the middle? If you keep running into a wall idiots, go the fuck around it. They were much more successful on end-arounds and shuffle passes up the sideline.
~The halftime festivites were actually very well done. It was pretty moving. The flags, the spontaneous U-S-A! chants, 90,000+ people singing God Bless America….very cool.



~Why did I get 8 separate text messages alerting me to the fact that Tom Cruise was at the game? Do I care? No. But I did blame him for all the penalties.
~My boys better keep up that 3rd down conversion percentage, I think that’s what saved them last night.
~Section 103 is the nicest section ever. Best Skins fans I’ve ever encountered.


11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2006 2:09 pm

    I listened to the game on the radio. It was almost enough to make a grown man cry.

    No seriously……can the skins just hire a kicker that can do his job? Please?

  2. September 12, 2006 2:14 pm

    I was about to ask you about Tom & Co, but apparently that’s a sore subject. So I will not. So umm, hi!

  3. September 12, 2006 2:35 pm

    “Best Skins fans I’ve ever encountered”

    [cough]

  4. September 12, 2006 3:02 pm

    Go Vikings! I’ll cheer for them since they weren’t playing Da Bears! 🙂

  5. September 12, 2006 3:42 pm

    Looks like a blast!! I had a fellow vikings fan friend at the game too. He was singing that song before the game!

  6. September 12, 2006 3:59 pm

    That win was sooooo sweet! Maybe not pretty, but hey, like one of my old coaches used to say, “Wins are like hound dogs and prom dates. It’s better to have an ugly one than to not have one at all!”

  7. September 12, 2006 5:16 pm

    MG – I hope you are not blaming the kicker. Please tell me you are not. A 47-yard attempt is not a gimmee. What about the failed 3rd and 2 attempt? The two 15-yard penalties? C’mon.

    Hiiiiiii Heather! I did not see Tom and Co. even though I could see into the owners box. I did not see Jaime Foxx either, so don’t ask about him 🙂

    i-66 – You have already told me that you would yell expletives at fans of opposing division teams. This disqualifies you from my sentiment. But as a friend, who would procure opposing team apparel for another friend, you are super!

    Mapgirl – Yay! I can’t like the Bears except for when they play Green Bay. So thanks for sending them to the bottom of the NFC North this week!

    Tyler – It’s a jaunty song.

    Viking Hammer – Yep, I’ll take ugly if it means a win! Nice photo of the Sharper hit over on your site. Johnson looked good as hell last night. I forgot how solid he is. Now just stay healthy, just stay healthy.

  8. September 13, 2006 9:53 pm

    I’m not pegging it all on the kicker, no. But I’ve watched this particular kicker choke season after season. And he choked all pre-season….and pre-pre-season.

    I’m disgusted to heck that the skins couldn’t even convert their first drive to get 6 points. I mean hell….they were close enough to spit on the end zone.

    What I’d really like to see, is Edgerrin James suit up in a Clinton Portis Jersey. Oh yeah…..and buy an offensive line….because right now…..it’s pretty offensive.

  9. September 15, 2006 12:06 pm

    Dear Baby Bananas blog,

    Where is Marci, and what have you done with her?

    Going through withdrawal,
    I-66

  10. September 21, 2006 9:51 pm

    Wow. I watched that game on TV. So that’s pretty much the same thing right?

  11. September 22, 2006 2:32 am

    trader

Leave a Reply

