Skip to content

125.7

August 31, 2006

That is, the number of miles I ran throughout the month of August.

Which happens to be over 10.5 more miles than what I did in July (and I missed a 14-miler this month, the morning after my birthday)!

But, I’ve only bagged three scheduled runs this month. I rearranged the schedule and skipped two short ones when I went to Atlanta and then that long(ish) one after my birthday (but I sucked it up and got the important 18 miles in before I went to Georgia). I feel pretty good about that.

Let’s hope I still feel good come Saturday. For in less than 48 hours I will be running 20 miles. Continuously. Without stopping (I hope).

I think I would feel better about the prospect of running twenty miles if my hamstring wasn’t acting up. Since I ran the 18-miler, the scar tissue in my hamstring has been giving me shit. It only seems to come into play after longer runs or when I run 2-3 days in a row. Like this morning, I am having trouble keeping still just sitting here because the hammy is making me all sorts of uncomfortable. I really hope this doesn’t interfere with my training.

September looks to be a bigger month than August, with both the twenty mile run as well as a twenty-two miler on the schedule. Ack! I peak in three weeks, then comes the taper and then comes the race. But I’ve had two bagels this week and a piece of pecan pie with no sign of Baby Buddha in sight. Hell, the other day I had two full cups of brown rice with my chicken and broccoli because I was so damned hungry. Say what you will, but marathon training sure does have its benefits.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2006 12:21 pm

    Jesus woman. This is amazing. I’m shocked you can put your body though this and still have energy to type about it.

    Last night I ran 2 1/2 miles and I was proud I finished with some energy to spare. But the plate of pasta at lunch did wonders for me. Funny how that works.

  2. August 31, 2006 12:24 pm

    Benefits like less blogging? [cough]

    🙂

    The next time I see you I will present you with your gift which has been sitting in a box in my room for about a week now.

    Hint: you can wear it

  3. August 31, 2006 12:48 pm

    I had no idea you were such the runner. Then again, I’m pretty new to this blog. Either way, kudos to you and keep it up! 😀

  4. August 31, 2006 12:58 pm

    Velvet – I know! Heavy and frequent carbs are usually no good for my figure, but now I am eating them all the time just to keep my energy up. It’s crazy!

    i-66 – No, that would be due to my work schedule. Craziness is approaching. I WANT MY PRESENT! It’s your turn for lunch, love.

    Rob – Thanks, I’ve been running more than the average person for years now, but in June I decided to do Marine Corps and my mileage has been out of control. I am running more than I drive!

  5. August 31, 2006 1:13 pm

    I know it is. We may be forced into a weekend here because I haven’t any near-future days off scheduled.

  6. August 31, 2006 1:52 pm

    Damn girl!

  7. August 31, 2006 4:35 pm

    holy. crap.

  8. It's Me permalink
    August 31, 2006 5:25 pm

    I’m very proud…Keep up the great work and I’ll buy you a drink at the happy hour next week!

  9. August 31, 2006 10:12 pm

    I love it.

    You are so my inspiration you have no idea. I think it is spectacular and you definately have your priorities straight.

    You go girlfriend.

  10. September 1, 2006 1:22 am

    Congratulations on your mileage! That’s really impressive!!! I hope your hammy heals up, or stops bugging you!

  11. September 1, 2006 12:46 pm

    i-66 – Contrary to misguided belief, I do eat lunch on the weekends.

    Sweet – You didn’t call me a fool!

    Mixin – Where? Crap! Oh please oh please don’t let me step in it.

    Sharkster – I am here for you. And I am also insane, but I like that you think it’s about priorities 🙂

    Who’s me? Drink? Did someone say drink?

    Mappy – Thanks, I need it. It makes me all squirmmy.

  12. September 1, 2006 1:47 pm

    Damn. We’re training for the same marathon and there’s no way I’m doing that much work for it… I’m aiming to finish in 5 hours. Maybe longer. Ugh.

  13. September 6, 2006 5:02 pm

    Marine Corp huh?

    and here I’m trying to psych myself up for my first half marathon.
    http://www.parkshalfmarathon.com/runwithus.aspx

    wanna do it for a warm up? lol

  14. September 6, 2006 5:02 pm

    and i meant the run. I don’t even know you 😉

  15. September 27, 2006 11:43 am

    Are you doing the MCM? How exciting! Good luck! I will be out there cheering my roomie on.

Leave a Reply

