Skip to content

Do halfsies count?

August 18, 2006

I never had big birthday parties growing up. Also, having a summertime birthday meant no cupcakes and goodie bags to share with your classmates. No off-tune birthday song sung by 20 nine-year olds and one adult where half the crowd yells that you smell like a monkey and look like one too. Birthdays at my house were a family affair; always saved for the weekend and marked by your favorite dinner (as a child it was roast beef, cooked carrots and mashed potatoes—no gravy, just margarine), favorite cake (yellow cake with tons of dark chocolate frosting ala Duncan Heinz) and the grandparents coming over. Perhaps that’s why nowadays I like to have a big ol’ happy hour on the day-of. Or maybe that’s just because I am an alcoholic. What? I didn’t say that. Pass me my vodka. Anyway, back to birthday rituals. I guess I had lamented this point as I got older (Who me? Lament over my birthday? Whaa?) so one day, February 18 to be exact, my very best friend, Ginny, decided to take matters into her own hands. I arrived at my 10th-grade locker that day to find it covered in streamers with confetti strewn about the aisle in front of it, and my girlfriend standing there holding a large bouquet of Mylar balloons emblazoned with “Happy Birthday” in every conceivable color.

Confused and stunned. Or more stunned than confused, as streamer-ed lockers were not uncommon at this age–I knew what they were for…I just had never seen it applied to my locker before. Before I could utter a word, Ginny yells out “Happy Half Birthday!” I took a second to think and do some slow math in my head. Wow. February 18 is exactly six months before (and after) my birthday. I am exactly 15.5 years old today. Holy crap. This is the coolest fucking thing ever. I hug her and then proceed to act embarrassed beyond all belief. Hello! I was too cool to be giddy. But I was. Giddy. Excited. Over the moon. I had birthday wishes coming out of my ears that day. It was awesome.

That’s the one good thing about joining the workforce – no summer vacations; thereby everyone is around to wish you a happy birthday. And pick you up so you don’t have to take the Metro to work and then bring you venti lattes–like D-Mac did today (grin). I love it.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2006 12:41 pm

    Misinterpretation be damned! You just gave me carte blanche to pick you up!!

    Happy birthday dear Banana.

  2. August 18, 2006 1:04 pm

    Happy Birthday! I once held a surprise half birthday for a friend who was unfortunate enough to be born on New Years Eve. Everyone always forgot about their real birthday. Half birthdays are great!

    My real birthday is next week – go Leos!

  3. August 18, 2006 1:23 pm

    Maybe you can have a chocolate iced vanilla cake made with vodka. (Like jell-o shooters…….only different.)

  4. August 18, 2006 1:39 pm

    Happy Wholesy! DMac is a kind soul to do that for you today. Maybe he’s just buttering you up (like your mashed ‘tatoes?) because he wants you to have his baby so that he won’t have to give the baby back to the owner from now on?

  5. August 18, 2006 1:55 pm

    Happy birthday! Maybe I’ll see ya tonight. 🙂

  6. August 18, 2006 2:00 pm

    Happy b-day to my fave banana!

  7. August 18, 2006 2:16 pm

    Happy Bday again!! I was thinking about your pooh bday last night 😉

    D-mac RULES, he is the coolest!!!

  8. August 18, 2006 3:33 pm

    Happy Banananirthday!

    Have a blast tonight, but like I said, just don’t pull a Koren Robinson!

  9. Anonymous permalink
    August 18, 2006 5:58 pm

    Happy Birthday even though we’ve never met…DCSC says you are a good person, so that’s really all that matters…

  10. August 19, 2006 11:35 am

    So good to see you last night! Hope you had a fabulous birthday:-)

  11. August 20, 2006 10:37 pm

    Happy Birthday

  12. August 21, 2006 9:44 am

    duuuuude! so much fun last friday! i hope you had an AMAZING good time!

  13. August 21, 2006 12:29 pm

    Thanks, all, for the birthday wishes. Birthday weekend was tre fab. Could NOT have asked for a better time. So far, 33 totally rocks!

  14. August 21, 2006 12:46 pm

    All I’m sayin’ is that you best be coming out for my 33rd birthday. In a few years. 😉

Leave a Reply

