Skip to content

15-Day World Disabled List?

August 7, 2006

***UPDATE***
Thanks to the guys over at WaPo Express for picking up my wonderings in The Blog Log this morning (and also to Jennifer and Velvet for pointing it out to me). But…but…no one has come forth to tell me if I am crazy or not! Did I dream it or is it real? Is there a DL list for world leaders? I want to know! I also want to get in on the fantasy action if such a list exists. Fantasy for politicos! Think of it, I could make a fortune designing a roto league for uppity (read: rich), over-zealous Demo’s and Republicans.

Now I could have dreamed this (but why?) or, more likely, I could have incorporated two or more news casts into one. It was, after all, 5:15 am. As I’ve stated before, I wake up to NPR. Listening to something dynamic, with a storyline helps me wake a bit easier–music is just to easy too “snooze”.

So anyway, this morning I swear I heard someone rattling off a disabled list of sorts of our world leaders. It sounded something like this (I am illustrating here, as it was 5am and brain function is fairly non-existent at that hour):

Fidel Castro (unknown)
Ariel Sharon (stroke)
Fuad Saniora (tears)
Andres Manuel Lopez Obrador (finger) from vote counting

You get the picture, it went on and on. But it was someone reading a list of world leaders who were otherwise not available due to illness/injury. I swear I am not making this up, but a search of today’s NPR programming didn’t turn anything up. Seriously. Does Bush need a DL to see who he can play on his world fantasy team today? “Got to sit Blair today, he’s out with a pulled hammy.” I am not usually up at this hour; does this list get recited everyday? Is it even real? Does anyone know what I am talking about?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2006 10:53 am

    And is Cuba merely boosting their team by putting him on the DL with a bogus injury, because Fidel can’t cut it on the field anymore?

  2. August 8, 2006 12:31 pm

    Excatly!

    See, Phil gets it.

  3. August 8, 2006 4:28 pm

    Yeah, the Lebanese leader loses all credibility if he is weeping. Probably not the best thing to be doing in the Middle East.

  4. Anonymous permalink
    August 8, 2006 9:39 pm

    Hi, i was looking over your blog and didn’t
    quite find what I was looking for. I’m looking for
    different ways to earn money… I did find this though…
    a place where you can make some nice extra cash secret shopping.
    I made over $900 last month having fun!
    make extra money

  5. August 9, 2006 1:52 pm

    I don’t have an answer for you, but I do know that a Missouri court ruled yesterday that baseball statistics can’t be copyrighted. If there is a fantasy world leaders game going on, I would assume its stats are also a free for all. Geeky?

  6. August 9, 2006 5:30 pm

    Totally geeky. Anything fantasy is by default. But geeky cool. At least that’s what I keep telling myself :/

Leave a Reply

