Skip to content

115.1

July 31, 2006

I ran one hundred, fifteen and one tenth miles in the month of July.

Holy mother of God Pre. I do believe that this is the highest monthly mileage I have ever recorded in my life and…ANNND!…the first eight days of the month I was on vacation and was only able to squeeze in 2 quick runs, so this mileage is down from where it should be. Absolutely insane–although this is also the first month where I’ve actually felt that I was training for a marathon. The mileage only goes up from here. Eeep.

Speaking of marathon training, it’s official folks. Running is now officially interfering with my drinking.

! gasp !

I went to a happy hour on Friday, initially telling myself that it was more to see the hotness that is Jen, than to partake of libations (seriously girl, I would have given it to you right there. Smokin’). But after smelling the wafting aroma of a deep red wine and watching Jen sip on her vodka sodas I found myself in a quandary. I reeeeaaaalllllly wanted an adult beverage. Instead, I opted for water and a plate of hummus and toasted pita. I did eventually cave in to my craving, but only with half a beer, followed by a pitcher of water. Plus, I was in bed by 10:15. All of this because I knew if I drank and/or stayed out late, it would adversely effect my Saturday morning run. My drinking is being compromised people! What to do? Although, to make myself feel better about this scenario, I did what any self-respecting drinker would do; I imbibed, alone, at my home, all weekend long. Let me just tell you that a tall vodka over ice, mixed with lemonade and a splash of lemon/lime seltzer is a mighty fine summertime drink. Thank you Safeway for having lemonade and lemon/lime seltzer on sale for me to mix with my vodka, it made for a very interesting night of Family Guy, dancing around the condo with the iPod on (Gah! I don’t have nearly enough booty shaking music on there!), and drunken texts and phone calls to Chicago.

On tap tonight?
Fiona Apple at Wolftrap (thanks to this girl). Hopefully I won’t melt out there. Fee! We love you!

You moved like honey in my dream last night
Yeah, some old fires were burning
You came near to me and you endeared to me
But you couldn’t quite discern me

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2006 12:33 pm

    You know what they say about people who drink alone…

  2. July 31, 2006 12:34 pm

    Move that decimal two spots to the left…And there, you will find my stellar running skills.

  3. July 31, 2006 1:23 pm

    This girl is a runnin’ fool!

  4. July 31, 2006 5:13 pm

    i-66 – no, I was alone. I didn’t hear anyone say anything. What do they say?

    Heather – I wonder how much more effort you expend adding the .151 to your mile…

    Sweet – I am beginning to think that you just like calling me a fool.

  5. August 1, 2006 7:18 am

    I feel you that your running is interfering with your drinking (or should it be the other way around?) 🙂 I started working out last week, and it’s been 9 days now that I have banned myself from drinking and going out at night. Bummer. But it’s working.
    Congrats on your mileage, that’s IMPRESSIVE.

Leave a Reply

