Skip to content

Shhhhhh

July 25, 2006

There might just be a pennant race going on in the AL Central.

Last night the Twins pulled within 2 of the Chicago White Sox. Three home runs were blasted, coming from the vision that is Joe Mauer and teammates Cuddyer and Morneau. Santana pitches today against Contreras and Silva closes the series tomorrow. Then they head up to Detroit this weekend to see if anyone (someone please) can put a dent in the Tigers’ record. A little alteration to the rotation will start Liriano, Santana and Rahdke in Motor City – the Twin Cities top three starters with 12, 11 and 9 wins respectively. I think I’ve cut off circulation in my hand crossing my fingers.

Speaking locally, I wanted to throw a couple things out there about the grand re-opening of RFK this past weekend. First of all the Lerner group couldn’t have picked a better weekend. The Cubs? Probably the only team outside of the Pirates or the Royals that the Nats could actually sweep – so big points for choosing a winning weekend. The coolest thing, BY FAR, was the President’s race come to life. I really hope they keep that. I put it on par with the hot dog races in Milwaukee. It was that cool—especially after watching the same old cartoon races on the big screen for over a year.

The food and beer lines were definitely shorter. I actually got hot french fries and chicken fingers, so kudos there too. But you know what I need Lerner Group? Are you listening? I need helmet sundaes! I need soft serve ice cream in a little Nats batting helmet covered in gooey hot fudge* and sprinkles if I want ‘em. I need this at RFK! Get on it! I need it now. It is the only thing missing from my baseball experience here in the nation’s capital. This weekend was the first time at RFK that I really felt like I was at a real, live, major-league baseball game. A sea of red in the stands. The wave. My section even started it, successfully! Two times around! – and we were led by the security usher dude. How cool is that? So good job new owners, keep it up. I expect great things from you. And by great things I mean Nationals helmet sundaes.

*Gooey hot fudge, yes. Molten hot fudge, no.
Not that I’ve ever had molten hot fudge, but at Shea they claim they can’t put hot fudge on the helmet sundaes because it will melt the plastic hat. Um. So are you saying that your hot fudge, that you will happily pour over ice cream in a Styrofoam container is SO hot it will melt plastic? Well, what in the hell is it doing to the child’s mouth who is eating it out of the Styrofoam container?
Or are you saying that your helmets are so cheap and flimsy that the mere hint of heat will send it into a fit of disintegration? If that is the case, then again…poor kids! All ice cream loving Mets fans must suffer from dioxin poisoning for the heat of their hands must release the toxins into the un-fudged ice cream, right?.
So Lerner dudes – don’t store your hot fudge in a volcano or buy cheapo, Chinese-made hats and we’ll get along fine. That is, AFTER you start offering the confection at RFK. Please and thank you.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2006 1:02 pm

    What’s a Pennant?

  2. July 25, 2006 1:42 pm

    It’s a little flag shaped like an isocolese triangle.

    I prefer hot caramel to hot fudge. You should too.

    It’s nice to know that RFK is still around, even though Jerry Garcia won’t be visiting anymore.

  3. July 25, 2006 2:10 pm

    via dictionary.com
    pennant [n]: A flag that symbolizes the championship of a league, especially a professional baseball league

  4. July 25, 2006 5:09 pm

    You know I’ve been working on the helmet sundae crusade for a while now…still bitter about the lack!

  5. July 25, 2006 5:10 pm

    Ding dind ding. We have a definition. Thanks boys. I am sure Roary doesn’t care one iota. She’s probably just humoring me anyway.

    And Lucky, or Rich (confusing) while I do like a hot caramel sundae. I prefer hot fudge in this scenario.

  6. July 25, 2006 5:11 pm

    DCSC – I am so glad that you are with me on this. Bug is too. So that makes three Nats fans in desperate need of a mini helmet, hot fudge and soft serve. Anyone else?

  7. July 25, 2006 5:14 pm

    I’m trying to stick to Lucky, sometimes I forget.

  8. July 25, 2006 8:14 pm

    I’ve had hot fudge in a plastic helmet before! I used to get it at the Ground Round restaurant where you ‘Pay what you Weigh’ for kids. I remember when my meal was 77 cents! Crazy. Those helmet sundaes are good. Portion control too!!!

  9. July 25, 2006 8:19 pm

    Awww helmet sundaes!

    We had that growing up at our little league games and the minor league games for the ‘SkyChiefs’.

    A baseball game is not a game without one!

    Let’s start a petition.

  10. July 26, 2006 10:42 am

    Next time we go let’s bring a sign that says ‘GIVE ME HELMET SUNDAES.’ I bet it would be picked up by a cameraman 😉

  11. July 26, 2006 5:46 pm

    So now we have 7 blogger babes in favor of helmet sundaes at RFK.

    What to do? Where to start? I am serious about this. If Bug can get liquid cheese cups at MCI, I can get helmet sundaes at RFK. I think there might be a little more involved in bringing the sundaes in than there was packaging up the liquid cheese for individual purchase, but I know that they have the baby batting helmets. I totally ate ice cream out of one while sitting in the outfield with Cubs Fan on Picnic at the Park back in June. It just wasn’t soft serve ice cream.

Leave a Reply

