Skip to content

Half way home and my pager still blowing up. Today I didn’t even have to use my A.K.

July 24, 2006

I got to say it was a good day.

I had the longest run I’ve ever done in my life this Saturday. 16 miles. And it was good. I cannot even convey how fired up I am about this. I was a little bit scared going into this run and I must admit I’ve had doubts about this whole marathon crap, but after Saturday’s run I have to admit I feel pretty good about the whole thing. I mean, if I can do 16 miles with relative ease, I can hit 26.2 by October, right? You all are going to shit when I post my mileage for July. I mean hot damn, I’ve put more miles on my shoes this month than I have my car (which is strangely my litmus test for whether or not I am running a lot) and there is still a week left! Baby Buddha is on his way out.

So I get done with my run and I am gulping Gatorade and stretching like a mad woman because, you see, I have to hurry up. A certain group of hotness is already on their way to RFK for Nats/Cubs tailgating fun. And I hate missing out, even if it’s just 10 minutes. I mean, what if someone does something funny in those 10 minutes and I miss it? So I get my shit together in time for an hour’s worth of tailgating. And it was worth it. We’re talking Italian Store goodies and beer courtesy of DCSportsChick and the Chanuck. There were Paint-The-Town-Red Jell-o shooters ala Miss M. I must say, that beer & pizza make excellent post-run recovery foods. We get to our, fabulous, behind-homeplate corporate seats (thanks Buggie!) and I am immediately conflicted. Ramirez hits a home run right off the bat. I am excited. Goooo Cubbies! But I am sad, I heart Livan (who hit a double and was batted in with a Soriano triple – how cool is it that our pitcher is batting .270?). He is my favorite Nat for those very reasons. But peer pressure gets me and I convert to a slightly conflicted Nationals fan for the rest of the game. Even when I am texting updates to Cubs Fan, my messages were sent with a favorable DC spin. Not hard considering the Cubs showed their usual level of sucktitude. So I’m easy and succumb to pressure! Get over it. Nats win 7-3.

It’s so hard to say goodbye, but I’ve got to. There is more hotness to be had. There are plans for Buggie and I to meet up with certain Dupont loveliness at…

…a country bar in bfe Alexandria. (I mean, Bug and I both live in VA and WE got lost!)

To say I was apprehensive is an understatement. I do not know country. I do not like country. But I knew I would have fun. How could I not with those two chicks? What I did not expect was the level of fun to be had. Off the charts people. I lasted until 2:30 in the morning (after the run! After game time beer! After the sun and humidity! And after the non-nap!). The bar staff had to literally push us out of the building because we would not leave. I may or may not have learned to two-step. Kinda. I say kinda, because apparently Velvet was much better than I was and may have made my two-step look like the funky chicken. So I may have brought the funk to the country dance floor instead. When in doubt, stick with what you know. And I know how to shake my ass. There is not enough ass shaking in country dancing–although Buggie was able to combine the two quite nicely.

Twahts rule!

And I am tired.

Woo.

23 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2006 1:21 pm

    I ran 16 miles on Saturday as well and it was hell on earth. Who are you running with? The coaches at my outfit said that it was the worst run they’d ever seen. We had at least half of our group of 12 not finish either due to injury or heat exhaustion. I’m hoping that the 18 miler in two weeks (if I get to run it) isn’t that bad and that the 16 miler was just one of those bad days you have occaionally.

    Congratulations on your great run! (Though I have to say I’m jealous I didn’t feel the same way!)

  2. July 24, 2006 1:29 pm

    You’re a running fool girl! Great seein ya.

  3. July 24, 2006 1:47 pm

    For the love of all bananas holy… She’s going Country.

    [sigh]

    There is no hope anymore.

  4. July 24, 2006 2:21 pm

    You know those huge beltbuckles are worn for compensation right?

  5. July 24, 2006 3:47 pm

    Never ever in my life did I think or even imagine…. You are really braodening you Horizons, huh??? What happened to my dear old hip hop roommate????

  6. July 24, 2006 4:08 pm

    Ouch 16 miles. Color me impressed. Good for you! But, wait, I thought you ran that marathon before, no?

    And, wow, country line dancing? It actually sounds like a blast. Tell me they had a mechanical bull there too? (Lie to me)

  7. July 24, 2006 4:45 pm

    Heel toe do si doe boot scootin boogie! Or in this case, boot scootin buggie!

  8. July 24, 2006 5:01 pm

    So, did Cubs fan appreciate your constant updates? 🙂

  9. July 24, 2006 5:17 pm

    e:) – I run with DC Road Runners and it was nasty hot on Saturday morning. I don’t think I’ve ever sweat that much in my life. But somehow I made it through 14 with ease and used the conversation of my group to get me through the last two. Thanks for the congrats, sad to hear yours went poorly. I would chalk it up to one of those bad runs. I am dreading the 18-miler, I may have to do it by myself! Eep.

    Sweet – I am oddly motivated, I know, it’s weird. 🙂 So glad you made it out on Sat.

    Me thinks i-66 may want to de-friend me after this news.

    Rich – I did not lust after any cowboys. So I think I am safe in that category.

    Harms – But…I like totally quoted Cube in the title! C’mon. That won’t get me any street cred? It’s not like I was able to sing along to anything! I just went to have a good time with two hot girlfriends.

    Cluss – I think you would have liked it. Especially since we did not care and tried everything and acted like total goofballs. And apparently there is not a mechanical bull anywhere within a 300 mile radius of us. It seems DC Sports Chick has been on a serious quest for quite some time. (Sorry, I am not a good liar)

    Velvet – I love it. And I love that dude is now dubbed Flip Flop. What do we call the drunken cowboy/federal employee?

    DCSC – Updates were appreciated, although when I told him of Soriano’s triple, he tried to correct me saying it was a double. But no, the double was his PREVIOUS at bat. The dude is a hitting machine. And now CWS might get him? NOOOO Say it ain’t so!

  10. July 24, 2006 5:27 pm

    I-66 requests a brief summary of why Marci should not be de-friended for review by the I-66 friend board.

  11. July 24, 2006 5:35 pm

    Wait, Velvet…I thought of it! We can call him Boner. ???

    i-66, Cuz I totally tried to give you a free ticket to the Nats game? Is that not reason enough? How ’bout my effervescent smile?

  12. July 24, 2006 5:37 pm

    Well… I am a sucker for a pretty banana smile…

  13. July 24, 2006 6:54 pm

    I guess you can get a little credit, and you know I would have been right in there too having a good time, cause anywhere there is friends there is fun.

  14. July 24, 2006 7:30 pm

    Heh Twahts. I still want to destroy the wombat. When are we going back?
    You rallied so hard all day, you are my hero.
    Thanks for making me “hotness”

  15. July 24, 2006 9:29 pm

    Oh sweet mercy…

    Not only did the ladies go to a country bar, but they were were getting their “Honky Tonk Badonkadonk” on. I officially propose to all of you.

    Pack your shit, ladies – we’re moving to Utah!!!

  16. July 24, 2006 9:34 pm

    1. Congratulations on the run. I will never ever do that and therefore bow at your blistered feet.

    2. The Italian Store rules. Talk about hotness.

    3. I’m pretty sure I’ve been to that country bar. Did you experience lots of line dancing with VERY young military boys? A girl needs that sort of undivided fun and cheesy attention from time to time. I’m sure you were very funky.

    4. Could baseball be a better sport?

  17. July 24, 2006 9:35 pm

    5. Hammer is the king of You Tube. Officially.

  18. July 25, 2006 10:16 am

    This post is the first thing this summer that has made me miss DC.

  19. July 25, 2006 10:33 am

    I have developed a pavlovian reaction to the words “Italian Store” I drool. I think I might go tonight. I am now in love.

  20. July 25, 2006 12:42 pm

    Thanks Harms, you would have loved it, if just for the silly times 😉

    Bug, you ARE the hotness. Always.

    Hammer, um, yeah. It was JUST like that!

    Wharman, 1. Thanking you and can you believe it, I have no blisters. 2. Ain’t that the truth, everything is better with the Italian Store! 3. The boys looked younger than they were, except for the very old ones. 4. No, I don’t think it’s possible 🙂

    Law-ruh, soooo sad you weren’t here for the game. But soooo jealous of your British swoon.

    Heather, so are we talking again? I hear you can get allen wrenches there, too.

  21. Anonymous permalink
    July 25, 2006 1:29 pm

    Hey! Very Nice! Check out this website I found where you can make extra cash.
    It’s not available everywhere, so go to the site and see if you can find something. I found something and make
    and extra $900 a month!

    http://www.degree-programs-online.info/extramoney.htm

  22. Anonymous permalink
    July 25, 2006 1:29 pm

    Hey! Very Nice! Check out this website I found where you can make extra cash.
    It’s not available everywhere, so go to the site and see if you can find something. I found something and make
    and extra $900 a month!

    http://www.degree-programs-online.info/extramoney.htm

  23. Alexwebmaster permalink
    March 3, 2009 4:51 am

    Hello webmaster
    I would like to share with you a link to your site
    write me here preonrelt@mail.ru

Leave a Reply

