Skip to content

Sitting with your friends cause y’all remincise, about the days growing up and the first person you kiss

July 19, 2006

Why is it that something like a perfectly sweet strawberry can instantly transport you to the summertime of your youth?

How is it that this wonderfully ripe strawberry can invoke such happiness?

I know tastes and smells get associated with memory, but to get plopped back in time so vividly? I am aware that I am sitting here in my pink, linen pants in front of my computer—barely catching a glimpse of the outside over my cubicle wall. But all of a sudden my mind says I am 9 years old. I am outside, in an old and worn Wonder Woman bathing suit. The sprinklers are on in the front yard, offering relief and entertainment. The soles of my feet are hot and I am hopping from one foot to the other because I have stepped onto the burning pavement to shove a handful of strawberries into my mouth. I can feel the grass in between my toes as I make another pass through the sprinkler. I haven’t stopped to chew; my cheeks are stuffed with the berries. I wash ‘em down with a swig from the hose.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2006 7:27 pm

    So true. Weird phenomenon, eh?

  2. July 19, 2006 11:56 pm

    You, my raven haired chicky, had me at “Wonder Woman bathing suit.”. You had one??? Color me jealous. Now is jealous still green like envy or red like fiery? Hmm… Can I vote for red?

    I’ll have to bring you flowers again next time I see you and hope you still have the (or a variation of) wonder woman bathing suit. How hard would that rock now?

    Oh, yeah, and strawberries. Mmm Mmm good. Loved how detailed you described the very vivid memory. Kudos, my sugar cane to my mojito.

  3. July 20, 2006 12:34 pm

    Wharman – Totally weird. I could feel the grass.

    Claudettita – Alas, I no longer have the suit. And I can’t imagine I could rock it any harder now, than my 9 year old self did. I might scare people if I tried to sport that shit now. Nay, I WOULD scare people. And (re:sugar cane)all I ask is that when you gnaw on me, you are gentle…ok, a little bit rough.

  4. July 20, 2006 12:56 pm

    I hope I have provided such memories for my girls!!!! and if not I got the pictures to show them, right?!
    Now I am heading down to the Deli for strawberries and watermelon.

  5. July 20, 2006 2:21 pm

    Honey, we already talked about times and places for gentle.

    ((tugging at ‘yer hair and pulling you in THIS close)) Like that? Huh?

    I want a wonder woman bathing suit. Well, I just want a Wonder Woman costume. Halloween this year… Aww Yeee.

  6. July 21, 2006 10:23 am

    I would be scared. Definitely.

  7. July 21, 2006 10:45 am

    Fresh green beans picked from a garden do it for me. Takes me back to helping my Grandma in her garden.

  8. Anonymous permalink
    July 22, 2006 10:48 pm

    Did you pick out and cut those strawberries yourself? They do look mighty tasty. You must be an expert fruit selector.

  9. July 25, 2006 5:40 pm

    While MY strawberries did get cut up like this and looked quite similar, alas the picture is courtesy of Google images.

Leave a Reply

