Skip to content

Three and out?

July 12, 2006

It is a documented fact that I don’t do well after the third date. (And you all thought this was going to be about baseball.) By “well” I mean go on a fourth date. Girlriends and guy friends alike are equally perplexed as to this phenomenon in my dating life. All things kind of come to a screeching halt shortly after date number three. Sometimes without fanfare (she strikes out looking!) and sometimes with, well a tiny bit anyway. It doesn’t seem to matter how much time elapsed from start to finish—1 week, 3 weeks, 6 weeks. Date #3 = Done. Over. No mas.

Did my fairy godmother instill a three and out rule, and allow prospective boyfriends an insight to my inner pumpkin after they wooed me just long enough? This is what you are really getting into, take a good look. Are you prepared for all of this young man? If not, get out while you can. In fact, just go…no worries…it really is too much for you.

I wish I had an answer. Because if staying up all night in your pjs, watching Sports Center and arguing baseball while drinking Hoegaarden counts as date, I just might be in trouble. And I can honestly say I am not ready to head back to the dugout on this one just yet.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2006 12:57 pm

    I thought 3 and out was a football thing.

    Here’s hoping you and Cubs Fan have better luck than the Cubs themselves.

  2. July 12, 2006 12:59 pm

    You’re right…the correct baseball term is three up, three down. I must miss me some gridiron.

  3. July 12, 2006 1:46 pm

    by the way:

    …haha, you said Ho Garden

  4. July 12, 2006 3:24 pm

    You’re saying the last time you saw Cubs Fan, the date consisted of ESPN, PJ’s and shouting at TV? I’m sorry, I hadn’t realized you guys have been married already for 10+years. Boy am I out of touch…

    Or am I misunderstanding your code-embedded post?

  5. July 12, 2006 3:44 pm

    [snicker]

    Jeooci…

  6. July 12, 2006 4:59 pm

    Well Cluss, it wasn’t as blase as you laid it out here…and we weren’t screaming at the TV, but rather having discussions about teams, pitchers, all-star selections and such.

    I am just throwing it out there to the powers that be that I am on to them (3 and out rule) and that they had better quit it.

  7. July 12, 2006 5:15 pm

    I say that’s a ‘non-date’ so I think you’re safe!

  8. July 12, 2006 5:17 pm

    I hearby veto the 3 and out law that had been laid (heh, no pun intended?) upon your dating regimen and am in the works to get a bill signed which backs (heh, again, not intended) the efforts to lengthen your dating timelines by at least double and then triple digits. This is what I do for the people… er, my peoples.

    Yours lovingly,
    Rep. Torres

  9. July 12, 2006 5:29 pm

    So between the veto of the last “meeting” being referred to as a “date” and Lust Representative Torres’ proclamation to hereby revoke and/or increase the three and out rule…I should be good for some time, ya?

    I like it. To quote a highway, jeooci.

  10. July 13, 2006 8:48 am

    I don’t think that counts as a date either, you are good and even better now that Cluss has your back!

Leave a Reply

