Skip to content

By the numbers

July 10, 2006

10: Number of days on vacation
4: Hours spent kayaking, or at least sitting in an actual kayak, because I am pretty sure that napping in the thing doesn’t actually count as kayaking.
30: Number of minutes spent biking before we gave up and returned to the kayaks.
1: Number of times our kayaks were pirated. See recap of piracy here.
3: Bottles of West Virginia wine purchased by this banana. Check out Lambert’s Winery. Cutest, most laid-back winery ever.
3: Separate spa treatments I indulged in. How much do I love a hot stone massage?
3: Approximate number of bottles of wine consumed on Buggie’s actual birthday. Jen, apparently vodka won’t do it anymore, we need copious amounts of wine to get drunk. Who knew?
5: Approximate number of injuries resulting from wine-induced festivities. Documentation can be found here. Mine have since healed.
2: Number of new baseball caps received
4: Number of states I spent the night in these past ten days
59: Hours it took to drive home from Minnesota
92.4: Total number of miles run in the month of June. This is awesome. Unfortunately so far in the month of July I’ve only run 18.
180: Age, in years combined, between my two favorite old people – Grandma and Great Uncle Gordy.
210: Number of photos snapped in West Virginia with more on the way! Photo pictured here is an actual house we came upon just on the other side of the Walkersville covered bridge in WV.
1: Number of Amish women spotted eating Quaker rice cakes. Apparently the Quakers make good Amish grub?
Gazillion: Approximate number of fireworks seen from the airplane while flying over Indiana and Illinois on July 4. Which, by the way, is the coolest friggin’ thing ever.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2006 1:19 pm

    1: Number of bananas missed

  2. July 10, 2006 2:30 pm

    5: the number of miles I have run in my ENTIRE LIFE so don’t be too hard on yourself.

  3. July 10, 2006 3:40 pm

    I am seeing double.

  4. July 10, 2006 5:19 pm

    So I wonder which banana you missed i-66…

  5. July 10, 2006 5:27 pm

    The baby one, duh.

  6. July 10, 2006 5:29 pm

    [the baby one sighs with relief]

  7. July 10, 2006 5:41 pm

    🙂

  8. July 10, 2006 10:46 pm

    I’ve always wanted to see fireworks from a plane! Lucky!!!

  9. July 11, 2006 8:10 am

    Me too!!! When I was watching fireworks a plane was flying by and I was thinking, one of these years I will be in a damn plane going somewhere, probably after my kids have graduated high-school, but I will see them from a plane.

    Glad you are back, sounds like you had a blast!!!

  10. July 11, 2006 9:25 am

    My plane was delayed and that’s the only reason I got to see them from up there…I was supposed to land before dark. But, this was the first time ever I was excited to be running late. Totally felt like a kid, getting all giddy over colored expolsions.

  11. July 11, 2006 9:48 am

    Nice recap! I love seeing fireworks from a plane, it’s so magical. Glad you had a great trip, looking forward to more pictures!

  12. July 12, 2006 10:45 am

    By the way, I know I’m several days late on this one but I tend not to check back on people’s blogs once I’ve already read them: There’s no need to sigh with relief that I-66 missed YOU not me. First of all, I wasn’t gone and secondly, he and I don’t read each other’s blogs. I’m pretty sure you were just playing, but I feel the need to say that blogging isn’t about competing for readers and friends – it’s supposed to be one big supportive community. (Or so I think?)

    That being said, have a good one!

  13. Anonymous permalink
    July 17, 2006 4:28 pm

    Hey! Very Nice! Check out this website I found where you can make extra cash.
    It’s not available everywhere, so go to the site to see if you can find something. I found something and make
    and extra $900 a month!

    http://www.degree-programs-online.info/extramoney.htm–>

Leave a Reply

