Skip to content

Baby Bananas presents another episode of The Baking Banana

June 21, 2006

So I baked this past weekend. Again. It was for Daddy’s Day. At his request I made carrot cake. A new endeavor for me, but I think I did alright. Check it out.

First, I compiled the ingedients

Then, I had to shred 3 cups of carrots
(ok, so I shredded one cup by hand, the rest was thrown in the food processor)

Carrots are so pretty…and orange.

 


With the carrots done, it was time to make the cake batter




And put it all together


Once you have a batter, in the pan it goes


While it baked, I made the frosting. Which consisted of sifted confectioner’s sugar, cream cheese and butter. Then I got to beat the shit out of it. Thank God for my Kitchen-Aid.


If you are lucky, in about an hour, the cakes come out looking something like this.


Once the cakes are cooled, I slapped the cream cheese frosting on those babies.

Then I made it pretty. Everything’s better with a berry and some nuts.
(Heh. nuts and berries.)
Viola! Carrot Cake!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2006 10:04 am

    I LOVE making carrot cakes. And it’s funny, you made the same mistake I did, buy buying the baby carrots, you have to grate so much more, and I felt like I was grating my knuckles off at the same time. Looks like it turned out great!

  2. June 21, 2006 10:16 am

    …is that applesauce?

  3. June 21, 2006 10:20 am

    The cake looks amazing!!

    And can I just say that I can picture you cooking and stopping to take these pictures just so you can share them with us! Ha! Love it.

    Hope he enjoyed the cake.

  4. Anonymous permalink
    June 21, 2006 11:47 am

    Seriously. Quit your day job and be a baker already. Jen

  5. June 21, 2006 12:12 pm

    Mappy – I did buy the baby carrots on purpose, since my food processor is so small, I didn’t want to have to chop them us first. But then I realized the processed carrots had a different consistencey than grated ones, so I did both.

    66 – Yes, adds moisture w/o heaviness.

    Sharkie – Thanks! I totasted the almonds myself 🙂 And, ha! You should have seen the flour and frosting covering my camera by the time I was done. I am a messy baker.

    Jen – No if I could only find some unsuspecting people to pay $1000 per cake I might be able to make a living at this…when I get rich babe…Banana Bakery all the way!

  6. June 21, 2006 2:26 pm

    …but the apple taste? Diluted?

  7. Anonymous permalink
    June 21, 2006 4:00 pm

    It looks like you are ready to give CakeLove a run for their money. As impressive as always.

  8. June 21, 2006 5:02 pm

    Ohh, that lemon frosting looks good. ((drool))

  9. June 21, 2006 5:10 pm

    66 – Let’s all be glad that you dont’ bake. Applesauce is frquently used in baked goods, it does not make siad goods taste like apple. You’d have to use a whole hell of a lot of it in order to get an apple-y taste. That right there? 1/4 cup. ‘s nothin.

    Anon – I heart CakeLove. This town could be big enough for both a lawyer-tunred-baker and a meeting-planner-turned-baker, couldn’t it?

    Clussy – Beauty of teh internets, that frosting can be any flavor YOU want it to be 🙂 The proof will be in the pudding…er…frosting…come Saturday.

  10. Anonymous permalink
    June 21, 2006 5:29 pm

    True enough. What would you call it.

  11. June 21, 2006 5:48 pm

    Banana Bread?
    Banana Bakes?
    Marci’s Muffins?

    Hmmm, it’s not obvious that I like alliteration, is it?

    Baked Goods?
    Cakes-n-Bakes?
    Flour & Sugar?

  12. June 21, 2006 6:03 pm

    Mmmmm…carrot cake. Although, I prefer mine sans icing.

    Yours looked very yummy! Nuts and all! ha ha

  13. Anonymous permalink
    June 22, 2006 4:47 pm

    A lil fixated on bananas, huh?

  14. June 22, 2006 5:14 pm

    Got to work with what I got!

    And, Chase, thanks!

  15. June 22, 2006 6:56 pm

    I love carrot cakes. I’ve often thought about buying one of those shredding things……food processors? I don’t know what they are called, but they shred the carrots so you don’t have to do it by hand……but then I wouldn’t have slaved in the kitchen for hours. It’s all apart of my cake baking process.

  16. June 22, 2006 7:36 pm

    So jealous that you have a real oven that gives you light, fluffy cakes. I’d give anything for one of those (and a slice of that cake).

  17. June 22, 2006 7:37 pm

    This post has been removed by the author.

  18. June 23, 2006 12:25 pm

    At first I thought you were going to show us how to make/cut cocaine.

    carrot cakes are nice, though.

Leave a Reply

