Skip to content

A vacation in Dallas?

June 9, 2006

Ok, whos been to Dallas? 

If two girls were looking for some Texas, summertime funwhat would they do in the Dallas area?  Would we need a car?

We are thinking baseball, spa and ????  Ive never been to Texas except for layovers.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2006 11:29 am

    Someone’s posting via e-mail…

    If you can find it in your schedule to blow up Texas Stadium, I will treat you to the greatest brunch ever.

  2. June 9, 2006 1:13 pm

    Oh, haha, funny that it picked up my email formatting. It’s never done that before. Almost all of my posts with/out photos or links are emailed in. Must be this new computer.

  3. June 9, 2006 1:28 pm

    Here’s what you do: Go to the Dallas airport, get on a plane to New York and contact me. Oh yeah!

  4. June 9, 2006 1:42 pm

    Very funny Belligerent. I actually just was in NY earlier this week…and from what I gather from what you write about, I was in your neck of the woods.

    But seriously, I need info on Dallas people. D a l l a s

  5. June 9, 2006 3:02 pm

    I’ll talk to my boys.

  6. June 9, 2006 4:32 pm

    Yes, definitely go to the nearest plane to ANYWHERE ELSE when you get to Dallas.

    Sorry I was stuck there for a month when I was with American Airlines and it just sucked.

    I do remember there being some rodeo bar called Billy Bob’s that was popular but that was in 95 or 94…shit I don’t remember anymore.

  7. June 9, 2006 7:40 pm

    So that’s 2 votes AGAINST Dallas.

    Buggie and I are looking for cheap airfare to somewheres fun (perferable with a baseball team) and Texas was on the list…so far it’s all we got that’s cheap that isn’t Indiana.

  8. June 10, 2006 10:20 am

    Dallas isn’t bad; ignore the Cowboys hater. (yes, I hate the ‘Boys too, but I can be objective.) You and Buggie would have a great time- fancy shopping, the stadium is nice, good museums. Fun places to go out at night as well. I’d say you’d definitely need a car though.

  9. June 11, 2006 5:41 pm

    You would definitely need a car. Dallas is very spread out. Anyplace that has cowboys is usually fun for me, but I’m not sure what kind of fun you are looking for. They do have 48 oz. Margaritas there. Everything is bigger in TEXAS. (Everything.)

  10. June 12, 2006 9:07 am

    One of my friend’s has 5 kids in her family, and they have all moved to Dallas because they absolutely love it. They say it’s a great place, tons of things to do, and the nightlife is fantastic and fun. I’ve never been there, but I would say it’d be a fun place to go visit.

    Also, you could check Lonely Planet’s Thorn Tree Forum, post a question there, and tons of people should get back to you. It’s a great site!

  11. June 12, 2006 1:44 pm

    If you do go to Dallas though, velvet and Map are correct a car is necessary.

    A few places I had a blast at and were well within budget are: San Antonio river walk, Key West, Miami (sobe), Phoenix, Boston & Philly. I don’t know much about sports but we did see a Sun Devils game at AZ State and that was fun.

    The southeast is inexpensive but that’s cause hurricane season just started so it’s a gamble

  12. June 12, 2006 6:43 pm

    You have to do the spa at the Crescent Hotel. And if you’re on expense accounts, definitely hit the Mansion on Turtle Creek for spa, food or anything, really. The shopping can’t be beaten at the Galleria (or for more high-brow tastes) Northpark Mall. Yes, you definitely need to have a car. Hit Deep Ellum, for sure. And if you can, have lunch in the ORIGINAL Neiman Marcus in downtown. Talk about ladies who lunch– this place INVENTED it!

  13. June 12, 2006 8:50 pm

    I’d nix Dallas. It is very spread out so a car would be necessary. I vote San Antonio, however, there is no baseball team unless you count the Missions. You can take a cab from the airport to downtown SA, and walk all over. Mexican food, margaritas, and a gaggle of hot boys on the Riverwalk always makes for a good time.

  14. June 14, 2006 9:17 pm

    Last time I went to Dallas I didn’t think I’d make it out alive. backwoods, backwards.. and I was attcked by fire ants. Everything is spread out..bad, bad, bad. Why not Chicago?? Or, even Boston? Although, I think Savannah may be my next trip.

Leave a Reply

