Skip to content

67.8

June 2, 2006

miles this month.

Pathetic

And I thought I was worried about last month? I mean, that number means I wasn’t even averaging 17 miles a week. No wonder I have acquired the little Buddha. Plus, I should have been taking advantage of the last of the mild weather. Because it’s gettin’ hot in herre.

My mileage number must have been off because I’ve been busy weighing pros and cons all month (wouldn’t it be funny if I meant I’ve been literally putting professionals and convicts on a scale? Heh).

~I am chicken that I’ll totally suck at it
~All the more reason to do it, you might surprise yourself

~It’s summer time! In D.C.! Are you insane? Who does this in the summer?
~Another reason to commit yourself, with an end goal it will be easier to actually get out there on those 99% humidity days.

~You know this means you’ll have to give up debaucherous fun on Friday nights.
~Just move all that fun to Saturdays, hopefully “the wife” will be ok with moving date night. Plus, you’ll save yourself some dough by only going out once on the weekends. Annnnd, you don’t have to give up all fun on Friday’s, just late night, drinking fun. There is fun to be had without booze and 3am bedtimes, you know.

~This is gonna take a lot of effort and your friends already think you’re a workout freak.
~Best way to work off that pooch.

~What if you’re not strong enough, what if you suck?
~You’ve been injury-free for well over a year now and getting healthier with increasing mileage. You’ll be fine.

~What if your times sucks?
~Who cares? You would have run a marathon…besides, what if it doesn’t?

Listening here, to my inner demon workout freak maven, I think the Pros have it.

I am going to start training for a fall marathon. Gah! I am going to run a marathon!

God help me.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2006 1:51 pm

    a full marathon?

  2. Anonymous permalink
    June 2, 2006 2:13 pm

    And here I was happy with my 56-60 mile per month average. Looks like it’s suicide for me again.

    P.S. You are warrior.

  3. Anonymous permalink
    June 2, 2006 2:14 pm

    And here I was happy with my 56-60 mile per month average. Looks like it’s suicide for me again.

    P.S. You are warrior.

  4. June 2, 2006 2:39 pm

    ooh, exciting!! I’m sure you’ll do great.

    The pros definitely outweigh the cons.

  5. June 2, 2006 5:56 pm

    66- A full, Fall marathon. Eep.

    Anon- Why did I just get jealous of your 56-60 number? p.s. thanks for calling me a warrior, twice!

    Eat that bitches

    Tyler- Yeah, let’s see how great it is in August/Sept when I hit 20+ mile long runs.

  6. June 3, 2006 10:10 am

    It is too freaking hot to run too much in the summer. Don’t kill yourself!

  7. June 3, 2006 11:43 am

    My miles this month: Zero.

    Feel better?

  8. Anonymous permalink
    June 6, 2006 8:33 am

    Hey! I will root you on all the way, sister! A marathon is a HUGE accomplishment, and you are never one to back down from a goal you set. You’re awesome.

    Jen

  9. June 6, 2006 5:10 pm

    You’ll be fine. I’ll be out there training then too.

    What race are you planning on doing?

  10. June 6, 2006 10:26 pm

    Good luck with the marathon, you will be great.

    Please I am lucky if I get 67 miles per year! :-)–>

Leave a Reply

