Skip to content

Today is what I’d call a baking day

May 31, 2006

~It’s not anyone’s birthday (that I know anyway)
~No one is leaving the country
~I am not entertaining family or friends

I am drained

a little upset

stressed and overwhelmed

I think some muffins are in order, or maybe cupcakes. Any requests? I don’t want to eat them, just bake them.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2006 6:24 pm

    ooooh, bake away!

    And if you need someone to eat your baked goods for you…

    (hand waving in air!)

  2. May 31, 2006 8:00 pm

    I’d take cupcakes in an instant, but I’m also partial to warm, gooey chocolate chip cookies.

  3. May 31, 2006 8:07 pm

    If you get ambitious and start thinking in pie terms, I have two words for you. The first word is strawberry. The second word is rhubarb. Futhermore, I will challenge Tyler to a kung-fu battle to the death for the rights to consume the aforementioned pie.

  4. Anonymous permalink
    May 31, 2006 8:43 pm

    as the perfect candidate for baking donations seeing as I work across the street, might I suggest blueberry muffins or something with rhubarb??? 😉

  5. May 31, 2006 11:41 pm

    Food me please, dear Banana.

  6. June 1, 2006 8:58 am

    So, what did ya bake, coffee cake, my favorite!!! 🙂

  7. June 1, 2006 10:19 am

    Perhaps red muffins are in order?

    Actually anything involving banana and nuts would be my vote. And no, that was not an attempt to smut up a perfectly wholesome post, I promise. Banana nut bread/muffins are my all time favorite.

    I love you?

  8. June 1, 2006 11:25 am

    I have a hunch that nothing banana is in the works…

  9. June 1, 2006 11:25 am

    Monster Cookies?
    Placenta?

    But seriously. Do you know how to make custard?

  10. June 1, 2006 12:55 pm

    Tyler – Maybe we’ll have to have a blogger bake sale?

    Sparks – Warm, gooey chocolate chip cookies also happen to be MY favorite. Hence the reason they did not get made…I would have had a hard time giving those away.

    Hammer – I made a strawberry rhubarb crisp for Easter and it was Kosher and it was fab. I don’t think a pie would be too big a step up. Got a birthday coming up?

    R – I’ll keep that in mind for next time 🙂

    66 – Like I said above, blogger bake sale? Bake off? Baketastic Bash?

    Harms – But then you’d be sad to know I let someone else eat it. But that’s what I SHOULD have made.

    Cluss – Aw with the red muffins. YOU should make me ME red muffins. I’ve got to have brunch for you ladies and I’ll make banana coffee cake.

    66 – Actually baking w/ banana would have been perfect since I had no desire to eat the finished product. Except…I had no bananas in the house.

    Rich – Actually I’ve been thinking a lot about custard lately. It might be dessert for Father’s Day.

    To clue everyone in, I ended up making what were extremely simple cupcakes (like 5 ingredients) — I wanted something light and not too sweet that would allow me to get rid of all the dark chocolate frosting I have in my freezer. But…they tasted like egg. And I mean e g g . They were gross so I threw them out this morning. But the mission was accomplished, I baked. I feel better.

  11. June 1, 2006 1:37 pm

    I like chocolate cupcakes. You know, for future reference.

    Please. Thanks.

  12. June 1, 2006 2:40 pm

    Wait a second “Red Muffin” that IS more smut talk isn’t it?!

  13. June 1, 2006 3:15 pm

    Rich, don’t you wish!!! Actually it isn’t, it’s friend talk, back in the day memories.

  14. June 1, 2006 3:57 pm

    Glad that the baking served it’s purpose and glad that I don’t have to challenge hammer, but sad that I don’t get to eat baked good cooked by Marci…

  15. Anonymous permalink
    June 1, 2006 4:27 pm

    Oh man! Dark chocolate frosting??? I could have come over and licked that off before you threw the cakes away…Jen

  16. June 1, 2006 4:54 pm

    Actually, make it lemon frosting (though, uh, not on banana nut muffins) and no muffin tops would have been left.

    I think you’ve just triggered a sugar fit in me.

    Brunch would be nice. Even nicer if flowers were again offered to best dressed.

  17. June 1, 2006 5:11 pm

    Red muffin DOES bring back the memories, totally reminisced with Cluss about that this morning!

    Jen, honey, I did not frost the nastycakes before disposing of them. Uh-uh! The frosting is still frozen. But I would have loved it if I called you at 10 last night to say, “I have to throw these cakes out, but do you want to come lick them first?”

    Claudette, I think I will begin an email thread on the subject.

  18. June 1, 2006 6:02 pm

    LMAO! “Nastycakes!”
    Oh well, there’s always next time…

  19. June 4, 2006 5:59 pm

    CUpcakes! I’ve been craving them all week. I’m sorry your cupcakes were too eggy.

  20. June 18, 2006 10:07 pm

    Hello,
    Great blog…it sounds like your trying to get a handle on things and that is great! Gotta go, I’m looking for a baby shower cakes for a baby shower I’m going to and I don’t know where I’m going to find it. Guess I’ll check out http://www.diapergifts.combaby shower cakes, I’ve heard that is a good place to start.

Leave a Reply

