Skip to content

So it was Mother’s Day this past weekend and you know what that means…

May 16, 2006

…well, for me it means baking*.

An actual excuse to bake! Sweet Jesus. Get me to an oven, pronto!

Actually, I both cooked and baked for Mother’s Day. I had the whole family over for dinner.

On the menu we had lasagna rolls stuffed with crimini mushrooms, spinach and beef (beef!) with a lovely gorgonzola cream sauce and for dessert there was…pie.

Pie. That still counts as baking, right? I dunno, pie seems so unbake-like, especially lemon pie. But I baked the crust. Ooh, and the finished product (for like 6 minutes, but whatever!) .

The pie was hard because I knew what I wanted to bake, but couldn’t find a suitable recipe. So I did what any self-respecting baker would do, I improvised. I combined two recipes to get the desired effect. Well, technically three since neither recipe pictured here called for a meringue, but by now I’ve made so many meringues that I no longer need to follow a recipe to beat some egg whites and sugar together (with some cream of tarter and vanilla, I’m just sayin’).

Anyway, I basically wanted a sweet cream cheese layer for the bottom of a lemon meringue pie– since this is my mom’s favorite. It stems back from our days in Minnesota and a little restaurant called Poppin’ Fresh Pies**. A regional chain, kinda like a Denny’s or a Perkin’s, but they specialized in pie. Lots of pie. They had a whole 20-page menu devoted to pies. And once my mom discovered the Lemon Supreme, it was over. She found her pie for life. Described as “a silken supreme cream cheese base, covered with tangy lemon filling and topped with dollops of whipped cream” it is heaven for lemon lovers.

I wanted to try to create my own version, using graham cracker crust instead of your traditional flakiness (I must confess this was more for my tastes than my mother’s) and a meringue top layer instead of the whipped cream used by Poppin Fresh’. Problem was, I could only find some strawberry pie thing that called for no-bake cream cheesiness…so, I totally stole that portion alone and used it to add to this Lemon Creme Pie recipe. That, up there is what it looked like after I whipped it up and spread it upon my graham cracker crust. Nevermind the cake pan, apparently I do not have pieware. Curious.

Anyyyyway, I then had to make the lemon filling, a new endeavor for me and I was worried when it was all liquidy and white, but then I added the yellow stuff (egg yolks and lemon peel) and it got all gelled up and turned a nice sunshiny-yellow color.

(Really, I don’t sound this retarded in person. At least I don’t think I do.)

I think this is where I got a little overwhelmed with all that was happening in the kitchen, because I have no other pictures outside of the final product. Of which you will find one below.

I should have also taken a picture of a cut slice, because talk about presentation…there were dollops and cookies and tiny twists of lemon rind. Oh so pretty. Apparently yummy too, since I have barely a sliver left in my fridge.

Ta da!


*And also it means wishing all the Moms out there a super happy day, I guess that’s you Harms since I don’t know any other moms that read this. Yay for you! Kisses for your girls.

** Now known as Baker’s Square.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    May 16, 2006 9:12 pm

    That’s some fine looking merengue. I hope is was enjoyed by all.

  2. May 16, 2006 10:43 pm

    what? you ate beef?

    I… I don’t know what to say.

    There is some hope for you yet, banana.

  3. May 17, 2006 8:39 am

    Wow… good looking pie! I bet it was as good as it looks.

  4. May 17, 2006 9:43 am

    I am NOT going to inject ANY sexual innuendo involving PIE, I will just say, that step by step baking pictures are MY thing! But the pie looks very good…. a little TOO GOOD. You obviously bought it from a store, just like those cooking shows where they say “here’s one we finished earlier today” after going through the rest of the steps live. PLUS you didn’t do the crust, which is really the most important part…. and worst of all there is no comical picture of you covered in pie ingredients and looking all tired from pie-ing.

    I give this post a B-, Marci, I judge you more harshly because I expect more from you.

  5. May 17, 2006 12:19 pm

    Anon- Thanks! And like I said, leftovers were scarce and I always take that as a good sign.

    66- I’ve TOLD you that I don’t exclude in entirely from my diet. Had the ‘rents not been involved it would ahve been a veggie lasgana though.

    Ty-I try.

    Rich- No, you do not own step by step baking pictures. It’s done by many, a lot actually. And I did make the crust, I just chose to make it out of graham cracker instead of flaky lard. But it’s funny you mention the picture of myself tired from pie-ing, because I did take one. It just looks like I am pissed and trying to shield myself from the camera…so I did not post it.

  6. May 17, 2006 3:50 pm

    Thanks so much baby!! I really would’ve liked the pie, you know how I am about citrus flavored yummy stuff, can you make me an orange one??? love you? Iba!!

    I had a nice Mother’s Day!

  7. May 17, 2006 5:03 pm

    I know… but it’s still weird to see you say that you ate it.

    Don’t get me wrong – I can dig it.

  8. May 17, 2006 5:28 pm

    I’m hungry.

  9. May 18, 2006 8:39 am

    From SCRATCH!?! That’s amazing. You are my hero.

  10. May 18, 2006 3:04 pm

    I too don’t eat beef very often, had my first steak bites in YEARS last Sunday.

    Oh, and I want your recipe!!!

  11. May 18, 2006 6:16 pm

    Mappy – In case you come back here, it was Rachel Ray’s Lasagna Rolls in her 30 minute meals cookbook (one of the older ones, not the one that just came out).

    They were yummy. ‘Specially if you like gorgonzola 🙂

  12. May 18, 2006 6:35 pm

    mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Leave a Reply

