Skip to content

Hot-n-salty (otherwise known as, my reaction to Grey’s season finale)

May 16, 2006

Well a bullet was dodged (but not by Dr. Burke), our little President shut his trap in time for the Grey’s Anatomy season finale to start on time. As I mentioned to someone yesterday, he would have been begging for 34% approval ratings had his little talk interfered with 24 or Grey’s. Don’t mess with sweeps week.

Ok, had no idea tonight’s episode was 2 hours. Bonus.

Does it make me an asshole that I am not really interested in the Izzy/Denny subplot? Every time their scenes came on, I found my eyes pointed on my crossword puzzle (or rolled up inside my head) instead of riveted to the television. It just seemed all so over the top. I liked both characters individually, but their star-crossed love was so blasé to me.

But the Burke/Christina storyline? Cried. Multiple times. Damn this show for making me shed tears all the freaking time. I wonder why I was so drawn to this arc, maybe I identify with Christina a teensy bit. That scene in the operating room, when they wanted him to move his fingers? Brutal. Tears. Actually I thought the scene where he asked her what he should do and she walked out was even more brutal. Sigh. More tears. I love Sandra Oh.

And I know everyone on the planet hates Meredith, but McDreamy is the asshole–toying with her mind and her heart strings like that. Gah! Guys are such assholes. That little subplot there is so real to me. Do you realize how often that happens? I hate them for making me hate Shepherd. Because I looooove Shepherd. And I keep hating him more and more as the show goes on, but hot damn. Did you see? The hair pulling? Hottt. So hot. Tears are gone at this point. Forgot about the crossword. Ooh. There’s another one, I want to call Buggie and Jen to ask if they are seeing this (guys, we could tape that scene and use it as an instructional manual!) but I can’t move from my seat. Sigh. No tears here. Gone. Sweet dreams.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2006 10:37 am

    I’m gonna do a post later today about presidents interrupting prime time. It has to stop, it’s reaching abusive levels.

  2. May 16, 2006 10:43 am

    I know!! I have to admit that I had a few tears flowing too…

    I agree that I wasn’t too into the Denny/Izzy scenes either, but the ending really got to me.

    And I am getting mad at McDreamy too and I really like McVet.

  3. May 16, 2006 11:02 am

    I was so-so on the Denny/Izzy stuff until the “what about me?” scene. I was 6 inches from the screen crying “yeah, Denny, what about her???” Then he went along with her plan and I did a double-take with “Denny, you moron!”

  4. May 16, 2006 11:25 am

    Because TV is definitely and absolutely an excellent picture of real life and should not only be believed but emulated as well. Especially the adultry and hair pulling. Now that have lovin’ written all over it.

    *yawn*

    I’m so over this show. I loved Ellen Pompeo in “Moonlight Mile.” She was okay in “Old School.” She was adequate in “Catch Me If You Can” and “Daredevil.” I even thought she was great in the first season of Grey’s…but her character is feeble now. Last time I checked, it takes TWO to have an affair. I was sympathetic to the character’s plight when she found out Sheppherd was married. But they BOTH continued to do that which they know to be wrong.

    Whatever.

  5. May 16, 2006 12:38 pm

    Rich – I missed it completely last night, rolled in just after 8:30 cozied up with some chips and salsa and got ready for Grey’s.

    Tyler – You don’t admit that!

    Rah rah – Ok, you’re right. I liked that scene too. And also loved her in the interview with the chief…”I’m a pretty girl”.

    MG – So are you saying that hair pulling in real life is not hot? Or doesn’t happen?

    Um, wrong. Happens. (Not as often as I’d like, but it does. And it’s good. And hot. Real good and hot.)

  6. May 16, 2006 12:40 pm

    I’m actually a little more on Meredith’s side ever since the “you don’t get to call me a whore” speech. Girlfriend may be a skinny whiner, but she’s a skinny whiner with newfound balls.

    I agree the Denny thing was accelerated too quickly, but still, that grin… that grin is a grin worth falling irresponsibly in love for. *Sigh.* Rest in peace, Denny.

  7. May 16, 2006 12:56 pm

    This show is so hokey.

    Plus, they ripped off ER with the whole Burke-might-lose-the-use-of-(insert appendage here)-and-not-be-a-surgeon-anymore.

  8. May 16, 2006 3:16 pm

    I don’t get why you women are so into this show. From what I understand (having never seen it) it’s like Sex and the City, but without the shoes.

    Why the hell would a woman want to date a doctor? Everyone knows that derivatives lawyers are like way sexier. It’s like common knowledge and stuff.

  9. May 16, 2006 5:17 pm

    EJ – So, you’re a sucker for dimples too…

    Phil – But it wasn’t hacked off by a rotaing blade, it was like, totally different and stuff! But I see your point 😐

    HINinja – (heh, “hi ninja!”). I disagree, I just returned from a financial/legal conference. Hotness not abound. Repeat, NOT abound.

  10. May 16, 2006 6:50 pm

    marci, was it securities or derivatives conference? Because derivatives lawyers are like securities lawyers, but smarter and better looking, so don’t get us mixed up with those uggos. Derivatives lawyers are sorta like a cross between male models (but with brains), wall street types (but without the egos), fratenity guys (but without the homo-eroticism), and japanese math wizzes (but with bigger pee pees).

  11. May 16, 2006 7:29 pm

    Well, technically it was a compliance conference, heavy on the futures. But you think there would have been at least ONE of those hot, brainy, modest, woman-loving, large-membered men you speak of…

    …but I swear not a one. Because, believe you me, I would have found him.

  12. May 16, 2006 8:31 pm

    Am I the only person who cried when they put Doc to sleep (why do we say this, the dog isn’t sleeping, he is dead, anyway). That scene tore me up…

  13. May 17, 2006 8:46 am

    I have no shame Marci, I have no problems admiting it.

    I also agree with Scot in DC that the scene with Doc probably got to me the most.

  14. May 17, 2006 1:32 pm

    No, I loooove Izzy. But don’t ruin anything else: I’m tivo-ing this at K’s later in the week…

  15. May 17, 2006 3:54 pm

    I just watched it last night when I should have been helping the girls with homework. I cried too, BLAH!!! I loved the whole thing except I wanted to punch Christina at some points, my favorite part had to be when the Cheif had them in his office one by one, I loved it. Can’t wait til next season, hope she sticks with vet, I like him.

  16. May 18, 2006 6:38 pm

    Totally agree about McDreamy. Dick! AND I love Addison. And she is probably gonna leave.
    How come I only cried when they put the dog down? So sad. That is when I started the water works and never stopped.

Leave a Reply

