Skip to content

Oil slicks in Detroit, Hurricanes in Canada?

May 3, 2006

What is the NHL coming to?

Seriously. The Red Wings ousted in the first round, decisively no less, by the Edmonton Oilers? I mean, I am not complaining. But they were a #1 seed. Then last night the ‘Canes wipe out the Habs. Really? Montreal is out of the Cup race at the hands of a team south of the Mason Dixon line! C’mon! The Rangers got swept, and we have NJ fans claiming a Devil dynasty. Last night Esche has the worst game of his life and the Flyers lose the series to Buffalo. Don’t hate me Caps fans, but I was actually pulling for Philly to win that one.

Back to our regularly scheduled (predictable) NHL play-off games where the Senators impeached the Lightning in five; the Sharks proved they were top of the food chain over the Predators (go Wilson!); and the Stars fell in an Avalanche of five high-scoring games.

Just one series left to decide before we move on to the semis. Will the Ducks eat fire and move on to round 2 or do the Flames roast the Ducks? Game 7 is tonight at 9pm. I say, go Calgary!

*Oh how I heart making up sports headlines (especially hockey). The cheesier the better!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2006 2:50 pm

    tonight: Wizards Cavalier In Victory

    …I hope.

  2. May 3, 2006 4:39 pm

    So, how comes you didn’t do a post on the draft? I haven’t bothered to research it, cause I figured you’d break it down for me girl.

  3. May 3, 2006 5:14 pm

    So, what no one wants to talk about hockey?

    Rich, I was hoping someone would do that for me. Seeing as I know jack about college ball, my opinions are thus left at the mercy of the sporting press. Plus it’s all hype anyway… 😦

  4. May 4, 2006 8:02 am

    I have a feeling that’s aimed at me somehow.

  5. May 4, 2006 9:29 am

    So now it’s all about you?

    You are talking basketball (and oops, were wrong) and Rich is talking football…

    …I’m just sayin.

  6. May 4, 2006 12:59 pm

    If you’d followed college football I would’ve asked you about Chad Greenway already.

    …of course, the bigger news is probably Fran Foley…

  7. May 4, 2006 1:58 pm

    Augh!

    So how ’bout those Ducks?

  8. May 4, 2006 2:08 pm

    …who?

  9. May 4, 2006 6:14 pm

    HHHHHHHHHHHOCKEYYYYYYYYYY!

  10. May 11, 2006 8:38 pm

    oh dear. I’m WAY behind on my blogs- see what I missed?!?

    sorry.

Leave a Reply

