Skip to content

It’s a no go

May 1, 2006

The refi is a no go.

[frown]

Turns out my current loan is pretty damn decent for what it is. Plus I’ve only been there for two years, so my equity isn’t really enough to get a significant amount of cash out. Damn my mom for getting my hopes up. I knew this would happen. Just because she can refinance and get enough cash to pay for two brand-new vehicles outright, doesn’t me I can. I can’t even get out enough cash for a Yugo. Well, maybe a used Yugo, but somehow that doesn’t seem better than my current situation. Unless the used Yugo has air conditioning, because then maybe it is worth it. I am approaching my fourth consecutive summer of no vehicular A/C. Not.looking.forward.to.it.

Anyway, I am now debating if I should continue to ignore my car situation and use some tax refund money to buy that bedding (I have been searching for two years for the perfect bedding and this is *beyond* perfect). The car runs, but it won’t for long and since I use it sparingly, it’s need to be replaced is not screaming in my face everyday, whereby the potential new bedding IS screaming in my face everyday (but that’s probably because I made it the wallpaper on my computer–which is my secret-squirrel-sure-fire-way to ensure myself that I get it. Some friends will remember a time when Peri, my burgundy leather Prada doctor bag, was my wallpaper before she was actually mine. It seems that I like to salivate. And as a good friend likes to say, “It’s good to want things” — but now I say only until you can’t stand it anymore and have to have it).

I think it’s time to go cry to mama. Not that she’ll help me out, but she’ll feel sorry for me. And since she knows my history of self-sacrifice none too well, she just might tell me what I want to hear. Who am I to argue with my mother?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2006 2:02 pm

    Do women name their bags too?

  2. May 1, 2006 2:03 pm

    PS: What’s up with The Liberal Banana starting to pop up on dcblogs live? I’m not sure I support this other banana.

  3. May 1, 2006 2:17 pm

    Buy the bedding.

    Really, that’s all there is to say. 🙂

  4. May 1, 2006 3:44 pm

    Winona Ryder (in Welcome Home, Roxy Carmichael) is a good friend of yours? She steals stuff that she wants. Learn by example.

    I love the bedding too. The colors would drive me right to the store and write out a rubber check. You’re so responsible sometimes Mish. I keep telling you to stop that because it makes me feel so reckless.

  5. May 1, 2006 4:14 pm

    Nunus,

    that makes two of us that feel reckless with the loot. Aww well, I am happy.

  6. May 1, 2006 5:30 pm

    Pshaw, the fact that you were considering taking out a loan on your house for the sake of bedding just hit me.

    That’s ridiculous.

    Buy a car.

  7. May 1, 2006 5:41 pm

    i-66 – The leather Prada is the only one that has a name, she told me what it was though. Also, must investigate new banana.

    Sparks – I just need my mom to tell me it’s ok so I can allay my guilt.

    Claudette – OOoh, I wonder if I could stuff a duvet cover and countless pillows up my skirt w/o drawing attention to myself.

    Harms – It’s yin and yang?

    Rich – Let me break it down for ya: I have been considering the refi for months now, basically to try to lower my monthly payments and consolidate my 80/20. An added benefit (that my mother convinced me was plausible) was to take cash out of the new loan to purchase a different car (preferably one that is not falling apart). Having cash to purchase a different car would mean that I would feel comfortable removing funds from savings to purchase new bedding. Knowing now that I will not have an influx of cash from a refi to purchase practicality, makes me think twice about pilfering the savings account to buy pretty things. Got it? Good.

  8. May 1, 2006 5:58 pm

    Sorry about the refinancing thing.
    I think you should put the money into a new car.
    You can always get the bedding later. And you may be able to get it on sale! (West Elm has great sales!)
    Be pratical for now and splurge on the bedding later.

  9. May 1, 2006 6:42 pm

    Did you just say “secret-squirrel-sure-fire-way”? That is so funny.

    Sorry about the loan. I feel you on that. I sold my car last August (and yes, blogged about it, my poor car) because it had so many probs, and just wasn’t worth it, I can take the metro, etc.) but I sure miss it. I’d choose a car over the new bedding, for sure. Although I do love your choice! I miss my car so much, and I wish I had just put the money into it at the time. Ah well…..Growing up and making these choices sucks.

  10. May 1, 2006 7:17 pm

    Marci, you should NEVER take out a loan on your house to buy bedding. It’s just that simple ok? Got it? Good!

  11. May 2, 2006 9:11 am

    Damn Rich, you are more dense than I thought you to be…

    Mapppy, you like the secret-squirrel. Everyone likes the secret-squirrel 🙂

    Chase , I would love for it to go on sale, I just hope I don’t miss out!

  12. May 2, 2006 10:44 am

    !!!

  13. C.T. permalink
    May 2, 2006 11:53 am

    I stumbled upon your blog yesterday and love it. I am going to steal the bedding idea. FAB-U-LOUS-TH!

  14. May 4, 2006 4:02 pm

    You women and your bedding.

    You probably could afford a new transmission with all the pillows you are sure to buy.–>

Leave a Reply

