Skip to content

Chef — we love you!

April 26, 2006

Why would a salad consisting of strips of pressed ham and turkey, a bit of waxy shredded cheese, large tomato pieces and maybe some hard boiled eggs and/or croutons be referred to as a chef salad?

I mean, wouldn’t a chef do it up a bit, add some excitement? What with being a professional and all, a chef* should make a better salad than this. I mean c’mon this has to be one of the most mundane salads in the world of lettuce and tomatoes. If I were a chef I’d seek out to remove my title from this bland salad group. Add new, exciting, tasty ingredients. Ingredients like avocado, pecans, dried currants, fresh strawberries, bell peppers, carrots, flavorful cheese like asiago or feta or chevre, chick peas, green peas, bite-sized tomato, broccoli, fresh corn and herbs? I mean not all at once (chevre and green peas?), but mix and match foods that actually taste good on their own, toss, sprinkle with dressing and chow down.

Yum, I am almost hungry for lunch again.

*Chef:
n : a professional cook; to cook, esp. in a skilled or professional mannerSource: Webster’s New Millennium™ Dictionary of English, Preview Edition (v 0.9.6)Copyright © 2003-2005 Lexico Publishing Group, LLC

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2006 2:15 pm

    I’m not sure what’s up with these “salads”…

    Hooters please 🙂

    …and the restaurant too…

  2. April 26, 2006 3:17 pm

    I think it’s called a chef salad cause it’s made of all the crap that the chef has left over after he has fed everyone else. So he just sweeps it up and throws it in a bowl and it’s his “salad”

  3. April 26, 2006 4:42 pm

    i-66 – I heart salads, in a big big way. I also heart hooters. But I am gonna skim over your double entendre now.

    Rich – “!!!” Your comment is not about you. I don’t get it. But I do feel sorry for the chef that only has pressed meat and flavorless cheese leftover after serving all the people, that sucks.

  4. April 26, 2006 4:57 pm

    The Chef salad has been pitifully cheapened from it’s original state. It’s origins are as follows. So, you see, you are right, no chef would come up w/such shite and put their name on it.

    Thai chicken salad however… Mmmm.

  5. April 26, 2006 5:21 pm

    Thanks for the lesson Cluss. I think these types of salads give salads in general a bad name.
    Salads are tasty people, get on it! Claudette gets it.

  6. April 26, 2006 5:57 pm

    What Claudia wins again?!!

    NOT FAIR! It’s your whole girls club mentality thing! I had the right answer first!

  7. April 27, 2006 8:43 am

    have been loving salads lately too, with lots of Spinach yummmmy. I had a salad at one of our March of Dimes fundraiser lunches that came with dressing from Cheesecake Factory and now all I want to eat is salad. I still don’t know what kind of dressing, my co-worker is suppose to be bringing me a bottle, then I will share. Never thought I would be a “salad girl”, cause we all know I am so meat and potatoes!!!

    Haa haaa Rich, she wins again!!(tee hee) and there is no “club”, she is just that good!!!

  8. April 27, 2006 9:24 am

    You heart my double entendre.

  9. April 27, 2006 1:33 pm

    Not sure Caesar would be overly thrilled with the generic romaine, parmesan and croutons people try to pull off as his masterpiece either…

  10. April 30, 2006 8:54 pm

    I had said chef salad for lunch Friday. Though it is false advertising, mine was actually damn good. They are not fancy but damn do they do the job.

Leave a Reply

