Skip to content

I wonder if I am the only one

April 24, 2006

I wonder if I am the only one that hates the smell of Subway. Seriously! I avoid the corner of 20th and E, that one block on the other side of Ballston Mall and especially the Ann Taylor on Connecticut, all to dodge the odiferous assault Subway’s bread launches upon my nasal passages.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    April 24, 2006 9:30 pm

    That’s just crazy talk. Everyone loves the smell of fresh baked bread. take that back.

  2. April 24, 2006 9:35 pm

    I LOVE the smell of fresh baked bread…Subway’s smell is not bread. It’s bread-like. And it’s gross.

  3. April 24, 2006 11:42 pm

    I hate the smell of Metro. Does that count?

  4. April 24, 2006 11:42 pm

    ME TOO. It makes me nauseous!!

    I like Subway alright, but I can’t eat it more than a few times a year. Maybe.

  5. April 24, 2006 11:43 pm

    P.S. the me too was the subway smell…not the metro…

    well, the metro makes me sick for other reasons…

  6. April 25, 2006 5:48 am

    I hate subway too. Growing up in NYC, there were a lot of bakeries and you would go in there on a saturday morning and have that awesome “fresh baked bread smell”. Subway bread doesn’t smell like that…it smells like urine.

    and WTF is up with cutting that little triange wedge in the bread to make it appear like there is more than one slice of meat in my sammich. I’m not fallin’ for it!

  7. April 25, 2006 8:02 am

    Ha – I go by the one at 20th and E all the time, mostly to go to class in that building. You know you just don’t like the smell because it is the smell of your fear – the fear I will discover you have been stalking me!

  8. April 25, 2006 8:34 am

    Subway has gone WAY downhill since I stopped working there. (Is there some causal relationship there?)

    First they started cutting the bread all wrong, as home improvement said. When I worked there, the standard of each “Sandwich artist” was his “U-Gouge” the little trough you make in the sandwhich to neatly hold the meat and ingredients. They have now changed it so they only cut half way into the bread so the meat and stuff hang out messily.

  9. April 25, 2006 8:49 am

    Last time I ate there was not such a good experience. I don’t think I have ever really paid attention to the smell, hmmm, I am sure I will notice it now.
    I love WaWa subs!

  10. April 25, 2006 9:34 am

    Ick Ick Ick…

    bread like is correct and it is gross.

  11. April 25, 2006 10:27 am

    mmm, I love me some Subway. Especially since they started toasting my cheese sammiches. Mmm – melty cheese!

  12. April 25, 2006 5:57 pm

    Well, I don’t HATE the smell of Subway, but I am avoiding all baked good temptations for awhile. Does that count? Oh, and I hate the smell of the Metro as well…especially when it is raining or when it is really hot outside.

  13. April 25, 2006 9:19 pm

    At first glance I thought you meant THE subway not the sandwich place Subway.

    The Subway smells like a mix of BO, piss, wet dog, metal and death which does not bother me as badly as the smell of Subway’s plastic bread smell. weird eh?

  14. April 26, 2006 12:29 am

    Why does Subway open at 7am? I’m looking for the smell of coffee in the morning.. not that!

  15. April 26, 2006 12:25 pm

    i-66 – No.

    AM – It IS such a nauseating smell. The bread – not the Metro!

    Ninja – Agreed, Subway bread does not hold a candle to real, bakery bread. And is THAT really why they cut it that way? A marketing ploy? Pathetic.

    DCOE – But I am avoiding that corner, thereby not stalking you. Right? That is how not-stalking works, isn’t it?

    Rich – It’s all about you, isn’t it?

    Harms – You’ve had love for those Wawa subs for quite sometime now 🙂

    Sharker – I am SO glad it’s not just me, really I am.

    Spark’mous – Melty cheese, yum! On Subway bread, gross!

    Chase – Nope, doesn’t count. So far I only have back up on this from Mistress, Ninja, Sharkie & Busted.

    Busted – It’s because the subway is SUPPOSED to smell that way. So while it’s not pleasant, it’s not offensive. Bread is supposed to smell yummy, which is why it hurts my feelings to sniff Subway.

    Mox – I KNOW! hence the reason I have to avoid the Subway in Ballston, because I can smell it on my run in the morning. Now, when I avoid running past the Starbuck’s it’s because the smell of coffee makes me want to stop running and sit and have a sip.

  16. April 27, 2006 12:49 pm

    I only eat Lenny’s subs.

Leave a Reply

