Skip to content

And the reason is

April 18, 2006

Serious exhaustion yesterday. Neither coffee, nor food, nor tea, nor sugar would lift the fog from my body. But it was all worth it.

Thursday I cooked dinner for two supremely lovely ladies. On the menu (in order of appearance) :
~Vodka
~Mike’s Hard Lemonade
~A pretty decent malbec
~More vodka
~Mike’s Hard Cranberry Lemonade
~Baked tilapia, roasted red potatoes and my salad of the month*
~Clussy’s calf muscle
~Some more drinks and shit

We had planned to watch Anchorman, but it was not in the stars, so we settled for the very first episode of Family Guy (we have issues shutting up long enough to watch movies anyway, so this was probably for the best). I think it took us about an hour. Giggle. Pause. Rant. Play. Pause. Tangent. Play. Giggle. Pause.

Friday I was off from work, and although I am sorry Jesus died, I am glad I had this time to ready myself for the looming Easter dinner that Bug and I were hosting on Sunday. I accomplished a lot and was even able to convince Buggie to get her butt to Tallulah for some late night drinks. Just a couple. I can’t get enough of this girl right now. Even with Thursday’s dinner and the event we were hosting on Sunday, it just wasn’t going to be a sufficient amount of time.

Saturday morning I got my ass out of bed at 7:30am for a 14 mile run with the SLR group. I am not sure how I accomplished this. It’s possible I was still asleep. Once I found myself back at the starting point some hours later, it was time to get my ass quickly home to start making these little confections:


I didn’t have time to finish them all, showering and napping were a must, for it was the evening of my first ever DC United game. Did you know it was raining beer on Saturday night? We didn’t have umbrellas, but a soccer ball giveaway did the job in a pinch.


Holy geez, those soccerkids are an energetic bunch (also bilingual and somewhat prone to chanting to the tune of Karma Chameleon–yes I was the girl at the soccer game singing “you come and go, you come and go-oh-oh-oh, lovin’ would be easy if your colors were like my dreams, red gold and green…whaa? Those aren’t the lyrics?). Good thing I filled up on tailgate chicken, otherwise I would never have lasted with these folks. I did not sit down once between the hours of 6pm and 10pm (?) pm. Suffice to say my legs were dead tired along with the rest of me. But I did manage to stay up late enough to watch Pearl Jam’s first set on SNL (see the probable reason for that here, and then here for the other probable reason).

After that, I crashed hard. So hard that I woke up too late to get a workout in on Sunday morning and had to start the baking before the sleep was removed from my eyes. Add the histamine reactions from the crazy high pollen counts and you can imagine how wonderfully pretty my eyeballs were looking**.

By the time I got to Bug’s house sometime after 2pm on Sunday, I was practically ready for bed. But we had promised six of our friends (some of which are online) Easter dinner and Bunny Fun, so there was no time to rest.

Bug was super speedy and already posted her recap. Itch.

Here’s my attempt at copying her, because I am her SWF.

This is Bug’s meat; her in-the-process-of-assembly beef wellington. Just wait until you see the finished product!

The first leg of the Easter Triathalon: The Egg Hunt


The Egg Hunt winner was RichThe second leg of the Easter Triathalon was the Coloring Contest

Here are the final submissions (The broken egg as colored by B, was declared the winner after two rounds of voting–it is the second one from the right):
This one was disqualified too damned random/scary to be considered a serious entry:
And now for the voting (this is a democratic Easter Triathalon)

Oh, the beef wellington is done! It’s almost time to eat!

We also had peas! Provincial peas no less

So we take a break from the Easter Triathalon to fuel up with dinner

Be careful when you ask for a little bit of wine (*notice R’s super small wine glass on the left)

After dinner there was the last leg of the Easter Triathalon, the Egg Breaking Contest. Clussy’s egg had mad skills and she smashed all that was in her path. But I don’t have pictures of the smashing…

…just the prize:

Since the Triathalon was a three-way tie, Clussy had to beat out the boys in fast-action trivia in order to win. Aw, isn’t she pretty?

*My Salad of the Month (aka salad so good I will eat it everyday until I puke) consists of: Spring mix and baby spinach, crumbled asiago and mozzarella cheeses, walnuts, chopped apples, chunks of fresh avocado, grape tomatoes and shredded carrots. Sooo good. I’ve had it three times since last Thursday.


**Because of my allergies and the area’s freakishly inhumane pollen levels, at any point in time this past weekend (and continuing today) I could have easily be confused for:
a. Someone high on weed
b. A girl who just watched her favorite shoes/handbag/pet/boyfriend get run over
c. Someone who got punched in the eye and can’t stop crying about it

Bottom line: The eyeballs are red, teary, itchy and hurt like a mofo.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2006 1:27 pm

    Favorite moment from the first episode of The Family Guy:

    Judge: I’m sentencing you to [X amount of time] in prison.
    Family: Oh no!, Oh no!, Oh no!
    Kool-Aid Man: OH YEAHHHH!!!

  2. April 18, 2006 2:08 pm

    Sounds like a great weekend!! (except for the whole allergies thing. I know what you are going through…)

  3. April 18, 2006 2:33 pm

    I am now thoroughly convinced of the domestic goddess that you are and would like to propose marriage, if you’ll have me. Think about it at least?

    I’m also realizing that you’re quite possibly the most popular girl I know (I mean that in the non-putting-out-popular way of course). Good Lord, your schedule has no gaps! How do you do it?

  4. April 18, 2006 3:18 pm

    First of all, they changed the rules on me in the middle of the egg thing, then everyone voted for Bryan because they didn’t want me to win TWO things, and lastly, when Claudia got the first question wrong THEY ASKED HER ANOTHER ONE SO THEY WERE SURE SHE WOULD WIN!

    (I’m just saying)

  5. Anonymous permalink
    April 18, 2006 6:11 pm

    Marci, I made Davera listen to all the hard work you put into your rolled gummy, sugar flowers before he could take a bite. He told me he’d fight me if I didn’t shut up, and since he was on a roll that day, I thought I should comply. Truly, though, I think you should be a baker for a living. Clussy, I think you should be a calf model. Jen

  6. April 18, 2006 7:43 pm

    Looks like a totally faboo weekend. Totally cute photo of I-66 in his Mad Soccer Mania Mode. Sounds like you kept things nice and liquid for good flow. 😉

  7. April 19, 2006 1:03 pm

    if you had been going for me, you could’ve left out the actual food. Just so you know.

  8. April 19, 2006 5:56 pm

    That uncooked wellington looks like Placenta

  9. April 20, 2006 1:15 pm

    Claudette – You wanna marry meeeee? Weeee! I do already have a wife though. But concidering she’s had a GF and BF at time throught out our marriage, she may be open to it. I think my schedule is cyclical…it either all happens on the same week or not at all.

    Rich – no one changed the rules, you’re just a sore loser. L-O-S-E-R.

    Cube – ’twas a ever enjoyable weekend! And I do like my liquids!

    Heather – Are you saying you are on a liquid diet?

    Rich – Well only you and Tom Cruise would know.

  10. Anonymous permalink
    April 21, 2006 9:39 pm

    Very nice! I found a place where you can
    make some nice extra cash secret shopping. Just go to the site below
    and put in your zip to see what’s available in your area.
    I made over $900 last month having fun!
    make extra money

  11. Anonymous permalink
    April 21, 2006 10:29 pm

    Very nice! I found a place where you can
    make some nice extra cash secret shopping. Just go to the site below
    and put in your zip to see what’s available in your area.
    I made over $900 last month having fun!
    make extra money

  12. Anonymous permalink
    April 23, 2006 11:26 am

    Very nice! I found a place where you can
    make some nice extra cash secret shopping. Just go to the site below
    and put in your zip to see what’s available in your area.
    I made over $900 last month having fun!

    make extra money

  13. Anonymous permalink
    April 25, 2006 1:44 am

    Very nice! I found a place where you can
    make some nice extra cash secret shopping. Just go to the site below
    and put in your zip to see what’s available in your area.
    I made over $900 last month having fun!
    make extra money

Leave a Reply

