Skip to content

I thank you

April 10, 2006

I thank you, you whomever in my family history gave me the genes capable of drinking an entire bottle of wine and not feeling drunk* or even hung over the next day. Seriously, if I could isolate that part of my genetic makeup and recreate it I would be a freaking millionaire, nay BILLIONAIRE, because people would buy this shit up. Note to self, in next life become super smart geneticist.

*Not drunk, but oh so happy to watch ANTM with the best friend, look at old yearbook photos and (again!) marvel over the fact that she and I went to the same freaking school in 8th grade and knew all the same people but were not aware of the other’s existence until we were 19 years old. So that prompts another thank you. Thank you to Bennigan’s and Crown Books. Bennigan’s for scheduling us both for a double shift that fateful summer day and Crown Books for being there to entertain us and lay the foundation for an amazing friendship.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2006 8:36 pm

    Crazy drunk girl! I love it!

  2. April 11, 2006 12:23 pm

    Yay, Velvet loves that I am a lush!

  3. April 11, 2006 2:26 pm

    I love that you can drink an entire bottle and not get hungover! Those days are long gone for me. An entire bottle now? Ha. I’d be out of commission for a good day.

    Oh and are you all caught up with ANTM?

  4. April 11, 2006 2:45 pm

    Yeah, one bottle is a pretty standard for me. Perhaps I got confused with the ‘one glass a night is good’ and heard ‘one whole bottle’.

    Whatever works, right!

  5. April 11, 2006 3:09 pm

    I’m jealous. I only avoid hangovers when I can sleep til noon (aka, never). : (

  6. April 11, 2006 4:29 pm

    Be sure to get on the Amazon alert list for the book Jade says she’s going to write. So you can leard how to say facade.

  7. April 11, 2006 4:30 pm

    …and you guys need to QUIT ENCOURAGING MARCI!

  8. April 11, 2006 5:10 pm

    Crazy [eyeball] – We ARE all caught up, until we are behind again for the next two weeks! And Bug and I both fell into the trap of your Mollie Sue post (we don’t read or watch anything on purpose prior to viewing so we can guess and make bets on who’s gonna kick it) but we both saw your announcement unintentionally…but we also both confessed to each other before hand.

    Mapster – See, you get it! One bottle? No biggie, totally normal, right?

    Bliss – I don’t know what it is but I have to drink an OBSCENE amount of booze to get a hangover.

    Rich – She write about “facade”, but she won’t tell us what it means because she don’t know. Maybe she’ll define “nicenessness” in her book.

    And stop being jealous of my superior liver!

  9. April 11, 2006 5:21 pm

    We must share the same genetics, ,I can drink an entire of bottle of wine (usually champagne) without the sucky side effects.

    It’s truly is a gift. 🙂

  10. April 11, 2006 5:43 pm

    I drank one too, and felt great on Monday. Wassup!
    By the way, thanks to that kiddie book we read to each other on that fateful day at Crown Books between shifts. It was the one with the creepy old lady who crawls in to her grown son’s room and hold him… Like you forever.. Love you for always… A little creepy, a whole lot weepy.

  11. April 12, 2006 9:58 am

    I love it when my nicknames stick…

  12. April 12, 2006 10:07 am

    Ha, definitely not the case for me. When you find out the secret, let me know!

  13. April 12, 2006 12:01 pm

    It’s just too easy to get through the entire bottle. I do it quite often sans the side effects as well. Is that bad?

  14. April 13, 2006 12:33 pm

    Well I will be sure to not include the loser’s name in the title of my blog write up, or put her picture in the very beginning of my write up on it tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

