Skip to content

Note to all boys

April 7, 2006

and aspiring men:

Do not wear wicking type shirts (think Under Armour) outside of the gym or your favorite fitness activity. These types of shirts are not fashionable. You do not look cool. You DO look like you are trying to hard or are generally without a clue. This goes ESPECIALLY for those boys and aspiring men who do not have the muscle tone to even pretend they can pull off this look.

Thank you, your cooperation is appreciated.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2006 9:49 am

    If you’re giving out fashion advice, how do you feel about collar popping?

  2. April 7, 2006 10:19 am

    I don’t even wear under armor under stuff.

    I heard the popped collar was the way to that little banana’s heart [snicker]

  3. April 7, 2006 10:37 am

    A wife beater on the right man, however…. YUM.

    Not that I’m thinking of anybody in particular here, or nuffin.

  4. April 7, 2006 10:50 am

    no…

    …never

  5. April 7, 2006 11:11 am

    Why are you constantly berating my fashion sense in public? I TOLD you, I didn’t have time to change after my flag football league game, and the muscle thing was intentional! I’m slimming down to fit into the next weight class for my Greco-Roman wrestling league!

    UNDER ARMOR!!Rock, Rock ON! (Mine is orange;-))

  6. April 7, 2006 12:12 pm

    Obvy, I-66, you haven’t seen my man in a wifebeater.

    HAWT.

  7. April 7, 2006 12:15 pm

    SammyG – I know some feel strongly about this and I do think it’s a bit of an overstatement, mean if you’re ballsy enough to do it w/o an 80’s party to go to then it’s probably pretty obvious what a prepster you are anyway. And if your not straight off the boat (or the yacht) from New England, then you’re probably a poser and posers are what I take issue with.

    i-66 – I mention the brand as an example. I know your soccer shirts are that wicking nylon material – you can’t be wearing cotton out there.

    RC – Or the right girl… 🙂

    i-66 – Never a wife beater? Or Never that RC talks about a specific someone?

    Rich – And I told you to stop talking about your leotard wearing sport in public, so I guess we’re even.

  8. April 7, 2006 12:33 pm

    Hypothetically… is it ok for guys who don’t have the muscles, per say, to be wearing them appropriately??

  9. April 7, 2006 12:43 pm

    I only pop it when I’m listening to Three-6 Mafia and the music compels me to. My dad has been poppin’ his since the 50’s and just never stopped, I’d like to think he brought it back. But the son of popped collar refrains adamantly from the preppy practice.

  10. April 7, 2006 12:51 pm

    Tyler – Key word appropriately. I cannot fault those that are not muscularly endowed the feeling of dry skin during or after a good workout.

    SammyG – I appreciate a parent that keeps it real (now, as I would have been horrified in high school), in fact my dad is super proud that he held on to his bell bottoms until they came back into fashion as flares (please envision my eye roll now). And if your collar popping attitude is induced by music, then that seems real to me and thusly deemed ok. [Insert scepter shoulder tapping here]

  11. April 7, 2006 1:21 pm

    That’s true, Platanita.

    I also don’t wear them when not playing soccer and nor are they muscle-tight.

    These are good things.

  12. April 7, 2006 1:22 pm

    oh, and the latter.

Leave a Reply

