Skip to content

Happy Birthday Baby Bananas

March 30, 2006

Today, Baby Bananas for Everyone turns one year old.
Still a baby, but oh so grown.


I started the blog for myself, inspired by a friend who had been inspired by another, and thus did not make the blog open for public or even semi-private consumption. It was for me, by me (F.M.B.M. … doesn’t roll of the tongue as well as F.U.B.U., does it?). Well, the private thing didn’t last long (exactly 2.5 months and 12 posts). I don’t know if vanity took over, the need for feedback and reciprocation…whatever it was, it has propelled me to here.

1 year has given me 175 posts and approximately 1500 comments. I’ve experienced a renewed sense of self. It’s helped to restore old friendships while solidifying countless new ones. I’ve also been able to come to grips with the fact that I am really immature and appreciate inane humor. Which segues nicely into my first Top Ten list:

Top Ten Posts of the Past Year (my faves, your faves)
1. This post still gets talked about, Now ruuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuun! (And for the record, that is a damned good cookie recipe).
2. I love this IM conversation, Conversations with Buggie, because it still makes me giggle and totally epitomizes our friendship.
3. Valentines – pick one was the most commented post ever (maybe I should just shut up and stop typing and only post pictures so you can have your way with them. You guys would like that wouldn’t you, you dirrty, dirrty whores).
4. The Baby Bananas Quick & Dirty Guide to Super Bowl XL makes me want to write sports for non-sports fans all the time–mainly because to them, I would sound smart and sporty.
5. Blogger HH re-caps are always quite popular, especially ones with pictures, like For the voyeur in all of us.
6. Today’s post is brought to you by the number 8 is one of my all-time favorites, mostly because the numbers kinda worked out all by themselves, I didn’t pre-plan it that way at all.
7. Haha, this series of photographs still makes me laugh– A picture is worth a thousand words?
8. Buggie loves to hear tales of my Retarded Mexian and my non-receptionist, which prompted the waa waa waa and hello posts, along with an entire separate spoof blog (thanks Clussy) from the non-receptionist’s perspective.
9. A favorite post, as well as a favorite route of mine, detailed here, in A monumental run.
10. You know, no one I know has heard her sultry voice since this entry, Metro opens doors and…er…other things.

Top Ten Things I’ve Learned Since I Started Blogging
1. Bloggers are pretty damned cool (and good looking). In fact some of my very best and prettiest friends blog.
2. I am verbose as all hell and I don’t think this outlet is teaching me succintness.
3. Basic HTML coding — but I wish I could learn how to revamp my template into something cool.
4. Blogging is a social endeavor, I’ve made many new friends and had many vodka drinks with this venture.
5. I really like coffee, I’ve blogged about with with pictures, songs, confessions, details, etc over 20 times.
6. I don’t like to put a lot of forethought into my posts, a large portion of the blog has been written and posted as it came to me (although I have been known to jot notes all over the WaPo Express if a flash of blogging brilliance hits me on the Metro).
7. Having my very own digital camera is the best thing ever.
8. I am even more vain than I previously thought I was, I should really work on that.
9. I really need a computer at home.
10. No matter how much I do this for myself, I still find myself holding back at times. I guess this is less of a journal than I thought it would be. Maybe it’s just a phase, we’ll see.

Ten Suggestions for the Future of Baby Bananas

Meh, that’s no fun–that is, unless you all have any…

25 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2006 10:27 am

    Well let me be the first to wish you a happy blogiversary (I always feel dumb saying that, but whatever).

    And I, your new blogging friend, enjoy the copious amounts of vodka that this has brought as well.

  2. March 30, 2006 10:56 am

    Happy Birthday Bloggity Blog!

    Great links!

  3. March 30, 2006 11:08 am

    Happy Birthday Baby Bananas Blog!!

  4. March 30, 2006 1:02 pm

    I will confirm that Baby bananas for everyone has done some healthy resurrecting and for that, I must which it a happy blogging birf’day.

  5. March 30, 2006 1:25 pm

    How many is that in blog years?

  6. March 30, 2006 1:43 pm

    Let me pop in from the ether for a moment to say…

    Happy Anniversary, Miss Banana!!!

    It’s been a hell of a ride, hasn’t it? Your spark, wit, and humor (often hilariously self-depricating) have been a welcome addition to this rotating cast of online characters.

    I will now return to the ether…

  7. March 30, 2006 1:49 pm

    Top Ten #3 – find someone else who knows what they are doing and beg them to do it for free. Remove your shirt for them if necessary.

    It worked for me.

  8. March 30, 2006 5:14 pm

    Heather – Vodka and new friends go so well together, don’t they?

    Mappy – Thanking you!

    Velvet – Yay, thanks…

    Clussy – Which it? Like ‘which it? Are you making me a birthday sangwitch?

    i66 – That would be inversly proportional to the number of blogs that are born and that die in any given year. Sounds like too much math to me.

    Travis – ! I am glad the ether spat you out long enough to make those lovely anniversary wishes 🙂

    Phil – Having someone remove their shirt to procure PLAYAZ services or vice versa?

  9. March 30, 2006 5:14 pm

    Let’s just say when you think you’ve completely run out of ideas, there’s always full frontal nudity.

  10. March 30, 2006 5:16 pm

    Belligerent – Oh yes, yes! And naked bananas are hot!

  11. March 30, 2006 6:28 pm

    Yay. You are old. Let’s celebrate

  12. March 30, 2006 6:28 pm

    Yay. You are old. Let’s celebrate

  13. March 30, 2006 6:29 pm

    I am so important that it posted my comment twice. Wooo

  14. March 30, 2006 7:38 pm

    happy blogversary!!

    and nano’s forever 🙂

  15. March 30, 2006 10:43 pm

    Happy Blogiversary BB

  16. March 31, 2006 12:05 pm

    Happy Blogiversary! Here’s to another year (at least) of Marci : )

  17. March 31, 2006 12:26 pm

    YAY! Happy Blog Birthday!

  18. March 31, 2006 12:50 pm

    Happy Birthday Baby Nanas!!!!

  19. March 31, 2006 1:18 pm

    Woo hoo! Yay for the first year!

  20. March 31, 2006 2:38 pm

    It works both ways, marci

  21. March 31, 2006 3:32 pm

    . Basic HTML coding — but I wish I could learn how to revamp my template into something cool.

    This site might help, many great looking templates as well:

    http://freetemplates.blogspot.com/2005_10_01_freetemplates_archive.html

  22. March 31, 2006 3:33 pm

    The author of that blog has a recept for how you change your layout in the octobersection.

  23. March 31, 2006 5:53 pm

    [cheesey grin]

    Thanks everyone 🙂

  24. Anonymous permalink
    April 7, 2006 3:37 pm

    Very nice! I found a place where you can
    make some nice extra cash secret shopping. Just go to the site below
    and put in your zip to see what’s available in your area.
    I made over $900 last month having fun!
    make extra money

  25. Anonymous permalink
    April 7, 2006 11:50 pm

    Very nice! I found a place where you can
    make some nice extra cash secret shopping. Just go to the site below
    and put in your zip to see what’s available in your area.
    I made over $900 last month having fun!
    make extra money

Leave a Reply

