Skip to content

And now for your regularly scheduled programming

March 28, 2006

I just wanted to say thank you. Thank you NPR. Thank you for getting me back on track, literally (well kind of).

For years now, I’ve suffered a sort of insomnia. Not that I couldn’t sleep, but more that I would wake up multiple times throughout the night. The waking periods would vary, some lasting a few minutes and others lasting much longer. It would go on and on like this for weeks, until my body couldn’t take the fatigue and I’d get a few days (or maybe even a week) of full, restful sleep and then I’d be back to my old, sporadic ways.*

Cut to January of this year. After returning from a fabulous trip to Chicago, I found that I was sleeping through the night on a regular basis. (The joy!) Thinking that it was maybe just a super long rest period, I didn’t get too excited about it, but I did take note. Now, a full three months later, I am happy to report many more sleep-filled nights than restless ones. Oh, happy day!

Just one thing.

With my new-found sleep, I’ve had extreme trouble getting up before work for my morning runs, leaving me to do them in the evenings and thus not leaving me time for yoga or lifting. This makes me sad (and puffy around the middle). But I’ve found a new trick and I hope that I am not speaking too soon and jinxing it’s effectiveness. For the past two days I’ve set my alarm to wake me with NPR and I’ve had no issue dragging myself out of bed and into my running shoes. The difference? It seems I am much less likely to hit the snooze button on a gentle voice reporting the news than I am when a blaring beep repeats over and over again in my ear. So, I listen to the gentle voice in my half sleeping state and am able to get my brain to a level of semi-consciousness whereby then I can then pry my relaxed body out from under the covers.

Brilliant!

*It was easy to get out of bed during the insomnia-ness, I was half awake and annoyed anyway…might as well get up, you know?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2006 2:36 pm

    I think it’s just proof that you’re trying to do too much before you go to work. These days I’m lucky if I even get dressed before I leave the house.

  2. March 28, 2006 3:09 pm

    Do they still use Diane Rheeme on NPR down there? Her voice would scare me into running away.

  3. March 28, 2006 5:10 pm

    i-66 – Sounds like YOU are the one doing too much there, friend. Last I heard (unless you’re working at Nexxus or Camelot) clothing is NOT optional for work.

    Rich – I think she’s still on, but not at 6:30 in the morning (thank god).

  4. March 28, 2006 6:00 pm

    I do that with Elliot, but his laugh is like an annoying alrm and that is when the snooze gets hit.

  5. March 28, 2006 9:10 pm

    OK: note to self. Must get clock radio.
    My trick isn’t half as respectful to my sleepy self: Put the blaring alarm at the other side of the room, so you have to get OUT of the bed to turn it off. …I think I’m just turning myself into a sleepwalker.

  6. March 28, 2006 9:26 pm

    I am able to get up and work out early only two days in a row, then I crash. I need to work on that.

    If you’re jogging in Arlington, let me know! Although, I’m more of a walker still at this stage in my workout disaster lifestyle change (I mean, upcoming positive changes.)

  7. March 29, 2006 11:37 am

    What’s to say I don’t get dressed in the car? 😉

  8. March 29, 2006 11:58 am

    Now I’m picturing I-66 driving down his namesake, attempting to put on a shirt with one hand on the wheel. Can it be done? Only time will tell.

    I usually do a few weeks of getting up early and then the next week of going to the gym at night and doing yoga on the weekends.

  9. Anonymous permalink
    April 1, 2006 2:07 am

    Very nice! I found a place where you can
    get a new game system, Just go to the site below
    and put in your zip to see what’s available in your area.
    I sold mine and got some extra cash!

    game system

Leave a Reply

