Skip to content

Feverishly blushed with a raspy voice…

March 22, 2006

…hot or not?

Well, maybe it would be hot if it wasn’t induced from the Being-in-Boca-Under-Too-Close-Quarters-With-Overtly-Sick-Coworkers-Disease. At least I didn’t start exhibiting symptoms until I was getting off the plane at National, cuz being sick onsite just sucks balls. I think I am all better now, although I have been exhibiting flushed cheeks, chills and the tail-end of a lost voice all day — so on second thought, perhaps I am not entirely cured. My only medicine was sleep, sleep and more sleep (and Edy’s Whole Fruit popsicles). I am now on a more than a first name basis with Troy, my sofa. We are actually quite the intimate couple. Ever noticed how a few intense days together will do that to a relationship? (Unless it drives you apart first). Well ours lasted, and I predict a happy future together.

Boca was pretty exhausting. I was lucky to get a couple days of 4 hours of sleep. The rest of the time I made due with about 2 and a half. There was so much booze being imbibed that I actually had to STOP DRINKING BY FRIDAY! Just so you realize, by “stop drinking” I mean, I had 3 glasses of wine at a wine tasting and then stopped. An hour or so later I had a glass of wine and then a vodka with dinner and stopped. I then stayed out at the bar and drank only water! That is, until the wee hours of the evening when I had a beer. I mean, it was St.Patty’s day, after all (well 2am still counts, right?). This was my recovery night, I will spare you the details of the party nights (mostly because they are fuzzy).

But damn, we couldn’t have BOUGHT better weather. Seriously, it was amazingly beautiful and not humid (and I don’t know if it’s ever NOT humid in Florida–I am thinking someone’s soul now belongs to the devil). As I was leaving the perfect 83 degree sunshine, I regretted my decision not to stay an extra few days to soak up the vitamin D rays, although if I had been down there and sick – with only resort food to eat – I probably would have cried. I even had a lovely fellow offer to pay the change fee on my flight to stay down there a little while longer. Damn my conscious for saying “no, thanks”.

It’s cold here. I am ready to go back. I am so over the sweater thing. But I do look cute in orange.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2006 1:58 pm

    Ode to orange:

    Orange, orange
    A color that stands the time
    It doesn’t really matter that
    With you nary a word rhymes

    Orange, orange
    Is red or blue better? hardly
    You shine on mp3 players, and I-66’s shirts
    Or on the sweater of Marci

  2. March 22, 2006 3:26 pm

    … you are so transparent, but fine I’ll bite

    Please tell us all about the guy who wanted you to stay down there with him… (hussy)

  3. March 22, 2006 3:28 pm

    Oh, and I hope you feel better (despite all the crap you used to give me about your super immune system when I was sick)

  4. March 22, 2006 3:32 pm

    I love those Edy’s pops as well! Delicious. sorry you feel crappy though. Sounds like FL was fun; I’m going there for Easter, so I hope it’s not deathly humid by then.

    Hope you feel better. Go easy on Troy. 🙂

  5. March 22, 2006 3:38 pm

    Just curious about “cuz being sick onsite just sucks balls”. Is this a reference to it being really really uncomfortable for you, a necessary evil, or something you prefer not to do if given option? I just want to make sure I understand correctly.

  6. March 22, 2006 3:40 pm

    OH SNAP! Claudia just burned you!

    Sizzle cafeteria style.

  7. Anonymous permalink
    March 22, 2006 4:24 pm

    Claudia – That just put all sorts of innuendos in the my head.

    ps – the raspy, Demi Moore voice is hot!

  8. March 22, 2006 5:04 pm

    I think I will have a orange right now Mr. I66.

    Rich – If I am transparent, then you need glasses. And I’ll have you know that all of my other corworkers were riddled with The Disease for 5-8 days. Me? Three. Supreme immune system baby.

    Mappy – I think the oppresive humidity really gets going in June. But seriously, don’t bother doing your hair while you’re down there. It’s a waste of time.

    Claudette – Has this discussion never come up between us before? (Like how I table that? Mad skillz.)

    Anon – I don’t think she was going for innuendos. She pretty much just laid it all out there.

Leave a Reply

