Skip to content

I’ve got the fever

February 28, 2006

Except not so much. More like, I’ve got the icicle. I am perpetually cold. It hasn’t even been that cold of a winter and I am cold all the freaking time. I wear two, sometimes three layers of clothing to work everyday. I spent this past Saturday in a ball on the sofa under two blankets and inside of my favorite sweats and I couldn’t warm up until after I’d had a piping hot shower and two cups of tea. Is there a condition that perpetuates this? I can’t stand it. I mean, I’d rather be cold than hot, being hot is just miserable. But the icy fingers and the perma-scarf I have draped around my neck is getting old.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2006 10:37 am

    Sounds like you need an indoor hot tub with a 16,000 btu heat pump, like Kramer.

  2. February 28, 2006 10:45 am

    I have the same problem. It could be 70 degrees and I’m still freezing. My pediatrician addressed this when I was 17 and said that I just have poor circulation. Whatever it is, right now I’m indoors and my hands and nose are freezing.

  3. February 28, 2006 10:57 am

    I have the same problem, too. But I’ve always heard it’s circulation-related. And we’re women. Blood doesn’t flow as well outside of the core. We’re (evolutionarily, anyway) baby-making-machines.

  4. February 28, 2006 11:19 am

    So many different ways to go with this… I don’t know what to do with myself!

  5. February 28, 2006 11:19 am

    My vote: your body fat percentage is clearly too low.

    Suddenly cold is awesome!!!!!!

    No?

  6. Anonymous permalink
    February 28, 2006 11:28 am

    You should warm up on your hotness. More pictures please!!!!

  7. February 28, 2006 11:33 am

    Buy a dog.
    Wear mittens instead of gloves.
    Use Fleece blankets.
    Buy some long underwear or some pajamas with feet.

    Just don’t start setting random things on fire, it never ends well.

  8. February 28, 2006 11:33 am

    …did Kathryn just suggest that Marci fatten up?

  9. Anonymous permalink
    February 28, 2006 2:17 pm

    Try these. http://heatreliefdepot.com/catalog/default.php/cPath/160_214

    And i’m not the anonymous perv that asked for more pictures.

  10. February 28, 2006 5:01 pm

    Phil – That is exactly what I need, can you helicopter one over?

    Heather – I don’t like the sound of this poor circulation business.

    Roary – I get that my hands, feet (and ass somehow…I mean isn’t that always the case?) are cold due to biological things, but just generally chilled? I am wearing four layers!

    i-66 – Glad you took the time to think about it and play nice 🙂

    Kathryn – Hah! I think i-66 is right though, you is trying to fatten me up! I have plenty of padding, no need to start feeding me donuts and cake just yet.

    Rich – Awww, doggies are just so warm, aren’t they? I want one!

    Helpful Anon – I love those things! I kept them in my hands all throughout last year’s Cherry Blossom 10-Miler. But it never occurred to me to just carry them around for warmth’s sake. You’re a genius!

  11. February 28, 2006 7:02 pm

    BB: I think it’s called Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD). Cheer up and think spring!!

    Best regards,

    RK

  12. February 28, 2006 10:41 pm

    Me too; I’m always freezing. In fact, I’m freezing right now, and poor AUA is sweating. It’s a no win situation!

  13. March 1, 2006 8:45 am

    Plenty of padding?

    I’m not so sure about that. You’re tiny.

  14. March 1, 2006 3:06 pm

    Me too – I am always freezing. Right now I am wearing a long sleeved shirt, a blazer and my scarf, all the while sitting on a heating pad (yes, you read right) in my office. It has to be at least 70 outside before I can wear a tshirt.

    I’ve heard the same thing as Heather and others – poor circulation, small veins, low blood pressure. Although I like the suggestion that perhaps it is just too low of a body fat percentage (it might apply to you, but def. not to me)!

Leave a Reply

