Skip to content

Mini rants

February 1, 2006

~my Nano is having a love affair with Sarah McLachlan, Aerosmith and U2. There are nearly 800 songs on that puppy and yet it seeks these people out to no end! I even changed the setting to make is SUPREMELY unlikely it would play songs by the same artist in secession. WTF?

~ In the division of the sexes, why did the already childbirth-saddled females get stuck with having to wear pantyhose as well? How does that seem fair? (yes Rich, I left out the other half of that conversation on purpose!)

~What is it about having a lunch date that is so great? I love lunch dates. Maybe because I get more of them than actual boy-girl-possible-smooching dates (except for not really)?

~In support of i-66’s rant in yesterday’s comment section…What is freaking wrong with the world of sports that a #6 seed team is being favored over a #1 seed in the Superbowl? Because Pittsburgh has a long history with the Superbowl? Um, that’s dumb. It’s been a zillion years since the Steelers were in the show. I mean Terry Bradshaw was playing for them! It is because they have crazy fans mysteriously present all over the country? So! Since when does audience participation count outside of your home stadium (and even then it’s only worth a 3 point advantage on the spread). It’s dumb and I hope all those taking Pittsburgh (who aren’t true fans) lose their shirts.

~I couldn’t finish yesterday’s crossword because of this clue: “Tidy”. The answer was “Neat as a pin”, which I looked up today. Who says “neat as a pin”? Has anyone under the age of 112 ever said those words in together, as a phrase? C’mon Timothy Parker! Give us young(ish) folks a break. Don’t make me hate you more than I already do.

~ Am I the only one out there who likes the pith of the orange? I love that stuff.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2006 4:29 pm

    actually, it was during the 90’s that Dallas beat Pittsburgh in the Super Bowl (their last trip).. Neil O’Donnell was at the helm for the Steelers, and Larry Brown picked off 2 passes for Dallas, earning himself Super Bowl MVP… And subsequently a big contract to play for the Raiders the following season — and the rest of his career was a bust.

  2. February 1, 2006 4:33 pm

    I am thinking of wininng Superbowls then, yes? They have four…but all from way back when if I am not mistaken on that point.

  3. February 1, 2006 5:21 pm

    You are correct about the winning… I will forever Hate O’Donnell.

    As for being picked the favored team, I think it is because of the way that they made it to the game, beating the #1,2,and 3 seeded AFC teams.

    And as for the b-day thing, what a dumbass, he definitely should have given a present. The rest of that stuff is just additional.

  4. February 1, 2006 6:27 pm

    I gotta admin (on Grasshopper’s behalf) he usually is not the best at B’day time, KNOWING how much I love B’days and presents. I usually go till either the evening of or the next day till I get my present(s) and sometimes even a card. He makes up for it in other areas but, come on, birthdays are so special to most women, right?

  5. February 1, 2006 9:40 pm

    ps, I had to admit. I did not have an admin.

  6. Anonymous permalink
    February 2, 2006 2:22 am

    Pith, huh? I can take it or leave it. Can’t say that i’ve ever sought it out. Maybe I’m missing out.

  7. February 2, 2006 8:50 am

    My iPod too has a love affair with those same 3 artists, maybe it’s a sign of a conspiracy by Apple?

    And although the Steelers were great during the 70s, or at least so I hear, Terry was a mediocre QB, 1 TD for every 1 INT? That’s Kerry Collins like numbers.

    And actually I personally abhor the pith; when I eat an orange I not only remove every iota of pith, but then I also remove the inner membrane, so I get unadulterated, untainted fruit.

  8. February 2, 2006 10:40 am

    You guys and your footballs.

  9. February 2, 2006 10:46 am

    It’s the City Paper crossword that gets me. Why is it so freaking hard? And no, no one says neat-as-a-pin.

  10. Anonymous permalink
    February 2, 2006 11:29 am

    Ummm…I can only finish the People Magazine crossword. And here’s something else: “Hi, my name is Jen…and I can’t Sudoku.” All together now: “hiiiiii jeeeeennn.”

  11. February 2, 2006 11:32 am

    I’ve been watching an abnormal amount of The Super Bowl Shuffle.

    Is there something wrong with that?

  12. February 2, 2006 12:22 pm

    Tyler – YOu get it! The rest of the stuff IS just icing/extra/superfluous.

    Clussy – I am debating now if getting an admin for your birthday would be a good thing or not.

    Anon – I just think I am a weirdo. At least that’s what people tell me.

    Nic – That’s crazy. I wonder if it is a conspiracy. I wouldn’t put it past them. And I think you are like most people in the hating of the pith.

    Rich – Footballs, internets…taking over the world 🙂

    Roar – I’ve not done the CityP crossword. I think I am having enough trouble with WaPo. Bastards.

    Jen – Hi! But I heart Sudoku. But is it possible that I am getting worse at it?

    i-66 – Yes.

  13. February 2, 2006 12:46 pm

    hey hey… I’m not here to start no trouble.

  14. February 2, 2006 1:11 pm

    Oh god, he’s “singing”…

  15. February 2, 2006 1:34 pm

    Just as long as he’s not doing it because he’s greedy.

  16. February 2, 2006 4:36 pm

    no no, I’m doing it to feed the needy.

  17. February 3, 2006 12:08 pm

    Super Bowl Shuffle! I was born in Chicago and my mom is a die-hard Bears fan. We owned the Super Bowl Shuffle on record. Rock. :)–>

Leave a Reply

