Skip to content

Ode to Cheese Dust

January 10, 2006

Oh Cheese Dust, how I love thee, let me count the ways…

Now, as pretty much anybody who has ever seen me eat knows, I have fairly healthy eating habits. It’s a natural thing for me. I grew up eating whole, natural foods and that is what I gravitate towards today (I kinda fell off that wagon in college and put on a few, I blame the restaurant business…but I digress) . Strangers comment of my grocery cart fillings, friends and coworkers frequently have something to say on my food choices when out in public. It just ain’t no thing to me. I love healthy food. It makes me feel good. Whole, real food. I don’t eat or buy a lot of processed stuff, I order most “stuff” on the side in restaurants. I like the way real food tastes. My fridge is more stocked than my pantry, on a daily basis. All this being said, I have an affinity for stuff covered in cheese dust. I said it, I LOVE CHEESE DUST! My fingertips are orange right now from munching on cheese popcorn. I love Doritos. I like cheddar potato chips. I love those little cheese packets that come in the boxed mac-n-cheese dinners. But dusty cheese, not “liquid” cheese. I shun almost all junk food, but cover something in that cheese dust, and I am on it. Yum. Yum.

What is wrong with me?
be nice

*Ok, this wasn’t so much of an Ode as a confession and/or proclamation. Whatever. Send me some cheese dust.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2006 2:04 pm

    You would’ve liked the tin of popcorn I got from SI. One segment was caramel, one was plain, and one was cheese. That thing was huge and lasted forever…

  2. January 10, 2006 3:05 pm

    I’m sitting here enjoying some crunchy cheetos…so very very cheesy. yum.

  3. January 10, 2006 3:23 pm

    “Hi, hold the popcorn. I’ll have just the dust please.”

  4. January 10, 2006 4:53 pm

    Oh god – I used to lick those Kraft Dinner cheese packets clean after my mom finished making my lunches as a kid. If there is something wrong with you, I share the issues…

  5. January 10, 2006 5:00 pm

    OMG Cookie – I think you are the ONLY person who has not thought that to be absolutely gross! We’re cheese dust sisters!

    Velvet – Fo’ real!

    Heather – If I didn’t have my popcorn right now, I’d be coming to find you. I may love this stuff, but I hardly ever buy it. I like to mooch.

    i-66 – Ah, the popcorn trifecta. I used to get that EVERY year for Christmas from my parents until they realized I only ate the cheese portion out of the tub and the rest sat in the living room for a year!

  6. January 10, 2006 5:00 pm

    Whatever… It has more to do with your obsession with orange, I think, than anything else.

  7. January 10, 2006 6:34 pm

    ahhh… orange is such a wonderful color…

    … now that soccer season is coming around I think it may be time for another pair of orange cleats. Not that I’m dedicated or anything.

  8. January 11, 2006 12:00 pm

    Don’t forget your baked cheetos.

  9. January 11, 2006 5:12 pm

    I’ve not had the pleasure of baked cheetoes, I may have to investigate!

Leave a Reply

