Skip to content

…orange you glad I didn’t say banana again?

December 13, 2005


The Clementine Cocktail
2 parts Grey Goose L’Orange
1/2 clemntine, peeled and sectioned
1/2 part triple sec (I totally typed “triple sex”, three times)
1/2 teaspoon sugar
1 mint leaf
2 clementine sections for garnish

In the bottom of a cocktail shaker, place sugar, 1 mint leaf and clemntine sections and muddle thoroughly. Add ice, vodka, triple sex sec. Shake vigorously. Strain into cocktail glasses. Spear (heh, spear) the remaining clementines on a toothpick and set inside the glass.

OR

The Blood Orange Sparkler
2 parts Grey Goose L’Orange
1/2 part sweet vermouth
4 sections blood oranges, diced
1/2 teaspoon sugar
5 parts seltzer
In the bottom of a large cocktail glass, muddle oranges and sugar. Add ice, vodka and vermouth and stir well (or use a shaker and shake well). Add seltzer and drink heavily.
Yum!

*And what’s my issue that I feel guilty about taking the vodka? We made a bet. I won. He paid up. That’s how bets go. But my horrendous guilt complex makes that feel weird somehow. This goes hand in hand with me not being able to take compliments well, but I am working on that one. Oh damn, I hope I don’t sound cocky. Damn, another thing to worry about. Why can’t I be normal? Bah.

**Why is it that Safeway hates single people? Case in point: The 2 for 1 clementine special. There is no possible way that one person can comfortably eat two entire boxes of clementines before they go bad. But if I buy only one box, the price is ridiculously expensive. $8, for 15 or so tiny fruits? Robbery! So eight bucks for 30 makes more sense, but who can eat 30 clementines in less than a week (those suckers go bad fast)? So please Safeway, just discount the one box so I can enjoy these easy-to-peel citrus yummies. I love orange and all of it’s likenesses. Poor, non-wasteful, single people want clementines too!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2005 1:15 pm

    ((licking laptop monitor and whispering sweet nothings to L’Orange))

    Why so much work into making these drinks though? I say put it in shaker, throw in a lil bit of juice and garnish with your mouth. presto! Drink-me-tini!

  2. December 13, 2005 1:51 pm

    Wow. Look what I’ve gone and started. Good thing I didn’t hand over the small bottle…

  3. December 13, 2005 4:10 pm

    Safeway also hates skinny people, or at least people aspiring to be skinny. Case in point: Buy 1 Get 1 Free Breyer’s Ice Cream.

    And I too, often type on IM ‘back in a sex’. Frustrated subconscious.

  4. December 13, 2005 4:16 pm

    Sounds like Cluss is on a mission, this is what weekend-only drinking does to you!

    i-66 – I would have laughed SO hard because that is exactly what I would have done…

    Nicole – Can you imagine would it would be like if you could pour sex into a martini? Wow.

    Stupid Safeway, loving the fat, coupled up, wasteful and metabolic-freaks of the world!

  5. December 13, 2005 7:48 pm

    Yeah, totally fell for that two for one ice cream thing. Now I don’t fit in me pants. I should sue! They are forcing me to eat more than I otherwise would, simply trying to avoid being wasteful!!
    I want vodka. Vodka, vodka, vodka!!!!

  6. December 13, 2005 8:55 pm

    Mmm…those both sound good. I like citrus-y drinks.

    Speaking of vodka, I have a bottle of Grey Goose (just the plain stuff, though) that DcLc gave me and I haven’t figured out what drinks to make with it yet- they must be perfect! I don’t want to waste the stuff!

  7. December 14, 2005 9:02 am

    You wouldn’t believe it, but I got the buy one get one of them and our house hold, I know 8 of us, but they were gone in two days, that’s crazy!!!! TWO days!!!

    You can always donate your get one frees to my household 😉

  8. December 14, 2005 9:05 am

    Oh and I think I would like those yummy drinks with “sex” or “Sec”, whateva……I love anything with orange flavors!! Hook a sista up!

  9. December 14, 2005 9:52 am

    DCSC – The Grey Goose site actually has really fab drink recipes…that’s where I found these two!

    Buggie and Harms, come on over! I have plenty 🙂

  10. December 14, 2005 2:17 pm

    It would hard to eat that many… but, if they are going in drinks….well, they may go a little faster – at least at my house they would!

  11. December 14, 2005 5:01 pm

    Right? That’s what I’m saying!

    Lest not be wasteful when one can drink the would-be garbage?
    ??

  12. February 21, 2006 7:03 am

    This post has been removed by a blog administrator.

  13. Anonymous permalink
    July 20, 2006 1:58 am

    Good design!
    [url=http://ouzhxscc.com/hxko/fqfk.html]My homepage[/url] | [url=http://caezdftw.com/rupf/fkzb.html]Cool site[/url]

  14. Anonymous permalink
    July 20, 2006 1:58 am

    Good design!
    My homepage | Please visit

Leave a Reply

