Skip to content

TWO HOURS

December 5, 2005

Two (surprisingly quick) hours. And 44 seconds.

That’s how long it took me to finish the half marathon on Saturday (race course here). I had hoped for sub two (literally 1 hour, 59 minutes) so I can’t complain that I missed that mark by a mere 45 seconds. It always surprises me how quick these long runs can go by. I mean, two hours is a long time and two hours of fairly strenuous activity would seem like forever, but in reality it’s not that bad. It wasn’t until mile 12 that I wanted to stop. I mean, I really wanted it to be done and ov-ah. It was all mile 11’s fault. Oh speedy mile 11. I ran mile 11 in 8:33. MUCH faster than the average 9:15 pace I’d been doing for the rest of the race. I think the hills evened out and I felt close to the finish so I stepped it up a bit. Too big a step in hindsight, because mile 12 was soooo long and god how I wanted to stop. And knowing there would be no more cheerleading* until the finish depressed me a little. I don’t think the pace for mile 12 was super slow in reality, but it was definitely off pace and definitely a mind kill. But I finished, 9 minutes faster than I did last year, feeling like I had left all I had on the course…which is a big step for me as I have a tendency to hold back on my runs (races, trainings runs and the like).

So I guess it’s time to set my sights on the next race. I’m a little excited because I spent so much time being injured and recovering this past year that I couldn’t really plan for any races for fear of reinjury. Now I am healthy and I’ve built myself a good base over this summer. I think I see a marathon in my future…but I really want to run one in under four hours and I’ll need some serious training to see if that’s even possible. Based on my half mary time, race calculators predict my marathon time to be around 4:16. I’d have to take 8 minutes off my half marathon time in order to realistically expect a sub 4 marathon. Hill repeats and tempo workouts may become my new best friend.

*Cheer·lead·er (n.) An enthusiastic and vocal supporter. AKA. My friend Rachel who, despite her doctorate program mid-terms, freezing temperatures, and a 9:30am start time, came out and followed my ass on the race course yelling and clapping and handing me much needed cups of water. She then accompanied me on the best part of race day: breakfast afterwards. We headed to the Silver Diner where I had caramel french toast with fresh strawberries and cinnamon sour cream, 3 cups of coffee, orange juice, scrambled eggs and chicken sausage.

Yum.

Cheerleader Rachel Rocks!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. December 5, 2005 11:09 am

    Well, that’s pretty good, I guess. Still, would have been super cool if you could have done it in under two. (Just teasing, you know I think that that’s amazing!)

    Can we see the route you did on one of those google run maps? Post us a link!

  2. December 5, 2005 11:13 am

    also, Rachel looks VERY pale in that picture. She needs to hit the tanning beds. (and why does her skirt say “brick” ?)

  3. December 5, 2005 11:57 am

    Brick stands for “Brick House”, since she is one. And I just rendered her paler than me so I’d feel better about myself.

    Oh, and I edited to include the race course link. But I think you’re the only one who will care 🙂

  4. December 5, 2005 12:09 pm

    you wanted to stop at mile 12?? Umm I would’ve died at mile 5 or somewhere near there. Good job!

  5. December 5, 2005 12:31 pm

    Niiiice. I ran indoor and outdoor track and field most of high school and 1 season of cross country… but to this day I haven’t felt compelled to run for long stretches of time – though I do wonder how far I run during an average soccer game. Kudos to you.

    semi-related aside: how was the service at the Diner? Some years ago it used to be our hangout (the one in Tysons anyway) but since, oh I dunno, the turn of the century, the quality of service seems to have slipped.

    …or maybe it hasn’t and I never really noticed it as a teenager…

  6. December 5, 2005 1:30 pm

    Congrats – you must have felt like Koren Robinson out there! (And I mean the 80-yard TD bomb catching Minnesota version of K.R., not the half-drunk & ball-dropping Seattle version.)

  7. December 5, 2005 1:58 pm

    Congrats!

    And I so heart Silver Diner.

    Like HB – I would have wanted to stop after 5 or so 🙂

  8. December 5, 2005 3:38 pm

    That AND you made it to blog happy hour shortly before the race. Bionic women can do both 😉

  9. December 5, 2005 5:07 pm

    Thanks for the congrats all! I feel really good about the race.

    Heather and Sharkie – You couldn’t have died. It was just too cold, seriously the thought of stopping (no matter how lovely) just made you shiver all the more.

    Travis – Maybe if KR had run 23,056 yards instead of just 80. But 80 yard bombs are gonna be Johnson’s new signature. I am ok with that.

    Cookie – The lesson here is the boozing it up the week before a race AIDS in performance, right?

  10. December 5, 2005 5:10 pm

    Wow Mish, very stellar time there (IMHO)! Good for you for maintaining such discipline and motivation!

    If I rub your calves, and wish for a better time per mile, would I gain some running luck?

  11. December 5, 2005 5:31 pm

    It’s hard, but Clussy I am going to try and not focus on the rubbing my calves portion of your comment…mmmm massage. But I think it would work, as long as you close your eyes and whisper *there’s no place like the finish line, there’s no place like the finish line*

    Oh and i-66, the service at SD was great (this is in Clarendon) I got coffee when I wanted coffee, my french toast was hot, and I did not have to wait for the check when I was ready to go. No complaints.

  12. December 6, 2005 11:35 am

    you know… I believe you and I are having at it it in Fantasy Football. Ahem.

  13. Anonymous permalink
    December 8, 2005 5:13 pm

    I am not paler than M 😉

    -rachel

  14. December 8, 2005 6:19 pm

    so proud of you!!

  15. December 9, 2005 11:29 am

    No Rach, you are definitely NOT paler than ME!

    Thanks Buggie 🙂

Leave a Reply

