Skip to content

To booze or to run, that is the question

November 29, 2005

So, there is this half marathon on Saturday. Running it would mark the 1 year anniversary of the longest distance I’ve ever ran at one time. It was my first *long* race and I worked all of last fall ~through injury, heat and cold~ to be able to finish it. So I’d really like to run it again this year. For the sentimentality and to see how much better I can do. Problem is, I forgot about it. Or at least my brain put it at a later date than it actually is. It IS this Saturday. And, aside from last week, I’ve had a few solid weeks of pretty lackadaisical training (12 hour work days and a week long business trip are not conducive to 30 mile weeks, not to mention speed training). So when I found out realized, that the race was a mere 10 days away I threw down the gauntlet wine glass and had a pretty good week of training even with the gluttonous holiday. So why must I be tempted to stray from a very important pre-race week?

I mean FIVE happy hour invitations in one week? All before Saturday? That ain’t right people. I mean c’mon! This girl likes her wine and vodka. A lot And I hate to miss out. I hate it when I know my friends are out gallivanting, giggling, gorging and gurgling (aka imbibing, couldn’t think of a “g” work for boozing on the fly) without me. Someone suggested that I come out and “watch”. *GASP* Watch? Watch others partake and sip on the glorious beverage that is vodka? I may have the will to run 13 miles, but not to stay dry while others get slipsloshy wet. Can’t everyone postpone? I’ll be MORE than happy to booze it up come Saturday evening. And for every day after…anyone? Anyone?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2005 3:52 pm

    If you come out on Friday, I’ll buy you a Grey Goose + Vodka – Vodka. K?

  2. November 29, 2005 3:59 pm

    I think I went out 2 nights before the Army 10-miler and got shit-canned. Oops…

  3. November 29, 2005 4:36 pm

    G words
    Glutton-ing
    Grey-goose-and-vodkaing
    Grandpa’s-cough-medicining

    Your poor liver, I think you should definitely stay in and have as little fun as possible for the next week! I mean, it’s December after all!

  4. Anonymous permalink
    November 29, 2005 5:38 pm

    December is a complete and utter forget-the-rules month. It’s the holidays for chrissake! Though, doing a 180 — good for you if you do the half marathon. Rah!

    Jen

  5. November 30, 2005 7:54 am

    I’m down with the drinking pretty much anytime… but you GOTTA come to happy hour tonight. I MOVED yesterday and I’ll be there.

  6. November 30, 2005 9:22 am

    Marci, there comes a time in every girl’s life where she’s gotta make a choice. You can’t just spend the rest of your life running marathons and training in the gym like you’re still a kid.

    At some point you have to get committed, get up onto that barstool no matter how high up it seems, and get yourself embarassingly sloshed.

    Jesus. Kids these days. You probably don’t even smoke . . . tsk.

  7. November 30, 2005 10:21 am

    Cluss, dinner is a definite. Although I will (tear) abstain from the alchyhol.

    And Cookie, mad props for pre-race sloshiness. I don’t think I am as conditioned as you 😉

    HH attendance update coming in just a minute….

    AUA, why do I feel suddenly ashamed to admit that I don’t smoke.

  8. November 30, 2005 10:34 am

    Dear Marci,

    Please don’t make me be the only Vikings fan there.

    Signed your pal Travis

    p.s. Please bring pie.

  9. December 3, 2005 11:59 am

    I hope the run went well for you.

Leave a Reply

