Skip to content

My two front teeth Part Deux

November 16, 2005

Third and most important dental appointment in the ongoing drama that are my front teeth was this morning–got the permanent veneers cemented in place. Woo! Oh and also had a little more gum recontouring to even out the adjacent teeth so they wouldn’t look so small…and ow. My gums are all tore up! Red, cut-up and swollen. But wow, whodathunk that porcelain could look so much like a real tooth. I mean they picked up to coloring of my teeth so perfectly and the shape is so much more natural than the horse-faced plastic temporaries that made me cry. So I am happy with them (and I damn well should be with what they cost)…pictures to come later. Like, after my gums stop throbbing.

Oh and more good news, because I am sure you were all wondering. I won BOTH fantasy games last weekend. I love kicking football ass! Even though both games were won with a slim margin, it was doubly sweet because I played the league leader in one and my co-leader in the other. Fantasy domination is what you’re looking at folks. That sounds dirty. I like it.

Oh and one more thing. I know it sucked not having hockey for a year, but with what came out of the CBA because of the lock-out it seems almost worth it. Because, for the first-time ever, I saw a real, live NHL shoot out last night at the MCI Center. And it was freakin’ awesome. The Caps were playing the Lightening and in good Capitol fashion got themselves into an early deficit. It was 2-0 late in the 2nd period with practically even shots on goal. But poor Johnson could not get any defensive help at all. I mean it was sad, it was like watching the minors or junior hockey. But Muir was able to score on a power play. Then there was Ovechkin, to which the entire line always deferred every time he was on the ice. But he came through late in the third to tie it up. Johnson made a couple of good saves to force the OT period. No score there, soooooo it was shoot out time. They send LeCavalier and he is stopped effortlessly, we send Ovechkin and he gets the goal with a backhanded shot (it was pretty)…two more saves to seal the deal and the Caps win in a shoot out 3-2. Beauty.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2005 9:48 pm

    You were at the game last night? Fred was there; I was supposed to go but had a meeting. I watched it on TV though. He couldn’t stop gushing over Ovechkin’s third period goal; wish I could have seen that live. What a great game!

  2. November 17, 2005 10:41 am

    Yeah! Totally went to Monday night’s game. Ovechkin really is amazing. I saw him with the puck, mid-ice and under pressure, make a move on his man (did I mention this was mid-ice), AND still take a shot on goal — with no help. He’s gonna need some support or the Caps are going to kill his spirit not to mention his talent.

  3. November 17, 2005 10:42 am

    Oh, and thanks to Buggie for the tickets!

  4. November 17, 2005 2:28 pm

    Yay, teeth.

    You should start a “Fantasy Domination Hotline” and charge people $3.99 for the first minute and $1.05 for each additional minute. Just don’t call it “Marci’s Playground” you could have in copyright troubles.

  5. November 17, 2005 3:54 pm

    OOh! Excellent idea Rich! How about Fort Marci? Does the military care about copyright infringement? And I’ll tell them no refunds right up front so when people call for phone sex, I’ll give them fantasy football info. And when the dweebs call looking for fantasy sports info (cuz you know they would), I’ll get all breathy on them and ask them what they are wearing…or maybe argue with them over Manning’s inconsequential fantasy numbers this year. I mean, I am trying to make money right?

  6. November 17, 2005 5:21 pm

    I dunno, Sparkle wins some weeks solely based on Manning’s numbers. I don’t know how she does it.

  7. November 17, 2005 6:00 pm

    [invoking Jerry Seinfeld’s “Newman” whisper]

    Ahhhh, Sparkle!

Leave a Reply

