Skip to content

wrap-up

November 15, 2005

This weekend was a crazy blur of airports, sleep, baking, friends and fixing. Got in from Chicago laaaaaaaaaaate on Thursday. Late because we missed our flight due to extreme traffic going out to O’Hare. But there is nothing like a long, white, cheesy-ass limo to make the ride bearable right? Funny, remember when you were little and assumed inside every limousine there were famous/rich people? Yeah, not so much… Although during the long ride to the airport, a co-worker confided that in a previous job she used to have a limo pick her up to and from the airport for business travel all the time. This, in it of itself is not significant–the best part is that she would have the driver pick her dog up from the kennel BEFORE he picked her up at the airport. So that, for a period of time, there was just this tiny toy poodle riding around in a limo. I don’t know if I was tired and punchy, but I found that story extremely funny.

I slept most of the day on Friday recovering from a very long conference. Around 9pm I perked up enough to shower and don a formal dress to go join Buggie out at the Ritz. Her re-cap pretty much says it all…pheh

Saturday was spent in a mad rush to bake two birthday cakes for two very special little girls. Although, not so little anymore. My favorite twins in the world had their 11th birthday party Saturday night and I was on cake duty, just like old times. I had called them days before to get the scoop on what they wanted — I really wanted it to be special. Talking to Ty on the phone went like this (note, she’s not rude…just suffering from strep and also 11 years old):

Me: What kind birthday cake do you want? I’ll make anything!
Ty: I don’t like cake.
Me: Well, you need a birthday cake, right? Any flavor…you name it!
Ty: I like cheesecake.
Me: Well, hmmm…cheesecake….
Ty:
Me: I’ve never made cheesecake before.
Ty: You can Goggle it.
Me: Oh, right! I can find the recipe, but I don’t think I have the right kind of pan to make a cheesecake.
Ty: Well, can you make a chocolate chip cookie dough cake?
Me: Is that a cake?
Ty: I dunno, Google it.
Me: I could make a chocolate chip COOKIE cake…so it’s just a big cookie!
Ty: Sure.

So I made her a giant chocolate chip cookie w/o frosting (because she doesn’t like frosting, only whipped cream). Instead of “frosting”, I melted chocolate chips and made a cream cheese/whipped cream topping to decorate the thing. The other cake was bit more elaborate, but I felt bad because the only direction Tricia had given me was “chocolate”.

It was during the baking time that I realized that my garbage disposal wasn’t working, like not even humming a bit. Damn, and I had just poured my attempt at breakfast down the freaking drain (sour milk and Kashi just wasn’t going to do it for me) and so now it’s just gonna sit there…super. But at the birthday party that night, I was lamenting over how my kitchen was all stanky and boy was I dumb to not even smell the milk before I poured it over my cereal, especially considering I’d been gone for a week when Clussy mentions that an allen wrench applied to a hole in the bottom of the machine will fix my troubles. Wow! Complaining gets things done!

And on Sunday there was an AMAZING breakfast of pumpkin spice waffles prepared by Buggie and hosted by Jen. Fruit, waffles, coffee and friends? How could a Sunday morning get any better?

Oh, and I just got an email from my client with more pictures from their party where a donned the pink shirt and danced like a fool. Wanna see?

This is me trying to wail with the co-worker formerly knwon as D-Mac,
currently known as A.G. (for Air Guitar)

This is me looking maybe a bit too happy to be dancing with one of our sponsors, no seriously…I AM dancing with someone. I…I just cut him out. Really, I did!

This is a lot of pink, a lot of drunk and a lot of sweat.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2005 1:31 pm

    !!!
    Look at that absolutely adorable smile!

  2. November 15, 2005 1:36 pm

    I get the REAL ones tomorrow, so I’ll find a way to post of pic sometime this week!

  3. November 15, 2005 2:21 pm

    You look great and thanks again for the cakes.

  4. November 15, 2005 2:38 pm

    You’ve got quite the baking talent. I’ll take yellow cupcakes with choclate frosting please, thank you, good night.

  5. November 15, 2005 3:42 pm

    You make some damned good looking cakes!! Impressive 😀

  6. Anonymous permalink
    November 15, 2005 4:32 pm

    Holy crap those cakes are nice. Seriously. That’s what you should do with your life…

    Jen

  7. November 15, 2005 5:50 pm

    You go, dancin’ and bakin’ machine!

  8. November 15, 2005 11:57 pm

    My word…she’s found her smile again.

    Awesome.

  9. November 16, 2005 9:13 am

    Jen, that’s what I told her, if I get a chance this weekend I will scan in some of the other amazing ones she has done!!! They are all amazing

  10. November 16, 2005 3:36 pm

    Harms I think my faves are the 1st birthday cakes….they were all sweet and super frilly. Nothing we could get a way with now!

    i-66, I have been known to take requests…so just keep that in mind 😉

  11. November 17, 2005 1:39 pm

    My beer cake was the best of ALL!!

  12. Anonymous permalink
    September 1, 2006 7:23 pm

    Well done!
    [url=http://vluwgnwv.com/gjyj/mxpq.html]My homepage[/url] | [url=http://kaywexcq.com/ezxl/dzuk.html]Cool site[/url]

  13. Anonymous permalink
    September 1, 2006 7:23 pm

    Thank you!
    My homepage | Please visit

Leave a Reply

