Skip to content

Three and Oh. Oh whoa is me.

October 3, 2005

I don’t hate the Redskins. I hate Redskin press. And the throngs of unrealistic fans. I haven’t read the sports page yet today, so maybe this is premature, but I SERIOUSLY doubt it. I just imagine all the columnists are crowning Brunell the Prince of Passers and perhaps have slated him to run for mayor as I type. Let’s keep it real here folks. There were two touchdown passes two weeks ago, and two yesterday. I don’t think Brunell sucks, in fact I think he is a big reason they won. His scramble up the middle for that first down in OT to keep the drive alive was key. Definite good read of the defense and not forcing the ball into double coverage. But a head first slide? What are you thinking? You had the first down by 9 yards, and now that you’ve had your job back for 2+ games, you are going to risk injury–for and extra few yards that don’t even put you in scoring range? Dumb.

No turnovers, minimal penalties and 3rd down conversions is what won this game. A solid team effort, but I am still not convinced it came from a solid team. I think the undefeated record is misleading. I wouldn’t put the Skins in the same class as Philly or the Bengals (god, can you believe that I am saying that…the Bengals!?) but they have potential. Maybe score on some of those clock-eating drives instead of pissing it all away, I mean time of possession 26:09 to Washington’s 39:22? That’s huge! So how do you explain such a tight score? How do you explain lack of defense in the 4th quarter when they should have felt fresh? I’m not bashin’, I’m just sayin’…

My Total Football Domination Update:
It’s all but won for BabyBananas in Week 4 of Fantasy Blogball. Solid
performances tonight by Steve Smith and Delhomme will put me at 2-1-1. I’ll either stay at 2nd or move into 1st overall since I am currently leading in total points (but that may change after tonight’s game–we’ll see how big Carolina goes).

In League of the Inane, I am leading as well BUT my undefeated status may disappear after tonight. Again Steve Smith could pull out a W for me, but he’s got to have a game like he did last week for that to happen. Not saying it’s not possible, but it’s Green Bay on Monday night football. Yes, they are currently sucking all kinds of suck (big yay!). But Favre has a thing about Monday nights, and god forbid someone he knows suffers some sort of major calamity pre-game because then all bets are off — and one should get thee to a sports book fast (GB is currently listed at +7.5) .

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2005 1:04 pm

    Would you please just let us dream, for a little while longer.

  2. October 3, 2005 1:41 pm

    You know my thoughts on the Redskins love fest. Can’t wait till they play some real teams and reality sets in…

  3. October 3, 2005 3:45 pm

    better 3-0 than 1-3.

    (cough)

  4. October 3, 2005 4:13 pm

    i-66, Touche. Benefit of being a transplant though is that I am not force-fed all the crappiness.

    But I think you’re just bitter about another impending fantasy football loss.

  5. October 3, 2005 6:24 pm

    Congies on the League. Nice going BabyB!

  6. October 3, 2005 6:24 pm

    Good break down of the game. The Skins have been fortunate all season. But, its nice to see that they are winning.

    Any tips on who to bet on next weekend?

    DcLc

  7. October 3, 2005 8:33 pm

    Gawd is football ever boring. All I just read was blahblahblooblippityBengalsbloopittySkinsblahblehblahbloo.

    Go Vikings!

  8. October 4, 2005 9:58 am

    I know you don’t appreciate the best sport in America Bug, but I also know that you hate this area’s sports writers as much as I do!

    And ask i-66 how much he likes those Vikings…

  9. October 4, 2005 10:49 am

    Go ‘9’ers?

    Egad, I just saw thier stats. Damn… It’s not as fun rooting for a losing team.

    *sigh*

  10. October 4, 2005 10:55 am

    Cluss, but the one game they have won was awesome. They should still be feeling good from that one!

  11. October 4, 2005 8:22 pm

    totally hate them, yet couldn’t get passed all the football stuff to read how good the entry was.
    Soory!

  12. October 5, 2005 8:17 am

    damn Daunte and his knee… my rise from the ashes is near.

  13. Anonymous permalink
    November 4, 2005 7:50 am

    I love your cincinnati bengals authentic jersey blog! Check out my cincinnati bengals authentic jersey forum for lots of great cincinnati bengals authentic jersey info.

Leave a Reply

