Skip to content

A monumental run

September 28, 2005

It’s close to “that time” at work again. That time when I feel I am getting away with something if I leave the office before 8pm. Conferences are nothing if not time consuming. So, last night, it’s 6pm and I am still bogged down with work. It’s still early in my opinion, BUT I hadn’t run that morning (see my complaints about being lazy in yesterday’s post) so I was planning on doing it after work. Not wanting to run in the dark, I was doing my damnedest to get out of there as soon as I could. I could see the light fading fast through the window across the hall. Finally, close to 7pm (shit! I am losing light fast!), I am out the door and to the gym to change into the running gear.

As I step outside in my running shoes, I briefly think that I should maybe cut the run short and take a different route other than the planned 5 miler. Then I remember the cookies and the candy I’ve shoved in my face (again, see yesterday’s post). So, my feet speed up and I silently curse myself for not getting out earlier. It’s chilly and there is no way I’ll get off the Mall before the sun goes down. I make a left turn for a street closure, then a right and lo, look at that, I am going to make the light at Constitution. As I jog across the street and gaze to my left, I see a most gorgeous sight (which is not even close to being fully represented by this photo, but hey, it’s all I could find):

The Washington Monument looked translucent–almost as if the lights were emanating from within–and the sky was the most perfect, most calming shade of blue tinged with grey. It really was an amazing sight. All of a sudden it wasn’t chilly I had a spring in my gait, I barely noticed the other runners I was passing (weird because I love passing other runners and ALWAYS take notice 🙂 . I take a right and a left and a little cut through the park and I am on the Mall with the capitol building in front of me. This picture I found is very close to what I saw:


If there is one thing that I absolutely love about this area, it’s the monuments and the marble and they way they light it up at night. So I run towards our nation’s capitol building it as if it’s some sort of Mecca and make my turn around at the steps thinking my view can’t get any better, that I am done. Now, facing due west, staring straight at the Washington Monument, the sky is absolute perfection. The setting sun has cast the juiciest orange glow on the horizon. It looks like a drinkable cushion for the clear, darkening blue sky to sit upon. The sight made me salivate. The sky was so saturated and so crystal clear, that had I seen it in a photo I would have thought it to be doctored or enhanced somehow. The last mile of my run was in the darkness, exactly why I didn’t want to go out as late as I did. But, had I gone earlier as planned, I would have missed it all — and I am so glad that I didn’t.

Does it still count as pilfering if I list the websites where I borrowed these pictures from?
www.fotosearch.com
www.photodc.com

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2005 1:56 pm

    So pretty! I’d love to have access to the city on a daily basis (sans traffic and insanity of it because I am most certainly not a city girl) to be able to run past all the monuments. Ahhh… I ran yesterday but it was a short run and was just on bike trail here in Herndon, nothing partic’ special to see.

    Such discipline.

  2. September 28, 2005 2:11 pm

    Running in the morning is only for crazy people and Chuck Norris anyways…

  3. Anonymous permalink
    September 28, 2005 3:43 pm

    Yes, I was running the mall at about the same time last night. It was quite incredible. Too bad its getting dark so early at this point.

  4. October 2, 2005 9:35 pm

    I really miss that about that city. I liked that the monuments Jefferson and Lincoln, were always open and I could go to them at like 2am when no one else was there and just ‘chill’ as the kids say.

    Jefferson was always my favorite, can you not park there anymore?

  5. October 3, 2005 12:01 am

    I applaud you for running. I prefere a leisurely drive while sipping cool beverages. Next time I will make a trip to DC to check out the sights.

    DcLc

Leave a Reply

