Skip to content

Who’s caffeinated, who? who?

September 2, 2005

For those of you who don’t know me, I have a confession. I cannot make a decent cup of coffee to save my life. I can bake, I can cook, I can ride a bike. But I cannot make good coffee. I don’t know what it is. Perhaps it’s impatience? laziness? I don’t know, it’s been a mystery to me for quite some time and I have resigned myself to drinking the drip coffee we have in the office or going out for expensive, foamless lattes at convenient little coffee shops (foamless unless I am at Murky Coffee in Arlington, where one can find an espresso beverage topped with the tastiest foam in the area). That is, until now. A very generous person has sent to me (as a belated birthday gift), one of the very best inventions known to mankind. It is the Gevalia Kaffe Pod Brewer. You get little single-serve packets of coffee wrapped in their own little filters to place in a cute little compartment in a Kaffe-For-One-Brewer. Press a button and *viola*, coffee! Good coffee. Good coffee that I can make all on my own. For real, I am not lying. God bless the inventors for thinking of me and people like me, that are somehow inept when it comes to a recipe of coffee grounds+water. God bless the person who thought to give it to me. You are too generous and I should not accept your gift except that it landed on my door step and I opened it and squealed with delight and now I have used it to caffeinate myself this very morning. So I seriously doubt I could get a way with repacking a used coffee maker and an box of Kaffe Pods that just happens to be missing one or two packets, then sending it back to the manufacturer and being confident that the gift giver would be fully refunded. So instead, I thank you.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2005 12:17 pm

    Awwww, good. I’m glad you got it. Yeah, I knew you needed one and when I saw it, it just rang that familiar bell of ‘Perfect’!

    You’re quite welcome my Love.

    whoa, zzgoohup?

  2. September 2, 2005 3:00 pm

    I should clear up that I was kidding. The person who did send you this enabling present will be very proud that they got you the puurrrfect pres though.

    Time for Fri afternoon cafe.

  3. September 2, 2005 9:21 pm

    Wait, is this another mystery gift from someone unknown? Because you should run away! Run away!
    Yes, I am posting this at 9 pm on a Friday night. Because I’m visiting my parents. In Jacksonville. Now that my innocence has been all deflowered and such, I have nowhere to go and be depraved!

  4. September 6, 2005 6:12 pm

    No no Megan, not a mystery gift. I know who it’s from. Aw, and the depravity will come when you leave the country. You always have to leave the country first, either that or go to Vegas — which ever is cheaper 🙂

Leave a Reply

