Skip to content

What’s in a name?

August 29, 2005

Free polls from Pollhost.com
Who has the funniest name in the MLB
Albert Pujols of the Cardinals Coco Crisp of the Indians Milton Bradely of the Dogers Tim Spooneybarger of the Marlins

12 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2005 5:24 pm

    You’re telling me that Mr. Spooneybarger is not the most ridiculous name? Coco Crisp is a nickname though, right?

  2. August 29, 2005 5:50 pm

    Pujols makes me laugh with the delight of an 8 year old child. Coco Crisp’s given name is Covelli, BUT he is announced as Coco Crisp… his stats are in Coco Crisp…he is reported on as Coco Crisp — no one calls him by his real first name.

  3. August 29, 2005 9:37 pm

    Least you could do was give us the freakin ability to view it. PSAH!

    (word verification: ggneb)

  4. August 30, 2005 9:28 am

    You haven’t seen high comedy until you’ve seen a group of little league players giggling their heads off after one of them says Pujols while emphasizing both syllables. Albert wins hands down – this poll is merely a contest for second place.

  5. August 30, 2005 9:35 am

    Sorry Martin, it won’t give me code to post results. But no way…after 9 votes, Spooneybarger is winning with 4…Pujols is behind him with 3 and Coco Crisp has got 2.

    I am with Travis. I think Pujols is the absolute funniest name I think I have ever heard. And that is just how I had to say it in order for someone to “get it” — with specific emphasis on both syllables, as if I were Britney Spears. Say it with me…Pooh Holes.

  6. August 30, 2005 10:07 am

    OHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHhh, can I change my vote then? Shit, I didn’t know his background so didn’t know he did the j=h thingy.

    HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    ouch, it hurts.

  7. August 30, 2005 12:19 pm

    I posted this on Bug’s page… but looky here at his espn.com player profile and the phonetic pronounciation. Someone at ESPN is laughing deviously.

  8. August 30, 2005 1:36 pm

    Oh, HA! That ain’t right. It just ain’t right…

  9. August 30, 2005 5:32 pm

    UPDATE: Pujols has pulled ahead, leading Spooneybarger 5 to 4.

    *perhaps this has to do with the realization that his name is referencing a balloon knot.

  10. August 30, 2005 7:15 pm

    I always got a kick out of Milton Bradley…guess I’m in the minority on that one.

  11. coco permalink
    August 31, 2005 10:23 am

    Quit belittling me!

  12. August 31, 2005 6:59 pm

    Ha! Coco, it’s a’ight. I totally loved you when I was a kid! But now you’re too sweet for me and I can’t take it. I need a bad boy cereal…er…baseball player.

Leave a Reply

