Skip to content

Hey look! It’s another long birthday post. Deal people, just deal.

August 22, 2005

So much birthday love. Seriously, so much love.

Also, I am getting older. I mean you can tell by my age, but generally I don’t feel old, so the age thing is relative (I feel 12, I am 32…let’s meet in the middle…what is that…22? Eh, age smage.). But after staying out on Thursday night and having a fabulous time, my plans for Friday were pretty much reduced to trying to stay awake at work and then curling up on my couch later that evening–with intermittent bouts of cleaning. I am now officially too old to handle three drink-fests in a row (plus a job). It’s not happening. Period. My partner in age could not hang either, except she was smart and slept Friday night, I was dumb and cleaned things I didn’t even know could be cleaned. Friday was supposed to be a booze run and cocktail creation/taste testing with Buggie. I wanted to come up with a special “Marci-tini” for Saturday’s game night, and I figured Saturday afternoon would be chockfull of exercise, errands and last minute cleaning sprees (since this was the FIRST TIME since the move that I would have more than 3 people over to my pad who weren’t all related to me so there was never going to be enough cleaning — should I also mention that I moved in over a year and a half ago? No? Ok, never mind that part folks). Anyway, there was no taste-testing on Friday. The liver was protesting too vehemently.

So Saturday started with a long run to get the juices flowing and a nice caloric burn to even out the inevitable ‘tini damage and party food calories. Then to the grocery store for said party food. Home. Clean. Shower. Clean. Cut veggies n fruit and make 7-layer dip. Clean again. Ugh (is this punishment for letting my place go so completely UNCLEANED for two months?). Ok, Bug…need you, it’s vodka time. We head to ABC with coffees in hand. Apparently coffee + liquor store = Foul-mouthed, cursing Bug. Ha! Shit! Oops. With assorted vodkas, supporting characters (hello Peach Schnapps?), and plenty of ice we head back to my place. We felt so creative and completely inspired by the absolutely tasty things being poured from our own little hands that two ‘tinis were created. Marci-tini and Bug-tini. Damn.they.were.good. You’d think we were bartenders or something. Oh wait. We were bartenders. We are awesome.

Bug, should I post the recipes? Or are they now Ancient Chinese Secret?

Booty from Saturday; Ultimat Vodka from little brother, mini red velvet cupcakes with cream-cheese frosting (ala Buggie, who knows that ever since her b-day, red velvet is my new fave!), a special present from Buggie that I’ll talk about later, sweet potato chips (that I am sure were supposed to be for the party people, but I never opened the bag, so oops!), oh and there was loot from Thursday too….a pedicure set from Meg (and Seth?), and Indian’s tee-shirt from Jen (when I wear it I will hope they lose!), Phillies knee-high socks (Bug says that Pat the Bat actually wore them and I may be gullible enough to believe her), and the aforementioned Starbuck’s card (always a winner).

Oh wait, there is more! Went to the parent’s house on Sunday… got treated to a shopping trip at Lowes which will eventually result in a BRAND-NEW BEDROOM CLOSET FOR ME! Wooo, cubbies for handbags and shoes and everything my little self would want to shove in a closet! Yay! Also got a fab meal cooked for me – spinach and (turkey) ham stuffed chicken w/ organic pasta salad on the side. And the absolute yummiest cake my mommy has ever made for me. Chocolate cake with orange zest…chocolate frosting…topped with…

…chocolate ganache. Home-friggin-made chocolate ganache. Do you realize I have had cake everyday since last Thursday? With enough cake leftover to last me for the rest of the week?

s-u-g-a-r r-u-s-h

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2005 4:16 pm

    Post the recipes!!! Sounds like your having an awsome b-day week!

    wooohooo!! 😀

  2. August 22, 2005 5:21 pm

    Sounds like a “nummy” weekend! Is Mish-gra over or still having cake and ‘tinis?

    damn, cake. Mmmm…. cake. sugar. 😐

  3. August 22, 2005 5:56 pm

    Super yummy! Still having cake, have been noshing on leftover red velvet all day today. I finally had to remove them from my sight. AND…there is mama’s chocolate cake waiting for me at home.

    Busted – I’ll post my receipe when I get some pictures back, Bug will have to let me know if I can post hers…

  4. August 22, 2005 9:03 pm

    Post away, baby. Maybe we can become famous or sumpthin’.

  5. August 22, 2005 10:05 pm

    Bring on the photographs!

  6. August 23, 2005 5:44 am

    Oooh, I’m on the edge of my seat waiting for those pics and ‘tini receipes!! I only have a few more Rolaids to go before I’m back in business!! 😉

  7. August 23, 2005 10:35 am

    Ok, I will post ’em. The recipes are at home and I should have some pics this afternoon. So tomorrow guys, tomorrow’s post will be dedicated to vodka creations.

    Oh and Bug, don’t you know who I am?

  8. August 23, 2005 11:26 am

    Red velvet cake is the best.. cake… ever…

    Can’t believe I never tried it until this year. I covet your leftovers, if you have any.

  9. August 23, 2005 11:53 am

    Travis – Red velvet is so so good. I too had not tried it until this year. It’s so…well…velvety. I am making up for lost time with all these mini cupcakes surrounding me the past few days. But, alas, my office mates have devoured them-the savages.

  10. March 2, 2006 3:47 pm

    Yesterday was attic handbags searching. And now, too little time to post a nice comment, but good job anyway on the blog. I’m actually looking for attic handbags sites. I’ll click a few more links down on the SE results. Thanks.

  11. April 3, 2006 4:16 am

    I really did enjoy your page today. Cool site. Have a excellent week.

Leave a Reply

