Skip to content

I’ve got friends in low places…

August 19, 2005

Am I ever going to get tired of birthday happy hours? It’s totally become a thing for me in my old age and I like it, and in the planning process it feels so dumb and lame to “just go out for a few drinks after work” as a birthday celebration…but in the end I always have a fabulous time. I mean, a really fabulous time. Most of that is due to my friends, I love my friends. Seriously love them. I could squeeze them all til they popped, but then I would be sad because they’d be, well, popped and that’s gross. But they made me feel so loved and pretty and special (and not in a retarded way) last night, so much so that I am still smiley and happy in spite of the splitting headache that has taken over my skull.

Ready for a re-cap? Good.

Left work shortly after 5pm — it wasn’t 5:01 as planned, but it was pretty darned close. (Leaving anytime near 5 is like getting to leave early for me, so this is HUGE). And it was nice outside, not oppressively hot like it was last week (the weather Gods and the birthday Gods must be getting along famously), so we got to have a nice walk. Well nice except for when Meg’s finger attacked her forehead without provocation — we pondered what or who may have possessed it for about a block, but the finger behaved for the rest of the evening so we forgot about it.

Our destination was Palette, and it’s a pretty groovy spot. Started out with some specialty martinis…then switched it up to the old standard, vodka and soda with a lemon and lime. But I had strawberry vodka AND an entire separate glass filled with tropical fruits. Yum. And you know what was also yum? The sweet potato fries that were seasoned with cinnamon and salt. And the smoked chicken spread that came presented in the cutest little jar and also the olive artichoke spread that came with scrumptious olive oil soaked bread. If their dinner menu is anything like the lounge menu – go there now for a meal!

So after we has annoyed the bartenders, bothered and tried to make friends (no no avail) with all the boys who bleeped off the charts on the gaydar, we left. Bug pulled her car around because she is the best wife ever and was going to take us all home because she is the best wife ever. Then we got the pleasure of sitting in traffic on the 14th street bridge for 30 minutes – at 11pm at night. WTF? So all that sitting made us thirsty again, so we headed to the place we always head when we don’t know where to go: Bungalow Billiards. It was as expected…but better because Bartender Nipples was not there. Woo. He’s a little creepy. But there was obnoxious girl-on-girl (and at times girl-on-girl-on-girl) dancing, lots more vodka, horrendous singing (on my part), hot music from the 80s, 90s and today and a couple cute boys. Go figure! I never meet cute boys in DC! (or Arlington, whatever). And I gave up the digits, which I never do. Well, I used to do it all the time but then no one called so I felt pathetic and stopped. So, um, yeah this wasn’t pathetic…wait…it wasn’t guys, was it? Happy birthday to me?

Now what to do with mystery flowers…

p.s. Did I mention that I got in after 3am? And I am at work today? And so are all the party people that were out with me? We are either completely insane or totally fucking cool.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2005 10:43 am

    “Now what to do with mystery flowers…”

    I say dry ’em and smoke ’em.

  2. August 19, 2005 11:02 am

    Ow. Birthday happy hour, why do you hurt me?

  3. August 19, 2005 11:05 am

    I already told you, they’re from me.

    Take ’em home to put in a very conspicuous place and feel loved. I will never ever ever tire of flowers, I don’t care where they come from. They’re just the best for making you feel special (in non Melwoood kinda way of course), aren’t they?

  4. August 19, 2005 11:31 am

    I do love the flowers – they are the mini sunflowers too. Verrry pretty. Perhaps a pic will go up later. Contemplating how to get them home on the Metro tonight.

    Um, thanks Cluss? You’re the sweetest.

    It’s just that I haven’t had mystery flowers since I was in the 9th grade — and I hate not KNOWING!

  5. August 19, 2005 6:31 pm

    I think we are fucking cool. I can’t believe I got up on time. I can’t believe I matched and actually looked put together-ish. Though when I walked in the door, my boss said… Good lord. We are gonna have to safety belt her to her seat. Yeouch! Even my hair hurts. And strangely, my lips were super red and swollen this morning giving me an even more Scarlett Johansson look (yay) but I did not use them for anything ‘cept drinking and yapping at people who wanted me to go away.
    Happy Birthday!!!!

Leave a Reply

